Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Historical News Papers
To Find Images, click on "more search options" then select "photo standalone" from the dropdown menu under document type
- (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertisements.
- New York Times Historical, 1851-2004 Search for historical New York Times articles.
- Los Angeles Times Historical, 1881-1986 Search for historical Los Angeles Times articles.
Historical Clothing Image Collections
| VADS: Visual Arts Data Service. Includes
several fashion and textiles collections among its 100,000 images
including the London College of Fashion (paper patterns, Cordwainers
Shoe Collection, the Woolmark Company, a collection of garment photos),
The Textiles Collection: University College for the Creative Arts at
Farnham, and Central Saint Martins: Museum & Study Collection.
|
NYPL Library: Theatre Image Collections
- Customs and Costume: Surveys and Examples of National Studies to 1900
An assemblage of about two dozen (and growing) various and representative plate books, portfolios of paintings and prints, and illustrated surveys on costume and customs of people around the world, principally in the 19th century.
- Dress and Fashion: Design and Manufacture
Several rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th century. Includes historical surveys as well as manufacturers' booklets and sample swatch catalogs.
- Marquees, 1997-2001: New York City Theatre Photographs by Christopher Frith
1,717 color photographs of Broadway theater marquees and theater facades from 1997 to 2001 by Christopher J. Frith.
- On Stage and Screen: Photograph File of the Billy Rose Theatre Collection
Tens of thousands of photographs of actors and actresses, in character and as themselves, from the 19th century to recent years.
- "Penny Plains" and "Two-pence Coloured:" English Theatrical Portraits 1799-1847 in the William Appleton Collection
306 toy theatre prints portraying plays and actors in character, from the early- to mid-19th century; these prints comprise the visual materials in the William Appleton collection of theatrical correspondence and ephemera, 1697-1930.
- "Queen of Off-Broadway:" Lucille Lortel Collection Photographs 1902-1998
An appreciative selected collection of eighteen memorabilia photographs from the papers of Lucille Lortel (1900-1999), the woman regarded as the founder of Off-Broadway, the second wave of little theatre in America.
- Theatre Productions and Players, 1900-1957: Vandamm Studio Photographs
The thousands of items in this digital presentation are a sampling of an archive of more than 75,000 images of theatrical personalities and productions. Images in the current presentation represent glass plate and acetate negatives primarily.
- Uniforms and Regimental Regalia: The Vinkhuijzen Collection of Military Costume Illustration
Over 20,000 prints, drawings, watercolors, and printed book and magazine illustrations of military costume as well as military medals, regalia, insignia, coats of arms, and regimental flags, from most times and places except the United States.
- Yiddish Theatre Placards: Buenos Aires and New York
Placards from the two leading centers of Yiddish theater in their respective heydays: New York, 1890s-1910s (64 images), and Buenos Aires, 1930s-1940s (28 images).
ARTstor
ARTstor: Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images
Life Magazine Images
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait