News Block
Catch news announcements!
- 2013 Top Cities for WellbeingCheck out the indicators for well-being and a high quality of life.
- Most Miserable Cities to LiveThe Forbes 2013 list of most miserable cities to live in the US.
- Providence is Top City in Contest of IdeasProvidence named recipient of $5M from Bloomperg Philanthropies for competing for innovative ways to address urban issues.
- Libraries & Civic Engagement Public libraries play a vital role in nurturing an active citizenry, including bringing together neighbors, promoting community engagement and supporting lifelong learning, according to a special issue of the National Civic Review, the quarterly journal of the National Civic League. Featuring essays from local elected and appointed officials, philanthropic leaders, and public library directors and trustees, the issue highlights the value of engaged and empowered citizens and the capacity libraries have to lead the way toward productive citizen engagement.
"As our recent elections demonstrated, citizens understand that we have a collective and urgent stake in shaping the future of the world we live in," writes Guest Editor Susan Benton, President and CEO of the Urban Libraries Council. "Public libraries, as cornerstones and crossroads of democracy, can help lead the way." - Do Neighborhoods Matter?Interview with Prof. Maria Rendon about her current research by Dean Jenness,
Nov 1, 2012 - Stanford Election Atlas Stanford University’s Spatial Social Science Lab created an amazing database of precinct-level results for the 2008 presidential election, working in conjunction with researchers at Harvard University. The atlas provides multiple perspectives on the data, with maps showing the results and race/ethnicity, income, potential voters per square mile, and margin of victory. The maps show much more variety within cities and even individual neighborhoods than the typical county-level maps of political data.
- U.S. Cities Growing Faster Than SuburbsLA Times Article from June 28, 2012
- Irvine is No. 2 Best Run City Irvine was No.2 among the Best Run cities in America in the first-ever national ranking by 24/7 Wall St.
- 'Safe City' Carries the Day in Irvine The City of Irvine was ranked No. 1 in a December crime rating by CQ Press, which released its annual publication, "City Crime Rankings 2011-2012: Crime in Metropolitan America." In that report, Irvine was top-ranked, reporting less crime than any other city in America with a population of more than 100,000.
- Foreclosed: Rehousing the American Dream Exhibit The American suburbs are in desperate need of a rethink, said Justin Davidson in New York. While suburbanites have long been suspicious of the fixes architects might propose, this "small but magnificently ambitious new show" at MoMA makes an "overwhelming" case that now would be an ideal time for subdivision denizens everywhere to get past such suspicions.
- Reuters Science NewsGlobal news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
- ScienceWatchTracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
WIFI FINDER
Hotspotr : Find a Wi-Fi hotspot in your area with Hotspotr, a Google Maps mashup that relies entirely on user input. As with other Wi-Fi finders, you can search for hotspots by city, ZIP code or place, then get maps, driving directions, phone numbers, etc.
About PPD
The Planning, Policy and Design Department reflects a number of disciplines and academic interests, many with significant intersections underlying a great deal of interdisciplinarity. These include the subjects of Urban & Regional Planning, Architecture, Environmental Psychology, Environmental Law, Preservation, Geography, Transportation, Housing, Regional Analysis, Public Arts, Public Policy, Urban Studies, and Environmental Health, Sustainability & Science, Water Resources, Population & Demography and related subjects. There are also many professional areas and specific applications represented and includes planning, architurecture, forecasting, GIS, etc.
The library collections have been developed to support instruction and current research efforts by faculty and graduate students and also reflect to the extent possible global coverage of issues. They include books, journals, conference papers, government information, data sets, films & multimedia, grey literature and are found in all formats. Always growing, the collections are expanding in scope and depth. This website is a sitemap of how to find and use some of these resources.
Many of the resources listed in this Guide reflect international and country rankings from a variety of measurement sources in a wide range of subjects. The emphasis on international development from many different vantage points is the intention of much of this compilation of resources. It is recommended to use the "Subject Coverage" tab to find additional topical concentrations and resources.
Using Databases
Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN
For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles" tab.
Evaluating Information
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.
Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources
- Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
- Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
- Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
- Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
- Capturing and citing
- Copying
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
