Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)  Tags: gis geographic_information_system esri census mapping  

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/gis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Maps             Print Page
  
 

GEOREF

Georef UCI access only
Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The database includes references to all the publications of the U S Geological Survey. Areas of coverage include all forms of geology, and hydrology.

 

Printed Maps

•  USGS Topographic and minerals maps
The Langson Library has a small collection of topographic and minerals maps for the western United States. The USGS topo maps for Arizona, California, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington are arranged by state and then by map title name in the Maps and Atlas Area on the first floor of Langson Library. They are not cataloged and cannot be located through ANTPAC. Minerals maps and maps from other government publications are cataloged and located in the map cases of the Maps and Atlas Area.
•  Definitions and glossaries
•  What is a Topographic Map? hosted by USGS
•  Glossaries of GIS and map terms hosted by ESRI
•  Online indexes to find topo map names:
•  GeoMart
Formerly Carolina Map Distributors
•  Maplink
•  Map Dealers
•  Allied Maps Services
This is a very good Orange County map dealer.
info@alliedmaps.com
966 N MAIN ST
ORANGE, CA 92867
Phone:               714.532.4300       
Phone:               714.532.4337       
Fax: 714.538.0384 (Orders only)
Open Monday thru Friday - 10 A.M TO 6 P.M.
•  Eastview Cartographic
East View Cartographic (EVC), located in Minneapolis, MN, is a leading provider of maps and geospatial data from around the world.
•  Map Link
Map Link of Santa Barbara, maintains stock from nearly every commercial map publishing company in the world and stocks official government topographic mapping for those countries that allow the purchase of these important titles.
•  Omini Resources
Omni Resources is a major distributor of maps, globes, and teaching materials. They offer maps for nearly all countries and regions of the world, including topographic at various scales.
•  California Mines and Geology (California Geological Survey)
Part of these maps are cataloged with a CALDOC number, and searchable on ANTPAC. Others maps are uncataloged and are shelved in the uncataloged portion of the California Documents Collection. Both the cataloged and the uncataloged maps are located in the California Documents Collection of the basement level of the Langson Library.
•  Central Intelligence Agency Maps
These are one page color maps of the countries and regions of the world. These are very basic maps in a 8.5 x 11 format with very few features. They are located in the U.S. Government Collection (PREX 2.10/4: ) basement level of the Langson Library. There are also, large format maps located in the Map Cases on the 1st floor of Langson Library.
 

Atlases

Printed Atlases (selected)

Atlases are a collection of maps in a book. Atlases may be gathered together by subject or for a particular geographic location i.e. historical atlas, or a county such as China. Atlases can be located in ANTPAC by searching by Keyword or Subject and the term "atlas".

•  Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
Call number: Langson Library Map and Atlas Area G 1019 R235
•  California State Water Atlas
Call number: Langson Library Map and Atlas Area G1526 C3 C3 1999
Online Atlases (selected)
•  Arizona Electronic Atlas
An innovative interactive atlas that allows you to create, manipulate, and download accurate and current maps and data. Create your own map using these map themes: Natural Resources, People and Society, Business and Economics, and People and Environment.
•  Digital Atlas of California
By Professor William Bowen of the Department of Geography, California State University, Northridge.
•  Environmental Maps-EPA
Online environmental maps can be found in the various topics within the EPA site. Quick Finder will better direct your search.
•  Historical Atlas of Canada- University of Toronto
•  National Atlas of Canada
•  The National Atlas- United States
Provides a showcase of the geospatial data collected by the Federal government and provides the opportunity to make maps.
•  Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe from 001 AD to 2000
 
 

Searching @ UCI

Searching for Maps at UCI

The UCI Langson Library has a small collection of printed maps, atlases, and aerial photographs of Orange County. Some of the printed maps are cataloged and included in ANTPAC, the Library's online catalog. Other maps are uncataloged. These may be located in the map cases in the Map and Atlas Area on the 1st floor of the Langson Library or they are part of publications in the government publications collections on the Basement Level of the Langson Library. For more information consult the Maps and Atlases section of this website.

Cataloged maps, atlases, and aerial photographs can be located in ANTPAC by searching either by Subject or Keyword and include the words "map", "atlas" or "aerial", as appropriate. Place or geographic names can be searched as Keywords and the term "map".

 

Online Maps

MAP AND CARTOGRAPHY COLLECTIONS
•  Alexandria Digital Library (California Digital Library)
Collection provides geospatial data and metadata in digital data. Coverage is worldwide but concentrated on Southern California. Digital series in the collection include: DEMs, DRGs, scanned aerial photographs, Landsat TM, and seismic datasets.
•  California Geological Survey
Information on map and digital products are available. Many of the older maps and publications are located in the Langson California Government Information Collection and can be located by searching ANTPAC.
•  Cartographic Images
Includes images and descriptions of early maps, as well as links to other cartographic resources. Maps are organized into the following chronological groups: Ancient Maps, Early Medieval Maps, Late Medieval Maps, and Renaissance Maps.
•  Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps
Worldwide coverage, compiled by Claire Englander and Philip Hoehn.
•  The David Rumsey Collection
Online historic maps beautifully scanned and imaged. California and worldwide coverage.
•  Global Newsbank
Contains maps of various countries that can be downloaded. These are static maps.
•  Google Earth
Combines the power of Google Search with satellite imagery, maps, terrain and 3D buildings to put the world's geographic information at your fingertips.
•  Hargrett Library, University of Georgia, Rare Map Images
A collection of more than 800 historic maps spanning from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century. The collection features the minds and movements of early American explorers, revolutionary statesmen, cultural figures and politicians with an emphasis on the Stat of Georgia and the surrounding region.
•  Historic Atlas and Map Valuation and Conservation
A list of Web resources, provided by Stanford University, for appraising antiquarian maps and atlases.
•  Historic Cities
A joint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library.
•  History of Cartography Project from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
The History of Cartography Project is a research, editorial, and publishing venture drawing international attention to the history of maps and mapping. The History of Cartography looks at maps in the context of the societies that made and used them and is organized by region and time period.
•  Land Case Maps in the Bancroft Library
A Guide to the maps of private land grant cases of California is available online, through the Online Archive of California (OAC). The maps in this collection accompanied private land claim cases in the U.S. Northern and Southern District Courts (ca. 1850-ca. 1890) and were used by California-Mexican land owners to establish legal claims to property.
•  Le Monde Diplomatique Map Collection
A political look at territory provides many online thematic maps from around the world, and their Middle East maps focus on issues of the Near East and northern Africa.
•  Map Collections- Library of Congress
The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
•  Map History / History of Cartography - THE Gateway to the Subject
Contains information and links for old and early maps. Use this site to find worthwhile information about old maps, both on the web and in the real world. The site's 100 'pages' offer comment and guidance, and 4,500 annotated links - selected for relevance and quality.
•  Maplink- USGS Topographic Quadrangle Index Maps Online
Indexes to the 1:250,000-, 1:100,000-, and 1:24,000-scale USGS topo quads.
•  Maps and References- University of Iowa
A large list of links, including online maps, atlases, glossaries and much more, provided by University of Iowa's Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research.
•  Microsoft TerraServer
Microsoft/U.S. Geological Survey joint project to display detailed air photos, topographic and shaded relief maps online.
•  National Geologic Map Database- USGS
A searchable index and state geological survey geologic maps.
•  Natural Resources Canada: Maps
•  Odden's Bookmarks
Links to over 20,000 map and cartographic resources, searchable by subject, country, or category.
• 

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Amazing University of Texas Austin online maps archive.

•  Ryhiner Map Collection, project of the University Library of Berne
Includes the catalog and a digital archive of some of its 16th-18th century maps.
•  SCAMP Southern California Areal Mapping Project USGS
Santa Ana 30' x 60' Quadrangle a starting place to find technical resources and general information about southern California geology.
•  Soil Survey Manuscripts
An online collection of maps providing access to Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) soil survey information.
•  Southern California Wetlands Inventory
Database of existing information on 42 coastal wetlands between Mexico and Pt. Conception in Santa Barbara County. Three types of information are provided for each site: Maps of the wetland's historical extent, Map of recent habitat distributions, and a "profile" of ecological conditions and land use. Site created by Coastal Convervancy, and CERES.
•  TopoZone
Web's first interactive topographic map of the entire United States.
•  University of California Map Collections
From this site one can learn about map collections at other UC libraries and explore their unrestricted recourses. Material can be borrowed by UCI faculty, students, and staff either through Interlibrary Loan Services, or by
•  Yvonne Wilson
Government Information Librarian (              949-824-7362       ) or
•  Julia Gelfand
Applied Sciences Librarian (              949-824-4971       ).
•  University of Waterloo
Cartographic information sources. Includes links for
maps, charts, remote sensing images, and other spatial data.
•  USGS Geography
Includes information on map products, aerial photography, geospatial data, and educational resources.
•  U. S. Bureau of Land Management
Provides access to maps for the 264 million acres of America’s public domain and parks administered by the Bureau.
•  United States Maps- Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection
Contains U.S. historical maps, maps of national parks, metropolitan areas, and political boundary maps.
•  ZIP Code Geography and Mapping
Information and links compiled by Greg Hajic, UC Santa Barbara.
TRANSPORTATION, ROAD MAP SITES AND DRIVING DIRECTIONS
•  GoogleMaps 
•  Los Angeles Transportation Links
•  Mapquest
•  Maps on Us
•  Michelin Maps-Driving Directions for Europe
•  Orange County Transit Authority
Includes transit route maps and bus information.
•  Yahoo Maps
Weather Maps
•  National Weather Map from CNN
•  Weather Channel
•  Weather Underground
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrian Williams, JD MSLS


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email

Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society

Subject Guide

Profile ImageTony Lin
Contact Info:
141 Langson Library
Irvine, CA 92623-9557

Phone (949)824-3509
Send Email

Subjects:
Research Librarian for Business

 

Gazetteers

Online gazetteers (selected)
•  Canadian Geographical Names Database
Provides a searchable database for Canadian geographic names.
•  Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
•  GEOnet Names Server(GNS)
Provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) database of foreign geographic feature names. Information in this database has been used to prepare and publish the series of foreign country gazetteers approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (US BGN).
•  Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
The Getty Information Institute's database contains 900,000 places arranged in a hierarchical structure, representing all nations of the modern world.
•  Jepson Place Name Index California
Place names that are used on specimens in the Jepson Herbarium.
•  Place Name Servers on the Internet
A listing from Arizona State University.
•  U.S. Geographic Names and Information System (GNIS)
The authority on names in the United States. Site provides access to a variety of online geographic information for each name including DRG, DOQ, watershed and a connection to TopoZone map copies.
•  World Gazetteer
Provides a comprehensive set of population data and related statistics.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait