Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only

Asian Studies  Tags: east_asia china japan korea  

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/asian_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

The EA Collection             Print Page
  
 

Collections

•  Regular Monographs/Series (Langson East Asian) and References (Langson East Asian Ref)
East Asian reference materials and most monographs and series are located on the first floor of Langson Library. They can be located using the floorplan at http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langson1st.pdf
•  Monographs and Series (Langson East Asian Basement)
A few big sets with the AC classification (e.g., 四库全书 Si Ku Quan Shu) are located in the basement along with bound EA periodicals due to the space shortage. They can be located using the floorplan at http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langsonbsmt.pdf
•  Oversize Materials (East Asian Oversize)
Oversize East Asian materials are shelved in the basement of Langson Library. They can be located by using the floorplan at http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langsonbsmt.pdf
•  Periodicals/Newspapers
Current issues are available in the Current Periodicals Room, second floor (Lobby Level) of Langson Library. They can be located by using the floorplan at http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langson2nd.pdf. The list of current periodical/newspaper titles can be found at https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/EA_cpr_2007.pdf?uniq=-ffkge3
Back periodical issues are located as bound volumes in the basement of Langson Library. They can be located by using the floorplan at http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langsonbsmt.pdf
•  Other East Asian Materials
East Asian Multimedia, including films, in DVDs, VHS and other formats are available in the Multimedia Resource Center (MRC), first floor of Langson Library. See the right side of the page for updated lists of Chinese, Japanese and Korean multimedia at MRC.
Additionally, East Asian materials in the microfilm format are located in the First Floor Microforms Area of Langson Library. They can be located using the floorplan at http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langson1st.pdf
Special Collection on the fifth floor of Langson Library (http://www.lib.uci.edu/images/langson5th.pdf) also has East Asian materials. Some of them have not been cataloged. The uncataloged EA materials at Special Collection are listed at https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/SpecColl_uncat_07.pdf?uniq=m7ival.
Currently, we have subscriptions to many online resources which can be found and accessed from this subject guide and Antpac, the UCI Libraries' online catalog.
 

Services

•  East Asian Studies Reference Service
The Research Librarian for Asian Studies can be reached via email at yingz@uci.edu, phone at (949)824-0489, or office visit (Langson Room 466). Office Hours: 9am-5pm. Appointment is recommended.
•  East Asian Collection Contact Information
Telephone numbers: (949) 824-0489
Fax numbers: (949) 824-2542 (Interlibrary Loan office); (949) 824-0605 (Department of Collection Development).
E-mail: yingz@uci.edu
Offices: Langson Library Room 109, 466 (main)
 

Foundation of the Collection

•  Chinese Materials
•  Academia Sinica Collection
Scholarly publications by the various research institutes of the Academia in Taiwan procured through a gift-exchange program.
•  Contemporary Authors Autographs Collection
A limited edition of major works by 100 contemporary Chinese authors with their signatures. A gift from the UCI Library Friends.
•  Chung-lu Wang Collection
Some 8,000 Chinese books, most of them in traditional thread-stitched binding, donated by the family members of the late Professor Chung-lu Wang of Shan-tung University, China.
•  The Ni Tse Collection on I Ching Studies
Donated by the family of the late Professor Ni Tseh of Cornell University, the collection contains some 2,000 volumes of texts, commentaries, exegeses, concordances, essays and lectures, and other monographic studies on the topic of I Ching (Yijing), or the Book of Changes. Approximately 900 volumes of rare books were published in the Ming and Ching dynasties in China and before the Taisho period in Japan. The rare editions are housed in Special Collections in the Langson Library. The rest of the collection, divided by language, has been cataloged and processed for the East Asian and Langson Library book stacks. A selective list can be found at https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/I-Ching_0308.xls?uniq=o8hrl7
•  Japanese Materials
•  Japan Foundation Collection
A highly focused collection of research texts and reference works selected by the faculty and acquired through grants provided by the Japan Foundation.
•  Noma Collection
An on-going project donated by Mrs. Sawako Noma of Kodansha Publishers in Tokyo. The collection covers monographic and serial publications on a wide-range of subjects with an emphasis on literature and cultural studies. Our holdings include Shukan Shonen Megajin (The Youth Magazine), a unique weekly title, and Gendai Monthly, of which UCI owns the most complete backfile of this title in any American academic library.
•  Terashima Collection
Consisting of over 5,000 volumes, the collection is particularly strong in literature, literary criticism, cultural history, and historical documents. A gift from Mrs. Jane Terashima who was the executor of the will of the late Professor Shoichi Terashima of Konan University, Kobe, Japan.
•  Korean Materials
•  Korea Foundation Collection
A highly selective collection of current Korean publications provided by the Korea Foundation on a regular basis.
•  Nak-chung Paik Collection
A collection of some 600 volumes of monographic works on Korean literature, history, and the social sciences, as well as recent issues of journals. A gift from Professor Nak-chung Paik of the Seoul National University, the publisher of Changjak-kwa-bipyong (Creation and Criticism Company).
•  Daesan Foundation Collection
This collection was purchased in 2001 through a grant provided by Daesan Foundation and contains some 700 volumes of current Korean publications in the fields of history, literature, and cultural and social studies. Approximately one quarter of the collection is made up of monographic series.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageYing Zhang


Contact Info:
Office: 466 Langson Library
Phone: (949) 824-0489
Fax: (949)824-0605
Send Email

 

EA Multimedia Collection

 

Print EA Periodicals

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait