Orange County
- Center for Demographic Research (CDR)
A non-profit research center dedicated to the development and support of demographic research. Mission: to provide accurate and timely information regarding population, housing and employment characteristics in an efficient and cost-effective manner... - City of Irvine The City of Irvine GIS/Mapping program is designed to provide maps and parcel data to city departments and the public.
- City of Newport Beach
Site contains an interactive city map and a catalog of maps of various geographic and political divisions in the city. - Orange County GIS from Geo Community Site offers various county level GIS files.
- Orange County Public Facilities and Resources Department-Geomatics and Land Information Systems (G.L.I.S.)
The Geomatics and Land Information Systems Division offers a network of information gathering equipment for land measurement and makes this information available to the public in a variety of formats.
Southern California
- California Geographical Survey - CSU Northridge Sponsored by the CSUN Geography Department, this site contains links to the Electronic Map Library, Digital Map Bases, and U.S. Census archives.
- SANDAG (San Diego Association of Governments Maps and GIS) Site contains data used in regional planning in the San Diego region. Contains downloadable digital boundary files and layers in GIS format, an interactive map, and printed maps for sale that can be downloaded free of cost.
- Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG)
Functions as the Metropolitan Planning Organization for six counties in Southern California (Los Angeles, Orange, Ventura, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Imperial). - SCAG Interactive Atlas
Use the atlas to browse and print maps of socio-economic, demographic, and boundary data from the scale of a single neighborhood to the entire SCAG region.
California Based University Sponsored GIS Programs
CSU SF
CalState GIS Specialty Center (at SFSU)
Institute for Geographic Information Science
Humboldt
Digital Spatial Data: Internet Data
Stanford U
Geographic Information Systems. Stanford U Libraries
UC Berkeley
Berkeley/Penn Urban & Environmental Modeler's Datakit
Earth Sciences & Map Library-UCB
Geographic Information Science Center, UCB
GIS in the Earth Sciences & Map Library, UCB
REGIS: Environmental Planning GIS | Berkeley Inst. of the Environment
UC Davis
GIS - Government Information and Maps
UC Los Angeles
UC Riverside
UCR Extension - Geospatial Tech Academic-Year Certificate
Geospatial Analysis & Tech Programs
UC San Diego
GIS: Data, Government and Geographic Information Systems
UC Santa Barbara
Alexandria Digital Library Project, UCSB
National Center for Geographic Information & Analysis (NCGIA)
UC Santa Cruz
Atlas of Global Inequality
USC
California
|
Online GIS data sets
|
|||||
|
Data sets come in a variety of formats. Some are straight data that require special software to be converted into data useful for GIS. Other data must be used with a specific GIS software such as ArcGIS by ESRI. While others may come packaged with their own software. Below are selected sites for data useful for GIS. Emphasis has been placed on local and regional services. |
|||||
- Association of Bay Area Governments
A regional planning agency working to solve problems for the region's 100 cities and 9 counties in the areas of land use, housing, environmental quality, transportation and economic development. - California Demographics (California Department of Finance)
The Demographic Research Unit of the California Department of Finance is designated as the single official source of demographic data for state planning and budgeting. - California Dept of Conservation. Farmland Mapping and Monitoring Program (FMMP)
The Farmland Mapping and Monitoring Program (FMMP) produces maps and statistical data used for analyzing impacts on California’s agricultural resources... - California Dept of Fish and Game Data Portal
The California Department of Fish and Game’s Data Portal provides a single point of entry to data sources which serve the needs of the Resources Management and Policy Division. Includes bathymetry, hydrological data, biological data, and more. - California Dept of Forestry and Fire Protection, Fire and Resource Assessment Program (FRAP GIS Data) FRAP provides technical and public information for statewide fire threat, fire hazard, watersheds, socio-economic conditions, environmental indicators, and forest-related climate change.
- California Digital Atlas Combines data sets in the areas of terrestrial biodiversity, aquatic biodiversity, urban open space and rural recreation, working landscapes, stressors, and land conservation to provide a comprehensive mapping of California's natural resources.
- California Earthquakes - Shakemaps - USGS Earthquake Center
Current, downloadable ground motion maps in GIS format from USGS. - California Environmental Information Catalog (CEIC)
The CEIC uses the CERES Catalog as an online directory for reporting and discovery of spatial data resources for California. - California Gap Analysis Project To develop a GIS database of land cover, wildlife habitats, predicted distributions of native wildlife species, and land stewardship and management. The project was done at UCSB in 1998 as part of the national gap analysis project.
- California Geological Survey Information on map and digital products are available. Many of the older maps and publications are located in the Langson California Government Information Collection.
- California Geological Survey Seismic Hazard Zonation Program (SHZP) Data Access Page To assist cities and counties in fulfilling their responsibilities for protecting the public safety from the effects of earthquake-triggered ground failure as required by the Seismic Hazards Mapping Act.
- California Land Use Planning Information Network (LUPIN) The purpose of LUPIN is to compile an aggregate view of California's land use and environmental planning information. Includes city and county zoning ordinances, environmental assessment data, spatial data, county and city general plans, regional plans, e
- California Resources Evaluation System (CERES) An Interface for finding and downloading Digital Raster Graphics (DRG) made available online by the California Spatial Information Library (CaSIL). USGS 7.5 Minute Digital Raster Graphics By County.
- California Rivers Assessment Interactive Web Database
This database was initiated by the California Resources Agency to provide a computerized forum for collecting, storing, analyzing, exchanging and retrieving river-related resource data. - California Spatial Information Library - CaSIL Web Portal The California Mapping Coordinating Committee (CMCC) is in the process of developing a series of GIS-related web pages to provide information on State government GIS activities, access to statewide GIS data, and links to the larger Cal GIS community ...
- California Spatial Information Library - CaSIL Data Collections CaSIL is an active online repository of California geospatial data. CaSIL provides free access to geospatial data and metadata for the State of California, with special emphasis on natural resources.
- California State Lands Commission Includes geographic information on state coastlines and fisheries in ArcInfo export files (*.e00), plus links to other California GIS data sites.
- California State University GIS Specialty Center [CSU SF] The CSU GIS Specialty Center was established in 1992 to promote geographic information systems (GIS) and geographic techniques for spatial analysis within the California State University System.
- California Statewide Database Contains downloadable census data including Census 2000 block geography, Assembly, Congressional, County and precinct files. File formats: ArcInfo, MapInfo, Maptitude. UC Regents developed this site.
- California Vegetation Map Catalog Includes vegetation map data sets that cover the entire state or specific parts of the state, with an emphasis on county-level or larger data sets. Created through a collaboration of California Fish and Game and UC Davis.
- Portal to U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service Hosts the electronic versions of soil surveys. California data can be downloaded in Arc/INFO format files. Includes crop yield information, soil interpretation ratings, and plant composition and percentage.
- U.S. Fish And Wildlife Service Data for California
The data sets listed below are for larger scale data (1:24:000 up to 1:500,000) for the state of Cal. Data created by or maintained by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is shown in the first table with links to the metadata and data where possible...
OTHER STATE GIS RESOURCES
All States: Data Depot's State List
Subject Guide |
Brian Williams, JD MSLS![]() |
Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society
Subject Guide |
Tony Lin141 Langson Library
Irvine, CA 92623-9557
Phone (949)824-3509
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Business
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait