Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
GIS Books @ UCI
GIS is ...
|
GIS (Geographic Information Service) is a computer based tool that facilitates mapping and spatial analysis of the earth's features and events. Disparate data can be related on the basis of common geographical entity and new information created from existing data. |
|||||
| • | ArcExplorer A lightweight GIS data viewer developed by ESRI. This freely available software offers an easy way to perform a variety of basic GIS functions, including display, query, and data retrieval applications. It can be used on its own with local data sets or as a client to Internet data and map servers. |
||||
| • | Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing: hosted by University of California, Berkeley |
||||
| • | GIS Dictionary- Hosted by ESRI | ||||
| • | What is GIS? (ESRI) | ||||
| • | What is GIS? (USGS) | ||||
GIS Consult
Please contact any of the following about GIS Services and Resources at UCI:
Yvonne Wilson
University of California
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine, CA 92623-9557
(949) 824 - 7362
Daniel Tsang
Collections Department
Social Science Data Librarian
(949) 824-4978
Brian Williams, Research Librarian
Criminology, Law & Society
U.S. Government Information
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
http://delicious.com/gis_resources
http://justcrim.typepad.com
AfricaMap | Harvard
- Africamap | Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard UniversityAfricamap is housed at the Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard University with an initial grant from the Harvard Provosts Fund for Innovative Computing and ongoing support from the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute, the Department of African and African American Studies and the Committee for African Studies at Harvard University. AfricaMap grew out of a project, called Baobab, funded by the Seaver Institute.
KEY CITES
- American Factfinder (New!)
- American Factfinder
- GEODATA.GOV - Your one stop for federal, state and local geographic dataYour one stop for federal, state and local geographic data.
- Geographic Information Systems, USGS
A USGS Poster Session on GIS Basics: "Geographic information system (GIS) technology can be used for scientific investigations, resource management, and development planning..." - GIS Dictionary
"Includes terms from GIS operations such as analysis, data management, and geocomputation; from rapidly evolving uses of GIS for modeling, GIScience, and Web-based GIS; ... - GIS Lounge
GIS Lounge is a GIS information portal. The purpose of this site is to provide introductory text for issues relating to GIS as well as pointers to further information. - What is GIS?
"GIS is a collection of computer hardware, software, and geographic data for capturing, managing, analyzing, and displaying all forms of geographically referenced information." [ESRI]
PLATFORMS
- Community FootprintJustEnvirons.org will generate a community carbon footprint profile by address, city or ZIP.
- Crime Reports
Created to help law enforcement agencies put crime data in the hands of citizens. CR standardizes the way law enforcement agencies communicate crime data to the public, down to the specific neighborhood or block they live on - Google Earth
"[f]ly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings and even explore galaxies in the Sky. You can explore rich geographical content, save your toured places and share with others..." - Google Earth - Ocean Layer"Dive beneath the surface and visit the deepest part of the ocean, the Mariana Trench ..."
- Google Maps
Provides directions, interactive maps, and satellite aerial imagery of the United States. On May 25, 2007, Google released Street View, which provides 360° panoramic street-level views of various U.S. cities. - Google Mashup
The Google Mashup Editor is a limited test and access is restricted to a small number of developers during this testing period. - Google Sky"Traveling to the stars has never been easier - To help you explore the far reaches of our universe, we have teamed up with astronomers at some of the largest observatories in the world to bring you a new view of the sky..."
- LAPD Crime MapLAPD Crime Maps - Get up-to-date crime statistics for neighborhoods throughout Los Angeles. Being informed about crime in your community is the first step in preventing future occurrences.
- MapServer, University of Minnesota
MapS is an Open Source development environment for building spatially-enabled internet app. MapS is not a full-featured GIS system, nor does it aspire to be. Instead, MapS excels at rendering spatial data (maps, images, and vector data) for the web" - National Map (USGS)
The National Map, the USGS' online, interactive map service. You can view The National Map by using your Web browser (no special software or download required). - SocialExplorer
SocialExplorer provides access to demographic information about the U.S. from 1940 to 2000. A free version of the SocialExploer platform is available to create interactive demographic maps and reports for Census 2000 data. - Terraserver-USA (Microsoft) The TerraServer-USA Web site is one of the world's largest online databases, providing free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States.
TRAINING
- ESRI Virtual Campus
On-line self-paced GIS training is available to UCI faculty, staff and students through ESRI's Virtual Campus. - ESRI Support Center, Web-based help gateway
ESRI provides current Web-based help information online for ArcGIS products. - GIS.com GIS.com is a portal to GIS information on the Web and was created by ESRI, a GIS software developer...
Subject Guide |
Contact Info University of California, Irvine Langson Library 380 brian.williams@uci.edu voice 949.824.0473 |





Loading...
