* UC Irvine access only
Contains key reference resources for writing, directories, encyclopedias, money, government info, quick facts, travel, education, geography, etc.
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2014
- Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary : a guide to acronyms, abbreviations, contractions, alphabetic symbols, and similar condensed appellations*
2008 edition. Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings. Terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine and others are included.
- Acronym Finder
The Acronym Finder is a searchable database of more than 287,000 abbreviations and acronyms covering many disciplines. Its strengths include computer, technology, telecommunication, and military acronyms and abbreviations.
- All That JAS
Journal Abbreviation Sources
- Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols & Abbreviations
Issued in 2001, this is still the major resource tool and features more than 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology. Found in Ayala Science Library Bar Q179 .E64 2001
- The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations*
- Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 10th edition
More than 11,000 searchable quotations from this older edition of the famous reference resource.
- Insight Quotes.com
"Exceptional quotations to inspire, motivate, and entertain."
- On Matters of Most Grave Concern
"Quotations, Aphorisms, Thoughts and Proverbs of Philosophers and Kings, Politicians, Famous Persons, and Wise-but-not-so-Famous Persons."
Offers a collection of quotation sites like Quoteland, Quoteworld, The Quotations Page, Bartlett’s Familiar, and Creative Quotations. Also features sites by quotation topics such as movie quotes, Bible quotes, and scientific quotes.
Search quotations by topic or author. Includes links to Literary Quotations and Special Occasion Quotes.
- About.com Women’s History Site
Features an extensive collection of quotes by women famous in various fields of art, drama, music, science, literature, law, social sciences, and academia. Also provides biographies or links to additional information about some of the featured women.
- Age of the Sage
Covers mysticism, religions, spirituality, and psychology. Also offers key contributors, quotations, and wisdom.
- Gateway to statistics from U.S. Federal agencies
Links to statistical and demographic sites of more than 70 agencies of the U.S. Government, maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy.
- International Databank
Statistical tables from the U.S. Census Bureau with demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
Statistical, demographic and political data on countries and territories around the world: generates tables and charts for individual country profiles as well as comparisons. Data from U.S. and international agencies; every statistic is documented.
This site boasts that one can "convert just about anything to anything else." And with fifty thousand conversions and five thousand units, it has an impressive range.
- State and County QuickFacts (US Govt)
Demographic snapshots of states and counties in the United States, including current estimates of population, breakdown by gender and race, population density, and some economic statistics.
- Statistical Resource on the Web
Large collection of links to statistical resources, arranged thematically and maintained by the University of Michigan Documents Center.
Julia Gelfand, Applied Sciences & Engineering Librarian
Office: Ayala Science Library 228