Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Free Legal Information
- LII / Legal Information Institute LII is a not-for-profit organization that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. LII carries out this vision by: Publishing law online, for free; Creating materials that help people understand law; Exploring new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law.
- Oyez Project (U.S. Supreme Court Media) The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
- WashLaw WebWashLaw Web provides users with links to law-related materials on the Internet. Generally speaking, the information is arranged alphabetically, by subject, and by geographic location. All links on WashLaw Web are maintained by staff members of the Washburn University School of Law Library. This remains one of my favorite legal information portal sites (along with LII / Legal Information Institute). From here ... Anywhere!
- American Law Sources On-line (ALSO) The ALSO portal provides a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to freely accessible on-line sources of law for the United States and Canada. This site contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge (or available at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers).
- Findlaw (for legal professionals) One of the earliest legal information portals online, FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business, remains the most popular site for free legal information on the Internet with more than four million legal consumers visiting each month and the largest legal directory available.
- HG.org Need to identify a law firm in Kabul, Afghanistan capable of representing a client with weapons-rlated issues? HG.org'ss global law firm directories can help. HG.org was one of the very first online law and government sites. It was founded in January of 1995 by a large network of independent law firms.
- Jurist (Legal News & Analysis Portal) JURIST is a Web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by a mostly-volunteer team of over 30 part-time law student reporters, editors and Web developers led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA.
- Justia (Laws & Regulations) Justia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. Justia is especially focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twittterer databases, as well as additional community resources.
- Law Library of Congress Congress established its Law Library in 1832, recognizing its need for ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library has grown over the years to become the world’s largest law library, with a collection of over 2.65 million volumes spanning the ages and covering virtually every jurisdiction in the world.
- OpenJurist Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. The organization believes that because the laws of the land are in the public domain, they should be accessible by the public without restriction and especially without charge.
- Public Library of Law (PLoL) Searching the Web is easy. Why should searching the law be any different? That's why Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is one of the largest free law libraries in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web.
- v|LexAn online legal information platform. Following an agreement signed with ProQuest, vLex has started to integrate over 1000 new sources, including: weekly news magazines, local newspapers and magazines that cover a variety of topics such as business, law, industry and culture.
eReference
- Annual ReviewsAnnual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature, and are available in print and online to individuals, institutions, and consortia throughout the world.
- Annual Reviews - Law & SocietyAnnual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature, and are available in print and online to individuals, institutions, and consortia throughout the world.
- Britannica Online
- Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Gale Virtual Reference Library*
Searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works. - International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Contains synopses of information as well as references to key works. - Oxford reference online premium
Large collection that includes Oxford Companion to the Mind and more. Longer entries contain bibliographies of key works. - Sage eReference [electronic resource] Reference books published by SAGE in social sciences and more.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)Data intensive database that matches with social issues and current events. Highly academic portfolio.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)SEP is designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, SEP maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research...
- Wex LII / Legal Information InstituteWex is an ambitious effort to construct a collaboratively created, public-access law dictionary and encyclopedia. Hosted by Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School.
- WikipediaThis free encyclopedia contains entries & contributions by volunteers that are not refereed and should be verified. Most contain extensive information with reference references in a short essay format.
Key Resources
UCI Department of Criminology, Law and Society (CLS)
Search Me?
Search ANTPAC
Find books, journals, course reserves and more...
How to Find a Book
ANTPAC Search Help
Ask a Librarian
Feedback
ARTICLE & LEGAL RESEARCH DATABASES
- Academic Search Complete* (All Subjects)
TO SEARCH CRIMINAL JUSTICE ABSTRACTS, GO TO ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE, SELECT "CHOOSE DATABASES" AND THEN SELECT "CRIMINAL JUSTICE ABSTRACTS. "[A] comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals." - Annual Reviews *Annual Reviews are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature, and are available in print and online to individuals, institutions, and consortia throughout the world.
- AnthroSource* [American Anthropological Association]Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print. Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications. Entire article database searchable by keyword. Subscribers can use personalization options to save searches and to receive email updates
- Business Source Complete*
Worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Information on 60,000+ companies. - Criminal justice abstracts*
Criminal Justice Abstracts ... contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. - Criminal Justice Periodicals Index*Inclusive coverage: 1981 to present. Online continuation of the print publication: The Criminal justice periodical index.
- Criminology : a SAGE full-text collection*
Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. - Dissertations and Theses* (All Subjects)
Includes citations for over 2.3 million dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. - Environmental sciences & pollution management (CSA Illumina)
Search CSA Illumina databases concurrently or independently. Click on the active "Specific Databases" hyperlink and select the databases you want and then "Continue to search" ... - ERIC (CSA)*
A complete bibliography of educational materials available since 1966. Indexes published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in education) and CIJE (Current index to journals in education) - ERIC - Education Resources Information Center An online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Foreign Law Guide - Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World * Foreign Law Guide is intended to facilitate access to current primary and, to a lesser degree, secondary sources of foreign law. Fully aware of the inherent difficulty of uniformly treating and controlling legislation coming from diverse legal systems, the editors have attempted to provide, within countries and jurisdictions, a subject breakdown...
- ForensicNetBase*
ForensicNetBase is just one part of the CRCnetBASE which provides full-text access to CRC Press reference books via a number of sub-databases. It is a searchable database of essential forensic science and law enforcement reference texts. - Google Scholar (All Subjects)
Google Scholar has developed a case law search option. The US Federal case law database includes US Supreme Court opinions since 1 US 1 (pre - 1776), Federal Appeals opinions since 1 F 2d 1 (1924+), and many Federal District Court opinions from F Supp. Opinions from all 50 states are included since 1950. - Hein Online*The Law Journal Library is a collection of over 1,100 law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals through the most current issue allowed, based on contracts with publishers.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) * Produced by AALL, the IFLP is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in 470 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia...
- Index to legal periodicals & books *Citations to articles from over 600 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Includes book reviews.
- JSTOR*
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content. JSTOR was founded in 1995 to build trusted digital archives for scholarship. - LexisNexis Academic* (All Subjects)
LexisNexis® Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis® Academic is available at over 1,500 libraries serving over 8 million students and faculty. - LLMC Digital *Full text image-based searchable database of legal publications
- Making of Modern Law : legal treatises 1800-1926*Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the 19th Century and 20th Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, etc.
- Making of Modern Law. U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978Derived from two essential reference sources; for the period 1832 (when printed Court records began) through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, America's first law library, located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; for 1915-1978, the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, a nationally recognized research facility and the single largest member supported law library in the United States. Features a fully s
- National Survey of state Laws (2008) . Richard A. Leiter, editorA quick, state-by-state comparison of current state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects from abortion to employment discrimination, child custody to interest rates.
- NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service ) abstracts databaseNational Criminal Justice Reference Service abstracts database [electronic resource] / U.S. Department of Justice, National Institute of Justice
- Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court DecisionsSearchable database of information from The Oxford guide to United States Supreme Court decisions. Resource includes over 400 entries for Supreme Court decisions throughout U.S. history published in the Oxford companion to the Supreme Court. Additionally, 45 new entries for post-1991 decisions have been included.
- PAIS International*
"The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. - Project Muse*"Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery."
- ProQuest Congressional*All federal congressional documents from the birth of the United States Congress to the present are now searchable full text on a single research platform at UCI: Congressional makes the very oldest and very newest House and Senate Reports, Documents, Hearings, Committee Prints, Legislative Histories, Congressional Research Service Reports, and Congressional Record debate instantly retrievable.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight * ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
- PsycINFO*
PsycINFO® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. - PubMed (Medicine and health)Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources
- Social Services Abstracts*
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. - Sociological Abstracts*
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. - Subject Compilations of State Laws (1960-)Subject Compilations of State Laws in HeinOnline features a database giving you access to over 18,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg and Carol Boast Robertson's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline.
- Urban Studies Planning* Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 42 years, and encompasses over 10,500 articles.
- Urban Sudies Abstracts (USA) USA indexes urban studies, urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other related resources
- Web of Science* (All Subjects)
Web of Science® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. - Westlaw Campus*
A collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals...
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
- Oxford English Dictionary *A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info University of California, Irvine Langson Library 380 brian.williams@uci.edu voice 949.824.0473 |
Google Book Search
Sage eReference
- Sage eReference [electronic resource]* A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics...
- Encyclopedia of crime and punishment [electronic resource][Sage eReference]* Authoritative and comprehensive, this multivolume set includes hundreds of articles in the field of criminal justice. [Access Restricted]
- Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory What causes crime? This seemingly simple question is dauntingly complex and, not surprisingly, has yielded answers so diverse and numerous as to fill two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory. The richness in the attempts to explain the origins of crime is, to a large extent, a direct function of the intricate nature of human beings.
- Encyclopedia of law & society [electronic resource] : American and global perspectives [Sage eReference]*This Encyclopedia is richly interdisciplinary. It is decisively global. And it reflects the paradoxical reality of modern life, including legal life: the sameness at the heart of difference... [Access Restricted]
- Encyclopedia of prisons & correctional facilities [electronic resource][Sage eReference ]* The United States confines more people per capita than any other equivalent industrialized, democratic country. It is also one of the last remaining such nations to practice capital punishment ... [Access Restricted]
- Encyclopedia of Race and Crime [Sage eReference]* The study of race and crime has a long history in
the discipline of criminology and the study of criminal justice. The encyclopedia is designed to provide reference material and an introduction to historical
and contemporary race and crime topics. - Sage Handbook of Criminological TheoryCriminology is the body of knowledge regarding crime as a social phenomenon. It includes within its scope the process of making laws, of breaking laws and reacting to the breaking of laws. … The objective of criminology is the development of a body of general and verifiable
principles and of other types of knowledge regarding the process of law, crime and treatment.







Loading...
Loading...
