News Block
- ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital LibraryASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles.
- Who's next in line for a kidney transplant?From NPR Sept 20, 2012
- Reuters Science NewsGlobal news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
- ScienceWatchTracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
- Video of the 2012 Health Care Forcast Conference (21st annual)Held February 23-24, 2012 by the Center for Health Care Management and Policy at the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center of the National Academies of Sciences & Engineering, Irvine, California. Freely available thanks to underwriting by the California HealthCare Foundation. Conference titled ""Health Politics of and Policies in an Election Year".
Ask A Librarian
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our licensed databases and resources. Please contact NACS if you need assistance at 949-824-2222.
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
Copying/Printing at the Libraries
Beginning in Fall, 2008 the UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for copying and xeroxing. It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries. Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted. Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing.
Evaluating Information
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.
Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources
- Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
- Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
- Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
- Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
- Capturing and citing
- Copying
Using Databases
Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN
For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles" tab.
Introduction
There are many resources at the UCI Libraries devoted to the study of biomedical engineering. The collection is young as is the academic program here and it is focused upon the general materials, and the specific research interests and coursework that is currently. It is anticipated that the collection will grow rapidly in parallel as the program expands its emphases and more faculty and students join it. Some of the current special interests reflect strong interdisciplinary interests and include: tissue engineering, molecular engineering, protein engineering, laser technologies, transplantation, optic sensors, biomedical devices and instrumentation, implants, biomechanics, cardiovascular instruments, Microelectromechanical Systems or MEMS or BIOMEMS, relationships to biotechnology, computational methods and genomic statistics and relationships.
The UCI Library Website is your point of departure as you seek information
Reference Works
- Association of Biomolecular Resource FacilitiesSite features a Yellow Pages of labs offering analytical services, and research studies to help labs keep up. Also publishes the Journal of Biomolecular Techniques, online after a 3-month delay.
- BiosciEDNet The BEN portal provides access to online educational resource from professional societies, educational organizations, and educators like you.
- Directory of Suppliers for Engineering, Processing, and Materials
- EEVL – Edinburgh Engineering Virtual LibraryGateway with search engine for finding high quality information resources in Engineering.
- eFundaOver 30,000 pages of engineering fundamentals and calculators. Top level categories are: Materials, Design Center, Processes, Units & Constants, Formulas, and Mathematics. Commercially maintained and offers additional services for a fee-based membership.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science*
- Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation, 2006. ASL REF W 13 E555 2006Second edition of major encyclopedia set chronicling development of medical device industry with many examples of products and services.
- Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research*
- Engineering Network
- Gale Directory LibraryDirectory Library includes Encyclopedia of Associations for U.S. and international nonprofit organizations.
- Genetics Home Reference
- History of Science, Technology and MedicineInternational, searchable database of the history of science, technology and medicine from 1973 and on.
- Industrial.org
- IndustrialDirectory.com
- Institute of Industrial Engineers
- MacRae's BluebookSearchable on-line directory of US and Canadian industrial suppliers with more than 1 million product listings. The Original Industrial Directory since 1893.
- Materials for Medical Devices DatabaseA comprehensive, authoritative set of mechanical, physical, biological response, and drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices by the ASM. Currently 2 modules completed, Cardiovascular & Orthopedics.
- Medline Plus Medical EncyclopediaIt includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations. A service of the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Healt
- Sage Sourcebook of Modern Biomedical Devices : Business Environments in a Global Market, 2007. 3 vols.ASL REF W 16 S129 2007
- The Merck IndexCall number: LL & ASL Ref, QV 772 M555.
- Thomas' RegesterDirectory of product services and catalogs for industrial and engineering use. Combines (67,000) categories. Can reduce down to specific category.
- ViFaTecThe subject gateway on Engineering. Provides fast access to a large scientific technical data pool, well structured search results, and direct access to the services of the Technical Information Library.
- WikipediaMajor encyclopedia containing much authoritative content with the caveat that it is not signed nor attributed to any author(s) thus information should be verified.
- WiktionaryFree multilingual dictionary in every language with definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, quotations and synonyms. Wiktionary is the lexical companion to the open-content encyclopedia Wikipedia.
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
