This is the "Home" page of the "Southeast Asian American Studies: Studying the Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Laotian Diaspora" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
* UC Irvine access only
The UCI Libraries' Southeast Asian Archive is the richest collection of books, reports, manuscripts, archival materials, photos, artwork, and ephemera documenting the peoples of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia outside their homelands.
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/southeastasianamerican Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Citation Styles

These websites offer examples of the most frequently cited types of materials, such as journal articles, books, and online resources. 

The full texts of the MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and other style manuals are available in paper in Langson Library.

What is Southeast Asian American Studies?

Southeast Asian American Studies is a relatively new field developed by scholars from across a wide range of academic disciplines. The strong focus on imperialism, war, immigration and their legacies often link research inquiries within the field. It can be situated within umbrella interdisciplinary fields such as U.S. ethnic studies and area studies, but remains resistant to fixed categorization. While the region of Southeast Asia includes more than ten nations, the Southeast Asian Archive at UC Irvine has tightened our scope to focus on the populations and histories of those from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam—the three countries directly involved with the Vietnam-American War and formerly known as French Indochina.

Since the end of the Vietnam-American War in 1975, millions of immigrants and refugees have left Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam to resettle in the United States and other countries. The Southeast Asian diaspora is diverse in their homeland histories, languages, and cultures, but their refugee and immigrant experiences are often parallel. For researchers interested in the Southeast Asian diaspora, we provide circulating, reference, and archival materials that reflect an engagement with the strong and growing Southeast Asian American communities in Southern California. Our Libraries’ many other databases can also provide valuable information, such as journal articles, government reports, statistics, and dissertations. You may also search select digitized materials from our Southeast Asian Archive or explore full oral histories from our Vietnamese American Oral History Project Collection. Check back with us as we continue to grow our collections.

Thuy Vo Dang, Ph.D. | thuy.vodang@uci.edu

Archivist for the Southeast Asian Archive and Regional History

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Thuy Vo Dang
    Contact Info
    Langson Library 360
    Southeast Asian Archive
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip