Click on the letters below to jump to that section of the alphabet:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Abstract - A brief summary or overview of the
content of an item (i.e. journal article, book, dissertation, etc.);
often provided in databases along with the article citation; can help
determine if it is worth your time to read the entire document.
ANTPAC/catalog - A searchable list of the books, periodicals, and multi-media materials in the UCI Libraries' collections; tells what we own and where to find it.
Article Database - A tool that facilitates the
discovery of scholarly and popular articles. The database search engine
allows you to look for information in specific subject areas.
Information is included and retrieved according to specified parameters
such as subject area, author, article title, publication type, format,
(top of the page)
Basic vs. Advanced Search - A basic search asks, “Is this
word anywhere?” much like a Google search. An advanced search looks for terms in
specific places, like the title or the author. Advanced search allows you to
combine terms so that you can look for author and title at the same time.
Bibliography- A bibliography is an alphabetized list of
works that an author has directly referenced or consulted to write a book or
article. You can check the bibliography to find other sources of information on
Boolean - The most common Boolean searches use the word
AND to narrow search results or the word OR to broaden the results.
Call number - A logical system of letters and numbers
that identifies the specific locations of items in the library.
Citation - The basic information needed to locate a
particular article, book or other source that provides information. Citations
give credit to the sources you used and help you avoid plagiarism.
Collections - The total accumulation of books, electronic
resources, journals, multi-media, and other materials purchased by a library to
support research and teaching.
E-books- "Electronic Books" come in an electronic format rather than
print. They are most often read on personal computers, smart phones, or hand
held devises such as Kindles.
Full Text Articles - Journal or newspaper articles that have
been fully digitized and therefore, have their entire content available for
retrieval from a database.
ILL (Interlibrary Loan) - A library service that allows
students and faculty to borrow materials that are not owned by your local
Index - See definition for "Article Databases"
Note to Librarians: Indexes often do not contain full text and usually
provide a list of designated subject headings.
(noun) - Book index: An
alphabetically arranged list of the personal names, places, and subjects in a
written work, with page numbers to refer the reader to the point in the text at
which information is found.
Index (verb) - Refers to the act of generating citations and/or
abstacts of literature so that this information can be easily retrieved from a
print index or a database.
Interface (front end) - The interface refers to the
graphic layout of the screen that you are interacting with.
Journal article - A report and analysis of research on a
fairly narrow topic or subject, by researchers/scholars for others in their
field, published in an academic
Journal/Periodical - Periodicals can refer to
journals, magazines, or newspapers. Journals are devoted to disseminating
original research and commentary on current developments in a specific
discipline, subdiscipline, or field of study (example: Journal of Clinical
Epidemiology), usually published in quarterly, bimonthly, or monthly issues and
sold by subscription.
Keywords - Keyword search is the simplest way to search, it's a
"quick and dirty" search. Because of this, the search results will be very
broad and less precise.
LCSH/subject headings - Subject headings are like tags, applied
in a uniform fashion by trained experts (i.e., librarians!). You know how you
can tag photos in Facebook? All your photos about, say, “New Year’s 2008” are
in one place, right? Subject Headings work the same way. All the books about,
for example, World War II, would be under “World War, 1939-1945.”
Monograph/book - A monograph is simply another word for a
book, usually scholarly, on a single subject. Monographs or scholarly books are
good places to go if you want to know a lot of detail and/or an overview of a
subject. Sometimes a single book chapter can be helpful to your research, so
don’t be discouraged by books because of their length.
Next Generation Melvyl - A library catalog for the entire
UC-system that shows if a book is "in stock" at another UC Library. Next-Gen
Melvyl also lists books in libraries all over the world, as well as some
individual journal articles. Next-Gen Melvyl is a good place to go if you can’t
find what you need in Antpac or at UCI, and you can use it to place Inter
Llibrary Loan requests.
Popular Press - Can refer to any type of publication – books,
magazines and newspapers. These materials are written for a general
audience. This means that they are easier to understand than scholarly works,
and can help you get a handle on your research topic. They also take much less
time to produce, and as such, are more likely to include information about more
recent events than scholarly materials are. Examples include newspapers like the
LA Times or Orange County Register. Also includes popular magazines like Time,
Newsweek, New Yorker, Vanity Fair etc.
Record - Each item in a library collection or a library
database has its own record. The record tells you not only the title, author,
date of publication, and other descriptive information, but also whether the
item is available and its location.
Reference - This generally refers to the reference desk or
reference section of the library. The reference desk is an "information desk"
where people can ask questions or go for help. The Reference Books section is
where people can look at books that are commonly used to find factual
information. Reference librarians work at a reference desk. They are trained to
hone in on the best source for finding the information you need.
References - References are citations They contain the
basic information needed to locate a particular article, book or other source
that provides information. Citations give credit to the sources you used and
help you avoid plagiarism.
Scholarly/academic/vetted/peer-review (materials) -
Peer-reviewed journal articles are reviewed (or vetted) by scholars or other
experts in the field before being published in an academic journal. However,
not all journals are peer-reviewed.
Style manual/citation style - Different
subjects/disciplines have different formats for how citations should
appear. These formats are explained in style manuals. Examples of citation
styles include APA, MLA, Chicago, and need example of a science citation
Subject Guides - The subject librarians maintain online
subject guides that direct you to the best resources in your research area
including databases, books, and journals. For example, if you have a business
question, the business subject guide will provide database recommendations and
ways to get started on business topics.
Tags - Tags are short descriptions created by anyone when
they want to describe or group digital items like photos or music. Tags are used
to organize and retrieve digital materials.
Thesaurus - A traditional thesaurus tells you alternate
words that mean approximately the same thing. A database thesaurus tells you
the specific terms that are used in that database.
Truncation - When searching, it is often a good idea to
truncate your term, or shorten it, so that you find words that begin with the
same letters but have different endings. For example, if you are looking for
information on immigrants and immigration, you can search for “immigra*” The *
takes the place of the endings of the word.
UC-eLinks - UCeLinks will help you connect to the full text of
articles in different databases.
VPN - UCI Libraries subscribe to a number of expensive
databases and other resources. The VPN )Virtual Private Network) allows you to
access these resources when you are off-campus and not connected to the campus