Dissertations and Online Library CatalogsFull-Text Book Collections
- Key Sites for ArticlesAll SourcesLiterature IndexesMultidisciplinary DatabasesPrint Indexes
- Key Sites for Book ReviewsBook Review IndexesBook Reviews Libguide Magazines and Newspapers -- Full Text ReviewsReviews from Scholarly PressReviews of Literature and Studies of Literature from 1740-1970
BiographiesDictionaries and EncyclopediasReference ResourcesStyle Manuals
DramaHistorical & Large Literature CollectionsPoetry
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

English and Comparative Literature  Tags: literature english comparative comparative_literature reviews  

Information resources for the UCI community interested in literature and literary criticism.
Last update: Aug 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/literature  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

 

Key Sites

  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    A good place to begin research about literary and film/tv works.
  • LION: Literature Online  
      
    Full-texts of works and literary criticism and reviews for works in English are found here.
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)  
      
    Good place for biographies of authors or introductions to literary works.
  • Literature criticism online  
      
    A good place for the beginning researcher, this database provides commentary on books and plays by the scholars of the day. Captures literary criticism and reception from when a work (play, novel, poem, literary work) was published to the present day.
  • Cambridge Companions Complete Collection  
      
    Designed for student readers, this database provides accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.
  • Humanities Index  
      
    Contains citations to articles and book reviews in approximately 500 well-known scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities from 1984-now
  • Archive of Americana  
      
    Includes American Broadsides, Early American Imprints, and Early American Newspapers
  • Dissertations & Theses Abstracts and Index  
      
    Includes citations for over 2.3 million dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Most UC dissertations published after 1997 available for download.
  • EEBO -- Early English Books Online  
      
    Nearly all works published in the United Kingdom and its colonies from 1475-1700 available as digital images.
  • ECCO -- Eighteenth Century Collections Online  
      
    Nearly all works published in the United Kingdom and its colonies from 1701-1800 available as digital images.
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)  
      
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJohn Novak
Contact Info:
Langson Library Reference 148
PO Box 19557
Irvine CA 92623-9557
949.824.4979
Send Email

Subjects:
Comparative Literature, Critical Theory, English, Literary Journalism

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait