GPO
Ask a Librarian
FINDING USGPO DOCS
- ANTPACThe UCI Libraries local catalog or database. Search ANTPAC to find government documents, books and journals.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications [GPO Access]The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online...
- Federal Digital System (FDsys)GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) (pronounced fed sis) provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.
- GPO Access [Archive]. See FDsys for current informationGPO Access provides free public access to full-text, official Federal information; Federal information finding aids; and Federal products for sale. The information on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys)
- GPO Monthly Catalog [OCLC FirstSearch] [Access Restricted] OCLC FirstSearch interfacace consists of over 500,000 records published by the GPO since July 1976.
SuDoc Classification
- Superintendent of Documents Classification SystemThe Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system is designed to group together publications by the same government author...SuDoc uniquely identify, logically relate, and physically arrange each publication so that all publications of a single agency or department may be found together.
The Great Migration
The print paper United States (Federal) Government Documents collection will be moving from the basement of Langson Library to Ayala Science Library's Fifth Floor Drum. The move frees up critical compact shelving space in Langson Library as the UCI Libraries embark on a major, library-wide collections shift.
Remember that the vast majority of our federal depository items are now received as e-resources (born digital) and discoverable in ANTPAC from anywhere in the world. In addition to the United States documents collection online and in print, our licensed database resources provide extraordinary digital access to the documents that make up the history of the United States (See, as example, the Legislative History tab on this LibGuide)
Your questions and comments regarding the federal documents collection are always welcome.
Background
"The vision of the Federal Depository Library Program is to provide Government information when and where you need it ... permanent public access to Federal Government information, now and for future generations..." GPO Study of Regional Depositories.
The UCI Libraries are a selective depository for United States government publications. Though the collection focuses on subjects in the social and political sciences, there are considerable collections of statistical, scientific and environmental resources. Approximately 70% of the material available for acquisition is selected.
The majority of these publications are acquired and made available in electronic format. They are discoverable (and linked through) either ANTPAC or MELVYL.
Our core collection of depository items in print is arranged by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification. An explanation of the SuDoc system is available at the Federal Depository Library Program Desktop.
LOCATION: After years in Langson Library, the print paper federal depository collection is moving to the Ayala Science Library's 5th Floor Drum. The U. S. Government depository collection is open to the public.
FDsys

About FDsys
FDsys: America's Authentic Government Information
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Through FDsys, you are able to
- Search for documents and publications
FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need. - Browse for documents and publications
FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, and date. - Access metadata about documents and publications
FDsys presents information about Government publications in standard XML formats. - Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats
With FDsys, download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed file.
Find out more...
- Find out more about performing searches in FDsys through online help.
- Find out more about browsing for documents and publications in FDsys through online help.
- Find out more about what's available through FDsys.
Search FDsys @...
Key sites
- FDsys | Federal Digital System - America's Authentic Government InformationGPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information in a digital form.
- GovTrack.us GovTrack.us is a tool by Civic Impulse, LLC to help the public research and track the activities in the U.S. Congress, promoting and innovating government transparency and civic education through novel uses of technology.
- GPO Access [Archive]. See FDsys for current informationOfficial site for electronic legal publications from the U.S. government.The information on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys).
- OpenCongress.org The US congressional legislative process is largely closed-off from timely and meaningful public input, and finding out what's really happening in Congress can be a difficult and discouraging task...
- THOMAS [Library of Congress]In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
- Whitehouse.govWhitehouse.gov is the official web site for the White House and President of the United States.
Education & Outreach |
Contact Info University of California Irvine Education & Outreach brian.williams@uci.edu 949.824.0473 Office LL106 Links: Profile & Guides |
FGI
Loading...


Loading...
