News Block
- Radon Awareness Week The Federal Government Takes Action on Radon Gas to Prevent Lung Cancer Deaths in 2012. October 15th - 21st is Radon Awareness Week
October 15-21 is Federal Radon Action Week according to The Surgeon General. Health agencies throughout the United States have joined forces to promote awareness of the leading cause of lung cancer for non-smokers. The American Lung Association, Centers for Disease Control, and National Cancer Institute all agree that radon is a National health problem and encourage radon testing during the October awareness drive.
Radon is a naturally-occurring, invisible and odorless radioactive gas. One in 15 American homes contains high levels of radon. Millions of Americans are unknowingly exposed to this dangerous gas. In fact, a recent study by Harvard University ranks radon as Americas #1 in-home hazard. By taking simple steps to test your home for radon and fix if necessary, this health hazard can be avoided. - Could Seal Flu Infect Humans?Flue that lept from birds to seals is studied for human threat.
- Bloomberg's Breastfeeding Formula for New YorkersNew proposal for September 2012 release to promote health benefits of reducing obesity among infants.
- How a Bird-Flu Paper Got Publishedfrom Chronicle of Higher Education, June 21, 2012
- Breaking: Mad cow disease found in California dairy cow, but officials say food chain is safeFederal officials say a case of mad cow disease has been found in a dairy cow in the Central Valley, but officials stressed that none of its meat entered the food chain. This is the fourth confirmed case of the brain-wasting disease in the U.S. cattle herd since the first case was discovered in December 2003 in an animal that came from Canada.
- Reuters Science NewsGlobal news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
- ScienceWatchTracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
Ask a Librarian
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Other Subject, Resource & Course Guides
Use this box to link to any related subject, Library or course guides.
CDC Flu On Twitter
https://twitter.com/CDCFlu
CDC Emergency On Twitter
http://twitter.com/cdcemergency
CDC For Health Professionals On Twitter
http://twitter.com/cdc_ehealth
FDA Recalls On Twitter
http://twitter.com/fdarecalls
World Health Organization (WHO) News On Twitter
http://twitter.com/whonews
What is Twitter?
Twitter is a service for friends, family, and co–workers to communicate
and stay connected through the exchange of quick, frequent answers to
one simple question: What are you doing?
Sign up for Twitter here.
Public Health Programs
Learning about academic programs offering various degrees in Public Health are found in several sources.
- Top Public Health Degree Programs OnlineListings of programs that offer degrees in public health and background information about the discipline, scope and various programs.
About Public Health
The Program in Public Health reflects a number of disciplines and academic interests, many with significant intersections between medicine, epidemiology, health care, environmental sciences, food sciences & nutrition, demography & sociology, education, gender studies, anthropology, Housing, Geography and many other relevant areas. There are also many professional areas and specific applications represented and includes planning, forecasting, GIS, etc.
The library collections are to support instruction and current research efforts by faculty and graduate students and the diverse undergraduate programs and the global coverage of relevant issues. They include books, journals, conference papers, government information, data sets, films & multimedia, grey literature and are found in all formats. Always growing, the collections are expanding in scope and depth. This website is a sitemap of how to find and use some of these resources.
Many of the resources listed in this Guide reflect international contributions from a variety of sources in a wide range of subjects. The emphasis on international development from many different vantage points is the intention of much of this compilation of resources. It is recommended to use the "Subject Coverage" tab to find additional topical concentrations and resources, and to comprehensively explore the guide by clicking through it. Of course, it is a work in progress and with your input, will better support your needs.
Using Databases
Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN
For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles" tab.
Key Sites
- PubMed@UCI One of the primary resources for Public Health.
- CDC.Gov (Centers for Disease Control)
- CAB DirectCAB Direct is CABI's electronic platform delivering access to over 9 million abstracts across the applied life sciences. Coverage includes CABI's leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health, and databases from CABI's Internet Resources and Abstract Journals. Includes over 9 million bibliographic records, over 130,000 full text articles hosted by CABI, many other authoritative reviews, news articles and reports. For those citations where fulltext is not available, there are no UC eLinks so you will have to consult Antpac by source to see if the article is in UCI holdings.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
- GIDEONInteractive decision support system for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. The GIDEON database incorporates 327 diseases, 205 countries, 963 microbial taxa and 252 antibacterial agents and vaccines
- Haz-Map Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work.
- POPLINE Your connection to the world's reproductive health literature
- Smoking & Health Resource Library From the Centers for Disease Control
- TOXNET TOXNET® (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov), a collection of toxicology and environmental health databases.
- TOXLINE Contains references to the world's toxicology literature.
- Geographic Information Systems (GIS)Highlights a variety of GIS resources.
- HealthMap“HealthMap brings together data sources to achieve a comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. This freely available Web site integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, ranging from news sources (such as Google News) to curated personal accounts (such as ProMED) to validated official alerts (such as World Health Organization).”
- Public Health - Martindale'sExtensive site with glossaries, journals, databases, and information about courses and textbooks.
2010 Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Links
This is the CDC's site linking out resources on the 2010 Guilf of Mexico Oil Spill:
http://emergency.cdc.gov/chemical/oil_spill_gm_2010.asp
This is the Dept. of Health and Human Services' Oil Spill resources page:
http://www.hhs.gov/gulfoilspill/index.html
Minerals and Management Service Oil Spill Links:
H1N1 Flu Information
- Flu.govFlu.gov provides comprehensive government-wide information on pandemic influenza and avian influenza for the general public, health and emergency preparedness professionals, policy makers, government and business leaders, school systems, and local communities.
- CDC H1N1 Flu (Swine Flu)Portal for all CDC H1N1 information
- CDC: H1N1 Guidance for Professionals Information and guidance for clinicians, public health laboratories, and animal health officials.
- CDC: H1N1 General InformationFacts and advice for the general public regarding H1N1
- CDC Flu On TwitterTweets from the CDC about Flu.
- CA Dept. of Public Health: Swine Flu (H1N1)General information page on H1N1 Flu.
- CA Dept. of Public Health: Information for Health ProfessionalsLinks to information for clinicians, healthcare facilities, emergency personnel, and more.
- CA Dept. of Public Health: Swine Flu Interim Mask and Respirator Guidance (PDF)
- WHO: Complete List of H1N1 Guidance Documents
- WHO: Influenza A (H1N1)Updates, Guidance, Related Links, and Media Center from the World Health Organization.
- Orange County Health Care Agency: Swine InfluenzaEpidemiology and Assessment: Public Health Services
- Orange County: Latest Updates for OC on Swine Influenza
Suggestions?
Do you know of a helpful online citation resource? Share it by clicking "Submit a Link" below!
Health Sciences Librarian |
Contact Info Bethany R. Harris, MSI 232 Ayala Science Library 949-824-6957 harrisbr@uci.edu |


Submit
Loading...
