- CINAHL Plus with Full Text *
One of the primary databases covering literature specifically written for the nursing and allied health professions.
- PubMed @ UCI
PubMed is one of the primary databases for the nursing profession. When using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), it can be useful to use the "Nursing" subheading rather than using the term "Nursing" (which also maps to breastfeeding)
- Cochrane Library *
A collection of evidence-based databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Clinical Trials Register, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness. The databases can be searched simultaneously using medical subject headings (MeSH) and text words.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents maintained by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This public resource provides an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.
- STAT!Ref Nursing *
70 Core textbooks and reference works in medicine and nursing, ICD Diagnosis & Procedure Codes, Calculation tools, Medical Dictionary, Anatomy.TV, Medical News, APhA DrugInfoLINE®, etc.
- Mosby's Nursing Consult *
Evidence-Based Nursing monographs, eBooks, Journals, Drug Info, Patient Education, Calculators, & Tools. This is a companion to the Mosby Nursing Skills resource available on the UCIMC Intranet.
- Nursing Education in Video *
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
- Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice *
2010, 9th Ed. A classic text since it was first published in 1974, the Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on patient care for nearly 40 years. Now in its 10th edition, this full-color text is organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing.
- Anatomy.TV *
Anatomy TV is a comprehensive, detailed 3D Human Anatomy atlas and image library which includes the Head, Eye, Ear, Neck, Spine, Shoulder, Hand, Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis, Perineum, Hip, Foot, Ankle and Knee regions. This is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy with intuitive controls which will allow you to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from skin to bone. A wealth of supporting media, MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement Anatomy.tv's high resolution, computer-generated models. Any part of the human anatomy can be isolated and rotated using the Primal Interactive Human interface.
- AccessMedicine *
Includes the full-text of over 80 major medical texts such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, William’s Obstetrics, Lange's Basic Sciences and Clinical Sciences Series. Also contains an extensive drug reference, Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, multimedia, and case files in the basic sciences and clinical medicine.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination *
Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
- Micromedex Healthcare Series *
Comprehensive drug, acute care, and toxicology information including drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, etc. Includes CareNotes evidence-based patient education materials.
- PsycINFO *
When searching PsycInfo for nursing information, it is helpful to combine your topic with the truncated keyword “nurs*”
- UpToDate *
Peer-reviewed, synopsized expert opinion for diagnosis and treatment.