PDA Class Handouts
Key PDA Resources
Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs) are convenient handheld computers that healthcare professionals use to gain access to current medical information. This guide includes e-journal and e-book collections, article databases, guidelines, tools and calculators, and links to PDA-friendly web sites and reference guides.
This page also provides helpful instructions for downloading and browsing PDA resources with brief descriptions of each application. Click on the
icon to get detailed information and downloading instructions.
- Access Medicine
Online medical reference that allows downloading of individual pages from such titles as Harrison's Online and Hurst's The Heart that can then be sent directly to the PDA. Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone - ACP PIER through STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref PDA version provides access to the PIER Database of evidence-based guidelines and resources, allowing for an assortment of medical modules to be downloaded each month. Palm - Clinical Xpert Condensed version of the former Micromedex, is a searchable database with access to information via drug name, clinical conditions, toxicology information, and alternative medicine information. Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone
- Diagnosaurus Unbound Medicine's Diagnosaurus Medicine contains 1000+ differential diagnoses, searchable by disease, symptom or organ system. Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone, iPhone
- eMedicine
Full-text database containing 62 specialty texts, drug information and consumer references which can be downloaded to the PDA. Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone - Essential Evidence Plus (formerly InfoPOEMs) A database system of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based informaton that permits simultaneous keyword searching of a variety of clinical databases including POEMs, Cochrane and more. Palm, PocketPC
- MD on Tap National Library of Medicine's application that delivers MEDLINE citations directly to the PDA. Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone
- National Guideline Clearinghouse Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents available in a text format downloadable to Palm-based PDAs. Palm
- Pocket Consult
MD Consult Mobile Edition provides news updates, drug updates, and journal abstracts. From MD Consult, you may set up a personal account that includes downloading options. Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone - PubMed Portal Specialized PDA formatted portal for PubMed users, developed by the National Library of Medicine, that allows users to search for and receive citations in Medline. Blackberry, Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone
- Skyscape
5-Minute Clinical Consult, John Hopkins ABX Guide, Stockley's Drug Interactions, Archimede's 360 medical calculator, Outlines in Clinical Medicine, RxDrugs and more. Blackberry, Palm, PocketPC, Smartphone, iPhone - UpToDate Searchable access to over 70,000 pages of current medical information in internal medicine, including nine of its sub-specialties, as well as family medicine, pediatrics and OB/GYN. Blackberry, Palm, PocketPC, iPhone
Subject Guide |
Judy BubeContact Info:
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait