* UC Irvine access only
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2013
** = UC
Irvine access only
- MLA International Bibliography**
A good place to begin research about literary and film/tv works.
- Literature Resource Center (LRC)**
Good place for biographies of authors or introductions to literary works.
- Literature Criticism Online**
A good place for the beginning researcher, this database provides commentary on books and plays by the scholars of the day. Captures literary criticism and reception from when a work (play, novel, poem, literary work) was published to the present day.
- LION: Literature Online**
Full-texts of works and literary criticism and reviews for works in English are found here.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection**
Designed for student readers, this database provides accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.
- Humanities Index**
Contains citations to articles and book reviews in approximately 500 well-known scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities from 1984-now
- Dissertations & Theses Abstracts and Index**
Includes citations for over 2.3 million dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Most UC dissertations published after 1997 available for download.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)**
Use this dictionary to find the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words. The OED online, which contains all 20 volumes of the print edition, also traces the usage of words over the past millennium through quotations from English language sources.
- Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies. 5th ed.
Print Title: Langson Reference PR 83 H34 2008
An often used and excellent annotated resource to discover what tools (databases, dictionaries, journals) are available to you for your research needs.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
Includes both Fifteenth and Sixteenth editions.