General Asian Studies
Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia *
an online version of the Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by David Levinson and Karen Christenson (Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2002).
Statistics
- World Development Indicators *
is a complete and authoritative collection of statistics on countries, regions, and economic groupings of the world, as collected and presented by the World Bank. - AsiaProfile [Asia Society, New York]
Biographies
- AsiaExperts [Asia Society, New York]
- Japanese, Chinese, and Korean Surnames and How to Read Them
Call number: Langson Library Reference: PL683 H33 1998
Places, Calendars, and More
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World *
A comprehensive encyclopedia of names, features, and detailed information for geographical places and physical and/or cultural features. - Digital Ancient Asia Maps by Westners (Osaka University)
- Ancient/Classical History (Timelines)
- Twentieth-century China, an annotated bibliography of reference works in Chinese, Japanese, and western languages / James H. Cole Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, c2004 Langson Library Stacks: Z1035.8.C5 T84 2004 V.1 & V.2
Chinese Studies
Dictionaries
- 漢語大字典 Han Yu Da Zi Dian
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL1420 .H3494 1986
The most comprehensive Chinese dictionary so far with 54,678 unique active Chinese characters - 漢語大詞典 Han Yu Da Ci Dian
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL1420 .H375 2001 v.-- - 现代汉语词典 : 汉英双语 = The contemporary chinese dictionary : Chinese-English edition
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL1420 .X535 2002
A good quality dictionary with up-to-date Chinese vocabularies annotated in both Chinese and English - 学中文 MDBG English-Chinese Dictionary
with both traditional and simplified Chinese - 线上中文工具 On-line Chinese Tool
In English and traditional Chinese - 林语堂当代汉英词典 Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage (Lin Yutang)
- Chinese Character Dictionary
- ABC Chinese-English Dictionary
Call number: Langson Library Reference: PL1455 A24 1996
Encyclopedias
- 阿帕比(Apabi)中国工具书资源全文数据库系统 *
Provides full-text search and access to nearly 500 titles of Chinese dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, and indexes. Please go to https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/Apabi_Ref_0608.pdf?uniq=o198c5 to view the entire title list.
To view full-texts, users must download and install Apabi Reader from the Web site. - 中国大百科全书 Zhongguo Da Bai Ke Quan Shu = [Encyclopedia Sinica]
Call number: Langson EA Ref AE17.C48 1980
This is the first large scale real encyclopedia set in Chinese publishing history. It has 74 volumes, 80,000 (round) entries, 12.6 billion Chinese characters in total, and covers 66 subjects in social sciences, arts, humanities, sciences, and engineering areas. The Web version allows free view of the first 200~600 characters of each entry. - Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture
Call number: Langson Library Reference: DS705 .P47 1999
Statistics
- China Data Online 中国数据在线 *
Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China
The database text is bilingual (Chinese and English). - 阿帕比(Apabi)中国年鉴资源全文数据库 *
Provides full-text search and access to nearly 50 titles of yearbooks from China, such as 中国统计年鉴, 中国民政统计年鉴, 中国基本单位统计年鉴, 中国国内生产总值核算历史资料, 中国教育经费统计年鉴, 中国物价年鉴, 中国农村统计年鉴, 中国文学年鉴, and 中国教育年鉴. Year coverage varies among titles. Please go to https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/Apabi_Yearbook_0608.pdf?uniq=o198cb to view the entire title list.
To access full-texts, you have to download and install Apabi Reader from the Apabi Web site. - China, Facts and Figures, Annual Book
Call number: Langson Library Reference: DS779.15 C48 v.27 2002
Biographies
- 中国人物库 from ChinaInfoBank
Collects brief biographical information from more than 800 publications. - 中国传统文化人物 at SHTVU
Provides brief biographical sketches organized under 11 categories, such as 醫學人物, 古代語文學家, 古代經學家, etc. - 人名權威資料 (明清檔案)
The project of 中央研究院歷史語言研究所 provides biographical information with detailed citations for Chinese and Manchus during Ming - Qing dynasties. A click on "GIS" by 籍貫 would bring a historical map of the biographee's birth place. - China Vitae 中国名人录
The online biographical database provides biographies (in English) of current Chinese political, military, economic, business, and academic leaders. - 二十五史人名大辞典
Call number: Langson EA Ref DS735.A2 E695 1997 v.1 & v.2 - 歷代名人生卒錄
Call number: Langson EA Ref DS734 .Q527 2002
Places, Calendars, and More
- 中国古代地名大词典
Dictionary on ancient Chinese place names. Only a limited no. of browses and searches are allowed for non-subscribers. - China Historical Geographical Information System (GIS) from Harvard University
A database of historical administrative units for different periods in Chinese History, which provide a base GIS platform for researchers to use for spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps. - 中华文明之时空基础构架 Chinese Civilization in Time and Space
"an integrated GIS-based application infrastructure within the spatial extent of China, in the timeframe of Chinese history, and with the contents of Chinese civilization"--the Web site - 地名權威資料庫 - Place Authority Database
"Information on place names from Buddhist sources with latitude and longitude. KML output."--Web site - 時間權威資料庫- Time Authority Database
"A comprehensive database of Chinese calendar dates between the start of the Qin dynasty 16th Nov. 221 to the end of the Qing dynasty 18th Jan. 1912 CE."--Web site - 中国古今地名大词典 = Zhongguo gujindiming dacidian
Call number: Langson EA Ref DS705 .Z4645 2005 v.1, v.2 & v.3 - 中国地名演变手册 : 1912年以来省市县新老地名
Call number: Langson EA Ref DS705 .Z46 2001 - Conversion between Chinese and Gregorian calendars
Bibliographies
- 中國叢書知見錄
Call number: Z1033.S5 S45 2005 v.1-6 - Classified Bibliography of Reference Works on Chinese Historical Geography
Supports Big-5 or UTF-8 Chinese display - Introduction to Research in Chinese Source Materials
Call number: Langson Library Reference: Z3101 C66 2000
Japanese Studies
Dictionaries
- 日本国語大辞典Nihon Kokugo Daijiten *
Call number: Langson EA REF PL675 .N46 2000 v.-- - デジタル大辞泉(小学館) *
Print version call number: Langson EA Ref PL675 .D342 1995
The Web version from JapanKnowledge is updated regularly. - 大漢和辞典 Dai Kan-Wa jiten
Call number: Langson EA REF PL681.C5 M6 1987 v.--
This is a classic Japanese reference dictionary on Chinese characters. - ランダムハウス英和大辞典 第2版(小学館)from JapanKnowledge *
- プログレッシブ英和中辞典 第4版(小学館) from JapanKnowledge *
- プログレッシブ和英中辞典 第3版(小学館)from JapanKnowledge *
- Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Japanese Dictionary
- The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary 新版ネルソン漢英辞典
Call number: Langson Library Reference: PL677.5 S54 1997 - Kodansha’s basic English-Japanese Dictionary 日常日本語バイリンガル辞典 (講談社)
Call number: Langson Library Reference: PL679 M35 1999
Encyclopedias
- Japan Knowledge 知識探索サイト:Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Databases *
- 大百科事典 Dai Hyakka Jiten
Call number: Langson East Asian Ref AE35.2 .D3 1931 v.-- - Japan Encyclopedia
Call number: Langson Library Reference: DS821 F73 2002 - Japan : an illustrated encyclopedia (Kodansha) *
Print version call number: Langson Library DS805 .J263 1993
Statistics
- 日本政府統計データ。ポータルサイ
- 日本統計年鑑 = Japan statistical yearbook
Call number: EA BD PER HA1832.J36 1964~ With gaps. Issues before 1980 are held at Langson BD PER - China, Facts and Figures, Annual Book
Call number: Langson Library Reference: DS779.15 C48 v.27 2002 - 統計資料レファレンス・ガイド Reference Guide to Japanese Statistical Materials by National Diet Library
Biographies
- 日本人名大辞典Nihon jinmei daijiten from JapanKnowledge *
Update monthly - 20世紀日本人名事典 = Major 20th-century people in Japan : a biographical dictionary
Call number: Langson EA Ref CT203.J3 A15 2004 v.1 & v.2 - 日本人名大事典 (平凡社, 1979)
Call number: Langson EA REF CT1836 .N48 1986 v. --
Places, Calendars, and More
- 角川日本地名大辞典=Kadokawa Nihon chimei daijiten
Call number: Langson EA Ref DS805 .K27 1991 v.1~v.47 - Japanese Historical Maps *
Collects 2,300 early maps of Japan and the world. Special software (Luna Insight) needs to be downloaded from http://www.imageservice.cdlib.org/insight.html and installed on local computers for using the database. - 日本史年表
- Year Conversion: Nengo Dates (from Meiji to Heisei)
Bibliographies
- 日本文学研究文献要覧: 現代日本文学
Call number: Z3308.L5 N44 yr.-- - 日本女性文学大事典
Call number: Langson EA REF PL725 .N53 2006
Korean Studies
Dictionaries
- 영어학습사전(Korean-English-Korean Dictionary)
- Minjung’s Essence Korean-English Dictionary 民眾엣센스韓英辭典
Call number: Langson Library Reference: PL937 E5 E78 2002 - Minjung’s Essence English-Korean Dictionary 民眾엣센스英韓辭典
Call number: Langson Library Reference: PL937 E5 E84 2002 - Korea, A Historical and Cultural Dictionary
Call number: Langson Library Reference: DS904.8 P73 1999
Encyclopedias
- 한국민족문화대백과샴전Han'guk minjok munhwa taebaekkwa sajŏn
Call number: Langson East Asian Ref DS904 .H2687 1991 v.-- - 조선향토대백과 = Encyclopedia of North Korean geography and culture
Call number: Langson East Asian Ref DS930.8 .C47 2005 v.--
Statistics
- KOSIS 국가통계포털 National Statistical Portal
Facilitate access to statistical data (population, employment, inflation, income, education, culture etc.) that are provided by 160 organizations across Korea.
Registration is required for personal use.
Biographies
- 한국역사인물사전
Call number: Langson EA Ref DS905 .S577 1998 - Koreanists
Can be used to search Korean studies scholars around the world. Searchable fields include name, country of residence, specialization, name of institution, and degree. - Choson ilbo Inmul DB (registration required)
Places, Calendars, and More
- 한국역시지명사전 (CD-ROM)
Call number: Langson MRC DS912.17 .H373 2005
Bibliographies
- Korean Bibliography (Library of Congress)
Has about 4,800 records of books published before 1995. The books are in English language and about Korea/Korean.
Others
- Ask a Korean Studies Librarian
Korean studies librarians could respond to your questions within 48 business hours in either English or Korean languages.
Subject Librarian |
Ying ZhangDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait