E-Books
This is the "Home" page of the "Medical Image Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
* UC Irvine access only

Medical Image Resources   Tags: health_sciences, images, medical_images, medicine  

A guide to medical image resources
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/medicalimages Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

History of Medicine Image Sources

Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images.

  • Duke Medicine Digital Repository
    Searchable collection of 3,000+ photos, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of health and life sciences.
  • Images from the History of Medicine
    "Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
  • Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
    Collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
  • Otis Historical Archives on Flickr
    Unofficial home for public domain photographs from the National Museum of Health & Medicine.

Key Medical Databases That Include Images

These major medical databases are Grunigen Medical Library
Core Resources
.

* UC Irvine access only - remote users: log in to the VPN first.

Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images.

  • AccessMedicine *
    Images tab is on the top navigation bar; or use the pull-down menu next to the search box at the top of the Home page.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text *
    Click on the MORE drop down menu on the top right navigation bar to go to the IMAGES search page. Images are listed by the articles that contain them.
  • MD Consult *
    Image section, Images tab and search.
  • STAT!Ref Nursing *
    Search function includes images as a limit. Figures and other images listed by resource as part of the table of contents.
  • STAT!Ref Online Medical Database *
    Search function includes Images as a limit. Figures and other images listed by resource as part of the table of contents.
  • Trip Database  
      
    The TRIP database searches a variety of sources of medical information and images. Images are displayed in the results of specific searches.

Medical Image Databases

Please check the usage policies for each site before downloading any images.

See the More Image Sources tab for more medical image databases.

  • Anatomy.TV *
    A comprehensive, detailed 3D Human Anatomy atlas and image library which includes the Head, Eye, Ear, Neck, Spine, Shoulder, Hand, Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis, Perineum, Hip, Foot, Ankle and Knee regions.
  • MedPix
    "MedPix is a free online Medical Image Database provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. All public content is peer-reviewed by an Editorial Panel."
  • New England Journal of Medicine - Images in Clinical Medicine*  
      
    Videos on various topics in clinical medicine, including Primary Care; Clinical Practice; Hematology/Oncology; Cardiology; Infectious Disease; Pulmonary; Critical Care; Dermatology; and more.
  • VisualDx *  
      
    A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Includes more than 16,000 images representing over 900 visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections.

Additional Resources

Medical Education / Evidence-Based Medicine / Nursing

Profile Image
Steve Clancy
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
247 Science Library
949-824-7309
UCILIBsclancy (AIM)
Send Email
Subjects:
Medicine, Nursing

Subject Guide

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip