- AFLCIO Job Safety
American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations. Workplace safety and health information.
- American Biological Safety Association
"Promotes biosafety as a scientific discipline and serve the growing needs of biosafety professionals throughout the world. The Association's goals are to provide a professional association that represents the interests and needs of practitioners of biological safety, and to provide a forum for the continued and timely exchange of biosafety information."
- American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
"The nation's largest medical society dedicated to promoting the health of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. "
- American Industrial Hygiene Association
"The largest international associations serving the needs of occupational and environmental health professionals practicing industrial hygiene in industry, government, labor, academic institutions, and independent organizations."
- ATSDR: Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry
"A federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances."
State of California Division of Occupational Safety and Health, "better known as Cal/OSHA, protects workers and the public from safety hazards through its Occupational Safety and Health, elevator, amusement ride, aerial tramway, ski lift and pressure vessel inspection programs, and also provides consultative assistance to employers."
- CDC Wonder
"Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), WONDER is an integrated information and communication system for public health."
- CDC – NCEH: National Center for Environmental Health
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Environmental Health "plans, directs, and coordinates a national program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors."
- CHEMM: Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management
CHEMM enables first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals
The site provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, web-based resource that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an event if the internet is not accessible
- CRCnetBASE *
"Offers instant access to the world's premier scientific and technical references." Content includes Environmental Science & Engineering and Occupational Health & Safety.
- Environment and Safety Library *
"Combines powerful, easy-to-use, continuously updated compliance tools with a research collection of federal and state laws, regulations, and documents." Content includes "the full text of environment and safety laws and regulations in the U.S., Canada and Mexico; the full text of European Union directives and regulations; the complete text of thousands of legal decisions made by federal, state, and administrative courts and more.
- Environmental and Occupational Health Data Sets
George Washington University, Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library. List of "selected resources for identifying publicly available data statistics and resources."
- Environmental Health News
"Published daily by Environmental Health Sciences, a foundation-funded journalism organization."
- EPA: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
"EPA leads the nation's environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts. The mission of the Environmental Protection Agency is to protect human health and the environment."
- FDA: National Center for Toxicological Research
"Plays a critical role in the FDA’s mission. NCTR—in partnership with researchers from elsewhere in FDA, other government agencies, academia, and industry—provides innovative technology, methods development, vital scientific training, and technical expertise. The unique scientific expertise of NCTR is critical in supporting FDA product centers and their regulatory roles."
- Haz-Map: Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Agents
National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. "Occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work."
- Health Effects Institute
"A nonprofit corporation and independent research organization that provides high-quality, impartial, and relevant science on the health effects of air pollution. Typically, HEI receives half of its core funds from the US Environmental Protection Agency and half from the worldwide motor vehicle industry."
- HSS -- The Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security
Establishes worker safety and health requirements and expectations to ensure protection of workers from the hazards associated with Department operations. Conducts health studies to determine worker and public health effects from exposure to hazardous materials associated with Department operations and supports international health studies and programs.
- National Environmental Health Association
"NEHA’s mission is to advance the environmental health and protection professional for the purpose of providing a healthful environment for all. Because it encompasses the entire environmental health profession, this single organization effectively serves as the forum for discussion of, and can address the broad spectrum of, environmental health issues."
- National Safety Council
"The National Safety Council saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads, through leadership, research, education and advocacy."
- NIEHS: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
"The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) is one of 27 Institutes and Centers of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).The mission of the NIEHS is to reduce the burden of human illness and disability, by understanding how the environment influences the development and progression of human disease."
- NIOSH: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
Part of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the Department of Health and Human Services. NIOSH is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness.
- OHSA: Occupational Safety and Health Administration
U.S. Department of Labor. "Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to assure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance."
- Scorecard: The Pollution Information Site
A resource for information about pollution problems and toxic chemicals. Examples: Find out about the pollution problems in your community and learn who is responsible. See which geographic areas and companies have the worst pollution records." Sponsor: Green Media Toolshed - "a nonprofit organization dedicated to growing the capacity of the environmental movement."
- Tox Town: Environmental Health Concerns and Toxic Chemicals Where You Live, Work, and Play.
Uses color, graphics, sounds and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. Its target audience is students above elementary-school level, educators, and the general public. It is a companion to the extensive information in the TOXNET collection of databases that are typically used by toxicologists and health professionals.
- TOXMAP: Environmental Health E-Maps
"A Geographic Information System (GIS) from the Division of Specialized Information Services of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Toxics Release Inventory and Superfund Program. Funded by the U.S. Federal Government."
- U.S. Department of Labor: Workplace Safety & Health
A handy list of online information available from the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes Mine Safety and Health, drug-free workplace programs, major disability compensation programs, worker's compensation resources, and whistleblower protections.
- World Health Organization: Environmental Health
This website offers fact sheets, multimedia resources, technical information, statistics, and WHO activities related to environmental health.