ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
See how to register.
See ARTstor help documents and other image resources on the: Digital Images Guide

Comments (0)
Licensed Digital Image Collections (access restriced to UCI)
Collections of digital images licensed by the
University of California Libraries in support of the research,
teaching, and learning of UC faculty, students, and staff.
*Robust image management and presentation tools are available in ARTstor and Insight.
- ARTstorThe ARTstor image collections combined with UC institutional collections (preliminary content: architecture, art, and humanities) with software tools.
*Note: Best accessed with one-time download of ARTstor’s Offline Image Viewer on your workstation. - CamioOCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
- Grove Art OnlineElectronic version of the reference resource The Dictionary of Art plus extensive image links.
- Index of Christian ArtA thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects from early apostolic times to 1400. Morgan and Princeton Library manuscript images up to the end of the 16th century.
Open Access Image Collections on the Web
Collections of digital images freely accessible to the public.
- ALA comprehensive Guide to images online
- Access Ceramicsa growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide
- Art Images OnlineCollections of free images sources online including paintings, photography, works by women, architecture, and more.
- Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in SpainThis collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century.
- Calisphere - "The University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources."Over 150,000 digitized items including photographs, newspaper, political cartoons, works of art, transcribed oral histories, and other unique cultural artifacts from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses and a variety of cultural heritage organizat
- Digital Image Collections WikispacesThe Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
- Flickr- The CommonsWorld's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view.
- Galaxy of ImagesContains a portion of the more than 1.5 million printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
- GLOPADGloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
- Google Images
- Internet for Image Searches
- Library of Congress Flickr GroupsWith the launch of the Library of Congress pilot, Flickr began a new initiative called "The Commons." Cultural heritage institutions that join The Commons are sharing images from their photographic collections that have no known copyright restrictions.
- Luna Commonsa new source for finding valuable, educational content from digital collections built in the Insight Software from Luna Imaging, Inc. and presented in Insight's dynamic new LUNA browser.
- NYPL Digital Galleryprovides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Old Images of AsiaA growing collection of annotated and tagged colour and B&W old
postcards' photographs and lithographs - Rumsey’s Visual CollectionsOver 300,000 images from over 50 collections including maps, artwork, and photographs that are both free and subscription based collections. All collections are presented in Insight.
- San Franciso Historical Photograph Collectioncontains photographs and works on paper of San Francisco and California views from 1850 to the present. More about the collection
- Visual Resources Online (links to digital image collections)Online Visual resources of image collections and online art courtesy of the University of Michigan School of Art & Design. Catagories include: Africa & Diaspora | The Americas | Asia | Europe | Islam | Classical World of the Mediterranean | Photography |
- The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) Online Image CollectionsVADS has provided services to the academic community for 11 years and has built up a portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching and research.
- Wellesley Image WikiThe Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
- WIkipedia Public Domain Image Resources
- Wikimedia CommonsA database of 3,346,310 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
- World Digital Library
- Cybermuse (Canadian National Archive)The permanent collection of the National Gallery of Canada as well as the print collection of the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography are searchable in this database.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
