This is the "Home" page of the "SciFinder Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
* UC Irvine access only
SciFinder Scholar is a web-based interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/scifinder Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started with VPN

  • Getting Started with VPN
    If you need to connect to UCInet from off campus, Virtual Private Network (VPN) may be the solution for you. VPN allows you to connect to on campus-only resources like the Library and encrypts the information you are sending over the network, protecting y
 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

 

Access From Off-Campus

Access within the UC Irvine Libraries
SciFinder Scholar is available to University of California faculty, students, and staff in the UC Irvine Science Library from any computer workstation.  SciFinder Scholar requires an individual user account.
Access from outside the UC Irvine Libraries
SciFinder Scholar is also available to UCI faculty, students, and staff outside the UC Irvine Libraries. SciFinder Scholar can be accessed from a computer connected to the campus network, or via VPN Client Software. SciFinder Scholar is not available through the UCI WebVPN service.
 

Non-Java based Structure Editor Option For SciFinder

October 3, 2013

 SciFinder now features a new version of the CAS Structure Editor that does not require the use of a Java plugin. The Java version of the editor is still available for your users, who can now easily select their preferred editor.

The non-Java editor is an easy-to-use option for your users’ research. Be assured the new editor queries the same industry-leading content your researchers have always trusted when using SciFinder; they can have complete confidence in their search accuracy. You may notice some missing functionality in the new editor. While we would ideally release the editor with all functionality, due to the pressing need of some users still experiencing Java-related issues, we felt it important to release the editor as soon as a viable working version was available.

For more information on the plugin-free, Non-Java CAS Structure Editor, visit http://www.cas.org/products/scifinder/system-requirements-web.

Additionally, the latest SciFinder release features the following updates:

  • Analyze reaction answer sets by reagent to more quickly identify your synthesis of interest.
  • View substance and supplier information simultaneously now that our popular Quick View feature is available from Commercial Sources answer sets. In addition, many top catalog entries now feature direct links to supplier emails from right within SciFinder.
  •  Update your account information more easily with a new account management link to myCAS® available in Preferences.
  • SciPlannerTM how-to guides are now more easily accessible to help you make use of the full power of the features and functionality available within SciPlanner.

For questions about SciFinder please contact Mitchell Brown (mcbrown@uci.edu) or at 949-824-9732.

UPDATE:  November 8, 2013

Newest additions to the non-Java Structure Editor include the Reaction Arrow, Chain and Undo/Redo tools.

Other recent SciFinder enhancements include new content with approximately 23,000 new experimental NMR spectra, front page graphics for over 26,000 German patent records, a new display options layout for ease of use, and automatic sign in from the SciFinder “Password and Account Information” preference to account management settings in myCAS®.

For questions or concerns, contact the CAS Customer Center at help@cas.org, 800-753-4227 (North America) or +1 614-447-3700 (outside North America).

What's New

CAS is announcing the discontinuation of the client version of SciFinder on June 30, 2011 for all U.S. and Canadian academic institutions. On this date, all seats at these institutions will access the web version only.

  • SciFinder Web (login) *
    SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.
  • SciFinder Scholar Web (registration details) *
    Web Version of SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar released for UC campuses! Requires Cisco VPN client for off-campus access. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. The SFS client version will be retired as of June 30, 2011.
  • SciFinder Mobile *
    Once registered for SciFinder web you can log into your account from your smartphone via scifinder.cas.org/mobile whether on, or off campus and access the mobile friendly SciFinder mobile interface.

    SciFinder mobile does not include all the functionality of the web version.
  • News and Updates
    Changes and updates to SciFinder Scholar (Web)
  • e-EROS *
    electronic Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
  • CASSI  
      
    The CAS Source Index (CASSI) search tool is a web-based resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This new tool has been created as a free-of-charge resource that will enable researchers to confirm journal titles and journal title abbreviations in an easily accessible electronic format.

What is SciFinder Scholar?

SciFinder Scholar is a web-based interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts. Over 27 million citations to chemistry publications are searchable by topic, author, CAS Registry Number, patent number, and CAS abstract number. In some cases, links to the full-text of journal articles are available. Over 16 million citations to medical and biological references in MEDLINE, 31 million organic and inorganic substances, and 59 million sequences.
  • SciFinder Scholar Tutorial
    A series of tutorials for searching SciFinder Scholar (SFS) provide hands-on practice using SciFinder Scholar to locate information to answer questions commonly encountered in General chemistry, Biology, and Chemical Engineering courses.
 

Who May Use SciFinder Scholar

Access to SciFinder Scholar is available to University of California faculty, students, and staff only.

In accordance with the California Digital Library's licensing agreement with Chemical Abstracts Service, access to SciFinder Scholar is available to University of California faculty, students, and staff only. Up to 30 users may access SciFinder Scholar at a time throughout the UC system. Please logout of SciFinder Scholar when you are done to allow access by other users.

 

UCI Chemistry Faculty Publications

New Articles from the UC Irvine Department of Chemistry (via Web of Science)

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Research Librarian for Chemistry, Earth System Science, and Russian Studies

Profile Image
Mitchell C. Brown
Logo - AIMLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Research Librarian for Chemistry, Earth System Science, and Russian Studies
Scholarly Communications Coordinator
mcbrown@uci.edu
University of California
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine, CA 92623-9557
 

Talk to Me

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip