This is the "HOME" page of the "Film and Media Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Find Scripts/Screenplays
Find Bibliographies and DirectoriesFind Biographies
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Film and Media Studies  Tags: film filmstudies media mediastudies visualstudies  

Library Information resources and tools for Film and Media Studies students and faculty
Last update: Feb 04th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HOME            Print Page
  
 

New Titles in Film Studies

CLICK HERE for more "New Titles" in Film Studies


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Featured Resource

International dictionary of films and filmmakers [electronic resource]


Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs. General and professional audiences.

 

Key Sites

 

 Lang, Fritz, 1890-1976 Metropolis / scientist with the false Maria 1926

* UC Irvine Access Only

  • Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective*  
      
    Indexes articles on film as well as art, archaeology, and architecture.
  • Film Indexes Online*  
      
    This portal allows for cross-searching of the American Film Index (AFI ) and the Film International Index (FIAF) databases. "Person Search" allows you to look for biographical information
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)*  
      
    Indexes almost 300 journals related to most aspects of the arts, including film, dance, and drama--including many that are not indexed elsewhere.
  • Moving Image Source  
      
    Comprehensive guide to film on the web. Allows you to browse by resources: Academic Associations, Administrative Bodies, Archives, and more.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals*  
      
    1972- International index to television periodicals, 1979- List of periodicals indexed Treasures from the film archives International directory of film and TV documentation collections and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications
 

World Cinema Guides

Research Guide to Latino/a American Film and Tevlevision

 

UCI Film & Media Studies

 

Featured Resource

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (electronic resource)

Online Four Volume Encyclopedia, all entries have lists of further reading. This resource offers "a comprehensive and accessible overview of film history and theory with an American emphasis." Whittington, Christine-Booklist

 

Note

This Guide is best viewed in Firefox

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait