Print EA Periodicals
Core Chinese Journals
General Asian Studies
- Bibliography of Asian Studies *
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. - Factiva *
Provide searchable and browsable access to Chinese, Japanese as well as English newspapers in the fields of economics and business. - JSTOR *
Provides full-text access to articles published in the back issues (mostly back to the very first issue) of Asian Folklore Studies, Asian Survey, Asian Theatre Journal, China Journal, China Quarterly, Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR), Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies, Journal of Asian Studies, Journal of Japanese Studies, Journal of the American Oriental Society, Modern Asian Studies, Modern China, Monumenta Nipponica, Pacific Affairs , and more. However, recently year articles might not be available. - ProQuest Asian Business and Reference *
Current news analysis and research reports on social, political, economic, business and cultural conditions in Asian countries. Key individuals are also profiled. Available data tables are downloadable.
Chinese Studies
| • | 中国学术期刊网 China Academic Journals (CAJ) and Century Journal Social Science (CJSS) * Provide full-text access to China academic journals in various humanities and social science areas. Some journals have early issues back to 1951. English citations are searable as well. A list of core journals from CAJ can be viewed at https://webfiles.uci.edu/yingz/Serial_core_chinese_CAJ?uniq=-cxtntl. And a tutorial for using the database can be found at http://www.lib.uci.edu/services/tutorials/CAJ/CAJ.htm |
||||
| • | 万方数据 Chinese Studies Online (CSO) * Provide full-text access to variety of journal articles (1997-), thesis/dissertations and proceedings (1986 -). English citations are searchable as well. |
||||
| • | 全国报刊索引National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (1833-1979)* Search article level citations from millions of newspapers and journal articles covering the periods of late Qing, Minguo and the first 20 years of the Peoples' Republic of China. Full-texts requests submitted by UCI faculty and students will be handled by the librarian (yingz at uci.edu) |
||||
| • | 中国国家图书馆 民国期刊全文影像 Provides citation search for Minguo journals held in National Library of China. A special viewer for full-texts is required and available from the site. |
||||
| • |
台湾电子期刊服务网 The Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) * |
||||
| • | 國立臺灣大學出版刊物 Provides free access to selective articles from their periodicals, including 臺灣文學研究集刊, 人口學刊, 美術史研究集刊, 臺大文史哲學報 , 臺大歷史學報 , etc.. |
||||
| • | 臺灣國家圖書館中文期刊篇目索引影像系统 Index to Periodicals Published in Taiwan Indexes academic journal articles published in Taiwan since 1970. Some fulltext articles could be available at no charge. |
||||
| • | Hong Kong Journals Online for 香港期刊 It is a full-text image database covering selected academic and professional journals (see http://sunzi1.lib.hku.hk/hkjo/browse.jsp for the list), both in English and Chinese. It is provided by the University of Hong Kong Libraries. |
||||
| • | 《香港中文期刊論文索引》Hong Kong Index to Chinese Periodicals (HKInChiP) Indexes 300+ kinds of journals at the article level that have been published in Hong Kong since 1980. Some fulltext articles could be downloaded at no charge. |
||||
| • | Wisenews 慧科资讯 * A searchable and browsable database with 292 English language newspapers and 477 Chinese language newspapers published in many countries. The date coverage is from 2000 to the present for the majority of newspaper titles. |
||||
| • | 臺灣日日新報Taiwan nichinichi shinpō* A searchable and browsable newspaper archive published in Taiwan under Japanese rule (1898 - 1944). Works on IE Web browser only. |
||||
| • | 人民日报 * Chinese edition of The People's Daily, from issue 1 to end of 2005.Full-text searchable. Langson Library current periodical room also has paper newspapers for the latest three months. |
||||
| • | UDNdata 聯合知識庫 * This online database provides searchable full-text articles in the following newspapers: Lian He Bao (聯合報, 1951-), Jing Ji Ri Bao (經濟日報, 1978-), Min Sheng Bao (民生報, 1988-), Lian He Wan Bao (聯合晚報, 1993-), Xing Bao (星報, 1999-2006) in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao (歐洲日報, 2000-) in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri Bao (美洲世界日報, 2000-) in North America. |
||||
| • | 漢學研究中心-典藏目錄及資料庫 Index to Collections Held at the Center for Chinese Studies (Taiwan) provided by the Center for Chinese Studies in Taiwan and supports across database searching on 經學, 敦煌學, 明人文集, etc. |
||||
Japanese Studies
| • | CiNii 論文情報ナビゲータ (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator) * Provides access to bibliographic and some full-text (free or free-based) information of papers, theses, books, and magazines, as well as other specialized academic information. Some items are in English. Instruction for using the database can be found at http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~ncc/eresources/guides/cinii.pdf |
||||
| • | MagazinePlus 雑誌記事索引フアイル * Index to Japanese-language articles from 1975. Covers 8,500 Japanese scholarly journals and popular magazines. |
||||
| • | 占領期新聞・雑誌記事情報データベース Provides article level indexes to the Gordon W. Prange Collection (1945 to 1949)housed at the University of Maryland. Many of the publications in the collection cannot be found in libraries in Japan. |
||||
Korean Studies
| • | RISS International (English version of KERIS 학술연구정보서비스) * Provides access to (1)full-text of 930,000 journal articles from Korean societies and university research institutes,(2)full text of 380,000 masters and doctors theses from 140 Korean universities and of 20,000 doctors dissertations authored by Koreans who obtained their doctoral degrees from non-Korean institutions;and (3)online catalogs of 7.34 million books and non-books (e.g. CD-ROM, Video) in 500 Korean university/college/professional libraries. |
||||
| • | Chosŏn Ilbo Archive (朝鮮日報) * Provides full-text access to the newspaper articles dated from 1920 afterwards. English version can be accessed at http://english.chosun.com/ |
||||
| • | E-Article * This is an on-trial Korean scholarly journal database with a coverage of 479 journal titles of various subjects. The trial ends on June 30, 2009 |
||||
| • | Naver News Archive Service (1976-1985) Provides fulltext search by date and subject of these three newspaper archives: Kyŏnghyang Sinmun (京鄕新聞), Tonga Ilbo (東亞日報), and Maeil Kyŏngje (每日經濟). Browsable by date as well. |
||||
Subject Librarian |
Ying ZhangDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait