* UC Irvine access only
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013
- Crime Reports
Created to help law enforcement agencies put crime data in the hands of citizens. CR standardizes the way law enforcement agencies communicate crime data to the public, down to the specific neighborhood or block they live on
- Google Earth
"[f]ly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings and even explore galaxies in the Sky. You can explore rich geographical content, save your toured places and share with others..."
- Google Maps
Provides directions, interactive maps, and satellite aerial imagery of the United States. On May 25, 2007, Google released Street View, which provides 360° panoramic street-level views of various U.S. cities.
- LAPD Crime Map
LAPD Crime Maps - Get up-to-date crime statistics for neighborhoods throughout Los Angeles. Being informed about crime in your community is the first step in preventing future occurrences.
- MapServer, University of Minnesota
MapS is an Open Source development environment for building spatially-enabled internet app. MapS is not a full-featured GIS system, nor does it aspire to be. Instead, MapS excels at rendering spatial data (maps, images, and vector data) for the web"
- National Map (USGS)
The National Map, the USGS' online, interactive map service. You can view The National Map by using your Web browser (no special software or download required).
SocialExplorer provides access to demographic information about the U.S. from 1940 to 2000. A free version of the SocialExploer platform is available to create interactive demographic maps and reports for Census 2000 data.
- Terraserver-USA (Microsoft)
The TerraServer-USA Web site is one of the world's largest online databases, providing free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States.
- LandScan Global Population Database* | 2000-current
The LandScan Global Population Database, developed by the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), is the world’s most accurate and reliable, geographically based, distribution model and finest resolution global population database. LandScan is the industry standard for global population
- United States Census Bureau, Maps & Data
Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.
- American Factfinder | U.S. Census Bureau
An online application that provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing and businesses.
"Esri is a software development and services company providing Geographic Information System (GIS) software and geodatabase management ... A geographic information system (GIS) lets us visualize, question, analyze, interpret, and understand data to reveal relationships, patterns, and trends..."
Your one stop for federal, state and local geographic data.
- Geographic Information Systems, USGS
A USGS Poster Session on GIS Basics: "Geographic information system (GIS) technology can be used for scientific investigations, resource management, and development planning..."
- GIS Dictionary
"Includes terms from GIS operations such as analysis, data management, and geocomputation; from rapidly evolving uses of GIS for modeling, GIScience, and Web-based GIS; ...
- GIS Lounge
GIS Lounge is a GIS information portal. The purpose of this site is to provide introductory text for issues relating to GIS as well as pointers to further information.
Please contact any of the following about GIS Services and Resources at UCI:
Social Science Data Librarian
Education & Outreach
Criminology, Law & Society
U.S. & California Government Information