Image Search Engines
History of Medicine Image Sources
Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images.
- Duke University's Historical Images in Medicine"The Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine (HIM) collections encompass over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences."
- Images from the History of Medicine"Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
- UCLA's Biomedical Library History and Special Collections for the Sciences"Supports the study of the history of medicine and biology. Collections consist of books, journals, manuscript, prints, portraits, and medical artifacts."
Key Medical Databases That Include Images
These major medical databases are Grunigen Medical Library
Core Resources .
* UC Irvine access only - remote users: log in to the VPN first.
Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images.
- AccessMedicine *Images tab is on the top navigation bar; or use the pull-down menu next to the search box at the top of the Home page.
- CINAHL *Click on the MORE drop down menu on the top right navigation bar to go to the IMAGES search page. Images are listed by the articles that contain them.
- MD Consult *Image section, Images tab and search.
- Stat!Ref *Search function includes Images as a limit. Figures and other images listed by resource as part of the table of contents.
- Stat!Ref Nursing *Search function includes images as a limit. Figures and other images listed by resource as part of the table of contents.
- TRIP+ database plus The TRIP database searches a variety of sources of medical information and images. Images are displayed in the results of specific searches.
Medical Image Databases
Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images.
See the More Image Sources tab for more medical image databases.
- Anatomy TVA comprehensive, detailed 3D Human Anatomy atlas and image library which includes the Head, Eye, Ear, Neck, Spine, Shoulder, Hand, Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis, Perineum, Hip, Foot, Ankle and Knee regions.
- Images MD: Online Medical Images LibraryPart of the Medical and Life Science collection of images on Springer Images. The UCI Libraries do not currently have a subscription and only the free images are accessible.
- MedPix"MedPix is a free online Medical Image Database provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. All public content is peer-reviewed by an Editorial Panel."
- VisualDx * A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Includes more than 16,000 images representing over 900 visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections.
Additional Resources
- Finding, Downloading, and Managing Medical ImagesDartmouth Biomedical Libraries
- Images: Digital Images for teaching and researchA guide to finding digital images created by Virginia Allison, UCI Research Librarian for Visual Arts and Dance. This guide will lead you through the process of identifying image collections and searching for images in licensed collections and free image resources online.
- Medical Image Resources - arranged by categoryDuke University Medical Center Library
Medical Education / Evidence-Based Medicine / Nursing |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Health Sciences Librarian |
Contact Info Bethany R. Harris, MSI 232 Ayala Science Library 949-824-6957 harrisbr@uci.edu |





Loading...
