US CENSUS
- American FactFinder The American Factfinder contains downloadable data sets for use with the 2000 Census information as well data from the American Community Survey. Census 2000 data are also included as part of the ArcGIS software.
- Tiger Mapping Service This interactive mapping engine uses 1998 TIGER/Line® data and 1990 Decennial Census data.
- Tiger, Tiger/Line, and Related Products (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoded Referencing system)
Tiger files are a digital database describing geographic features covering the entire United States used by the Census Bureau to support its mapping needs for the Decennial Censuses and other programs of the Bureau.
USGS
U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY
- USGS Home A multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, our natural resources, and natural hazards...
- Earth Resources Observation Systems (EROS) Data Center A leading source for downloadable SPOT Satellite Data, aerial, land coverage, and elevation data, EROS is a data management, systems development, and research field center for the USGS.
- Maps, Imagery, and Publications This is a major portal to online maps and mapping products including topographic, the National Atlas, thematic and planetary maps.
- National Atlas
This interactive map allows the creation of your own map through the activating of various GIS layers. - National Map The National Map is a consistent framework for geographic knowledge needed by the Nation. It provides public access to high-quality, geospatial data and information from multiple partners to help support decisionmaking by resource managers and the public.
- U.S. GeoData
USGS Geographic Data Download from the EROS Data Center. - View USGS Maps and Aerial Photo Images Online Links to selected USGS Business Partner Program (BP) and Cooperative Research and Development Agreement (CRADA) partner sites where you may view USGS maps and aerial photo images from your Web browser.
- Western Region Geologic Information Server (USGS) Provides digital earth science information including on-line maps, reports and other data. Much of the data is in ArcInfo export files.
UNIVERSITY
|
University and other GIS web sites
|
|||||
| • | Alexandria Digital Library (California Digital Library) This collection provides geospatial data and metadata in digital data. Coverage is worldwide but concentrated on Southern California. Digital series in the collection include: DEMs, DRGs, scanned aerial photographs, Landsat TM, and seismic datasets. |
||||
| • | Arizona State University One of two GIS pages for Arizona State University. This page provides information on GIS services available in the ASU Map Collection. The second page focuses on GIS data for Arizona. |
||||
| • | CDC Shapefiles for EPI Map 2000 From the Center for Disease Control. Provides administrative boundary files are available on this Website for free download for all seven continents. |
||||
| • | CIESIN Columbia University's Center for International Earth Science Information Network Specializes in global and regional network development, science data management, decision support and training, education and technical consultation services. CIESIN is the World Data Center A (WDC-A) for Human Interactions in the Environment. Site provides FTP access to international GIS datasets. CIESIN Gateway provides search and retrieval of SEDAC's (Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center) Data and Information Catalog Services. Multiple Catalog Search Service is also available. |
||||
| • | Data Web Provides access across the Internet to demographic, economic, environmental, health and other databases housed in different systems in different agencies and organizations using DataFerrett. |
||||
| • | Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative A collection of worldwide cultural information in digital format. Includes various historical maps, some with cultural information developed by the University of Sydney. |
||||
| • | ESRI has downloadable data sets on their website, which may be downloaded for free or for a fee. Some highlights include: • ESRI World BaseMap Data • FEMA Q3 Flood Data • Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data |
||||
| • | Geo Community Home of GIS Depot where USGS DEMs, DRGs, DOQQs and other GIS data can be downloaded or purchased. |
||||
| • | Geographic Information Systems at the American Geographical Society Collection Provides access to major digital spatial data at the AGSC housed at the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee. GIS Overview contains definitions of data layers. |
||||
| • | Geography.about.com A popular-type site that contains information on GIS as well as outline maps and geography information. |
||||
| • | Geography Network ESRI's data clearinghouse and map services. |
||||
| • | Infomine: Maps and GIS (UC Riverside) Quick way to search for GIS information when you only have a title or subject. Provides detail annotations to determine the usefulness of the item. |
||||
| • | National Atlas of the United States US biology, geology, demography, environment, water and more. |
||||
| • | Starting the Hunt A guide to mostly online and mostly free U.S. Geospatial and attribute data arranged by state. |
||||
| • | UC Atlas of Global Inequality created by UC Santa Cruz The this atlas explores some aspects of inequality using online, downloadable maps and graphics. |
||||
| • | United Nations Environment Programme / Global Resource Information Database (UNEP/GRID) Clearinghouse Node Downloadable GIS worldwide dataset for population, administrative boundaries, terrain, soil, and vegetation. |
||||
SOURCES OF DATA
- CaSIL Data Collections
California Spatial Information Library - CaSIL is an active online repository of California geospatial data. CaSIL provides free access to geospatial data and metadata for the State of California, with special emphasis on natural resources. - Enviromapper (EPA) EnviroMapper for Envirofacts - An interactive GIS map using EPA spatial data at the national, state, and county levels.
- FEMA GIS

"[P]rovides national level GIS support/coordination to [FEMA]. GIS mapping products are available for Hurricane Wilma; Hurricane Rita; Hurricane Katrina; Historical Presidential Declarations; Presidential Declarations 2000-01/2008..." - Federal Geospatial Data Clearinghouse Search Engine
"[A] collection of over 250 spatial data servers, that have digital geographic data primarily for use in GIS, image processing systems, and other modelling software... [C]an be searched through a single interface based on descriptions or "metadata - Free GIS Data & Imagery GeoBlog
"Public domain GIS data and Free GIS data repositories and clearinghouses. Are you still paying commercial data resources for Free, public domain GIS data? If so STOP IT and WAKE UP! For even more free data sources see also www.GISuser.com" - GeoCommunity

"The GeoCommunity™ is THE place for the Geographic Information Systems (GIS), CAD, Mapping, and Location-Based industry professionals, enthusiasts, and students to gather. The GeoCommunity is by far THE leading GIS online portal and daily publication re - GeoData.gov

"Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data under the Geospatial One-Stop E-Government initiative..." - Geography Network

"[A] global network of geographic information users and providers. It provides the infrastructure needed to support the sharing of geographic information among data providers, service providers, and users around the world..." - GeoSpatial Data Gateway

"The Gateway provides One Stop Shopping for natural resources or environmental data at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. [A]llows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, ..." - GISuser.com
"... Geospatial, Geo-technology, and GIS news resource for the GIS Technology user & mapping professional - THE most comprehensive, current, and information-rich resource for the GIS, mapping, GPS, geopositioning, the GeoWeb 2.0, and geospatial tech..." - GISuser Geospatial (GIS) Search Engine

Google Custom Search: "Geospatial search for GIS, mapping, and geospatial technology professionals..." - Libre Map Project

"View the entire list of USGS Digital Raster Graphic Maps for all 50 states." - National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000." - National Map Seamless Server, USGS

"The National Map Seamless Server is the ultimate location to explore and retrieve data. U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the EROS Data Center (EDC) are committed to providing access to geospatial data through The National Map..." - National Map, USGS
"The National Map is a consistent framework for geographic knowledge needed by the Nation. It provides public access to high-quality, geospatial data and information..." - Starting the hunt ...

Guide to Mostly On-Line and Mostly Free U.S. Geospatial and Attribute Data - State GIS Data
50 state directory of GIS clearinghouse sites. GISDataDepot.com -- THE leading provider of On-Line GIS Data. - TerraServer USA

"The TerraServer-USA Web site is one of the world's largest online databases, providing free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States..."
California Based University Sponsored GIS Programs
CSU SF
CalState GIS Specialty Center (at SFSU)
Institute for Geographic Information Science
Humboldt
Digital Spatial Data: Internet Data
Stanford U
Geographic Information Systems. Stanford U Libraries
UC Berkeley
Berkeley/Penn Urban & Environmental Modeler's Datakit
Earth Sciences & Map Library-UCB
Geographic Information Science Center, UCB
GIS in the Earth Sciences & Map Library, UCB
REGIS: Environmental Planning GIS | Berkeley Inst. of the Environment
UC Davis
GIS - Government Information and Maps
UC Irvine
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Subject Guide
Mapping Virtual Reference Using GIS
Social Science Data Subject Guide
UC Los Angeles
UC Riverside
UCR Extension - Geospatial Tech Academic-Year Certificate
Geospatial Analysis & Tech Programs
UC San Diego
GIS: Data, Government and Geographic Information Systems
UC Santa Barbara
Alexandria Digital Library Project, UCSB
National Center for Geographic Information & Analysis (NCGIA)
UC Santa Cruz
Atlas of Global Inequality
USC
INTERNATIONAL
- Africa Data Dissemination

" The Goal of the Famine Early Warning Systems Network (FEWS NET) is to strengthen the abilities of foreign countries and regional organizations to manage risk of food insecurity through the provision of timely and analytical early warning ..." - Antarctic Digital Database

"The Antarctic Digital database (ADD) is a compilation of medium scale topographic data for the continent of Antarctica. It is derived from a wide variety of sources, and aims to provide the best currently available data in all areas..." - Central Africal Regional Program for the Environment
CARPE's objective "is to reduce the rate of forest degradation and loss of biodiversity in the Congo Basin by increasing local, national, and regional natural resource management capacity." - Country Index, DataDepot
"DataDepot.com -- THE leading provider of On-Line GIS Data... All the currently available data that is freely downloadable can be found in the Countywide areas..." - Digital Chart of the World Server
"The Digital Chart of the World (DCW) is an Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc. (ESRI) product originally developed for the US Defense Mapping Agency (DMA) using DMA data..." - ESRI ESRI has downloadable data sets on their website, which may be downloaded for free or for a fee. Some highlights include: ESRI World BaseMap Data; FEMA Q3 Flood Data; Census 2000 TIGER/Line Data.
- GeoBase [CANADA]

[A] federal, provincial and territorial government initiative overseen by the Canadian Council on Geomatics ... to ensure the provision of, and access to, a common, up-to-date and maintained base of quality geospatial data for all of Canada..." - GeoConnections [CANADA]
The Discovery Portal is an initiative which is a key access component of the Canadian Geospatial Data Infrastructure (CGDI)... The Discovery Portal is designed and built to enable geospatial resource discovery, evaluation and access." - GeoGratis [CANADA]
"GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data at no cost via your Web browser..." - Geoscience [AUSTRALIA]
"Geoscience Australia's Free Data Downloads are provided under the Australian Government Spatial Data Access and Pricing Policy..." - Go-Geo! [UNITED KINGDOM]
"Go-Geo! The place to discover geospatial information and services for those in education and research..." - Gridded Population of the World, version 3 (GPWv3) and the Global Rural-Urban Mapping Project (GRUMP)

"... [T]he latest developments in the rendering of human populations in a common geo-referenced framework, produced by the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) of the Earth Institute at Columbia University." - Russian Federation Digital Data, WAGDA

WAGDA includes Russian Federation Digital Data. See ? for further details. - Southern Africa Regional Science Initiative (SAFARI)

"... [A]n international science initiative to study the linkages between land and atmosphere processes in the southern African region. .." - United Nations Environment Programme / Global Resource Information Database (UNEP/GRID) Spatial Data Clearinghouse Downloadable GIS worldwide dataset for population, administrative boundaries, terrain, soil, and vegetation.
Subject Guide |
Brian Williams, JD MSLS![]() |
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
Subject Guide |
Tony Lin141 Langson Library
Irvine, CA 92623-9557
Phone (949)824-3509
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Business
delicious gis_resources
librarians trying to help you navigate the gis resource world's bookmarks

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait