Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only

Asian Studies  Tags: east_asia china japan korea  

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/asian_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books, etc.             Print Page
  
 

Antpac Search

 

Next-Generation Melvyl

Search UC Irvine Libraries and beyond

Advanced Search Search with WorldCat

 

Featured New Titles

Title: Niju hibaku = Twice bombed, twice survived : the doubly atomic bombed of Hiroshima and Nagasaki
二重被爆 = Twice bombed, twice survived : the doubly atomic bombed of Hiroshima and Nagasaki / directed by 青木亮
Published: Tokyo : Takiseeds, [2008]
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 Langson Multimedia ResCtr  D767.25.H6 N55 2008  NOT CHCKD OUT
Author: Wu, Xinrong, 1907-1967
吳新榮, 1907-1967
Title: Wu Xinrong ri ji quan ji = Gôo Sin-îng diary
吳新榮日記全集 = Gôo Sin-îng diary
Published: Tainan Shi : Guo li Tiawan wen xue guan, 2007-2008
台南市 : 國立台灣文學館, 2007-2008
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 Langson East Asian  PL2921 .H7595 2007  v.1  BEING PROCESSED
 Langson East Asian  PL2921 .H7595 2007  v.2  BEING PROCESSED
 Langson East Asian  PL2921 .H7595 2007  v.3  BEING PROCESSED
Author: Yi, Pyŏng-ju, 1921 Mar. 16-
이 병주, 1921 Mar. 16-
Title: Kŭ hae 5-wŏl / Yi Pyŏng-ju
그 해 5월 / 이 병주
Published: Kyŏnggi-do Pʻaju-si : Hanʼgilsa, 2006
경기도 파주시 : 한길사, 2006
Edition: Che 1-pʻan
제 1판
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 Langson East Asian  PL992.9.P94 K8 2006  v.1  BEING PROCESSED
 Langson East Asian  PL992.9.P94 K8 2006  v.2  BEING PROCESSED
 Langson East Asian  PL992.9.P94 K8 2006  v.3  BEING PROCESSED
 
 

Library Catalogs for Books and Other Materials

•  ANTPAC
To search books, journals (not individual journal articles) and other materials (e.g. multimedia, maps) held by UCI libraries. You may use Chinese, Japanese, or Korean (CJK) characters to search. Please configure your web browser to enable unicode display.
Use the link below to request a rush process for items "on-order" or "in-process": https://www.lib.uci.edu/acquire/inproc_request.php
•  Melvyl
To search books, journals (not individual journal articles) and other materials (e.g. multimedia, maps) held by 10 UC campuses' libraries. You may use Chinese, Japanese, or Korean (CJK) characters to search. Please configure your web browser to enable unicode display. The catalog user instruction is available at http://www.cdlib.org/inside/instruct/Melvyl_brief_7_05.doc
•  WorldCat *
To search books, journals (not individual journal articles) and other materials (e.g. multimedia, maps) held by more than 10000 libraries world-wide. You may use Chinese, Japanese, or Korean (CJK) characters to search.
•  Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Has strong collection on historic newspapers, foreign theses/dissertations, major microform sets, international & area research materials, etc. CRL has lots of unique and expensive primary resources. UCI users can borrow them for a long term via interlibrary loan.
•  Mapping Asia in UK Libraries
A portal assisting access to UK library holdings for researchers working in all subject areas of the humanities and social sciences relating to Asia.
•  中国高等教育文献保障系统联合目录 (CALIS Union OPAC)
•  中国国家图书馆 馆藏目录
•  台湾中央图书馆馆藏目录
For Chinese, it only supports traditional (Big5) characters
•  漢學研究中心-典藏目錄及資料庫
provided by the Center for Chinese Studies in Taiwan and supports across database searching on 經學, 敦煌學, 明人文集, etc.
•  日本見藏中國叢書目錄
Chinese Collectanea in Japanese Libraries. The database is provided by the University of Hong Kong libraries. Supports search and browsing
•  日本東洋文化研究所所蔵漢籍目録データベース
•  国立国会図書館(National Diet Library of Japan)蔵書検索
•  Webcat Plus from National Information Institute of Japan (国立情報学研究所)
• 

국가전자도서관 National Digital Library
union catalog of major national libraries and more in Korea.

 

E-Books

• 

China Through Western Eyes
"provide online access to materials important to Sinophiles and scholars of China studies. These materials are ones in which Western foreigners wrote and described what they saw and encountered in China from about the 16th century until 1911" -- Web site.

• 

阿帕比电子书库 *
Provides full-text search and browse for hundreds of Chinese e-books mainly in literature field. Additional functions include highlight, annotation, bookmark, etc. Currently, it has a limitation of two simultaneous users.

超星数字图书馆 *
Provides full-text search and browse for a growing number of Chinese e-books in various fields.

•  古今图书集成=Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China *
"includes the most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture, from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty. The collection includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more."--the Web site
•  四库全书Siku Quanshu (文渊阁版) *
This is the electronic version of Wenyuange "Siku Quanshu". It allows searching in full-text, title, author and annotation fields in 经Jing, 史Shi, 子Zi, 集Ji.
•  四部丛刊Sibu Congkan (上海涵芬楼版) *
Full-text searchable. But you need install the client software on your computer. Please contact Ying Zhang at yingz@uci.edu for a software copy.
•  Scripta Sinica (漢籍全文資料庫)
•  台湾文献丛刊=The Encyclopedia of Taiwan *
"incorporates local histories, official documents of the Ming, Qing and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections. Much of the content is comprised of sole copies and rare out-of-print books."--the Web site
•  高等学校中英文图书数字化国际合作计划 China-US Million Book Digital Library Project
Chinese Pamphlets 连环画(Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China) *
Mass education materials (cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines) published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.
•  GoogleBooks China=谷歌图书搜索(Beta)
•  日本国会図書館 近代デジタルライブラリー
•  GoogleBooks Japan=Googleブック検索(Beta)
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageYing Zhang


Contact Info:
Office: 466 Langson Library
Phone: (949) 824-0489
Fax: (949)824-0605
Send Email

 

新浪网 Book RSS


Loading RSS Feed...
 

朝日新聞 Book RSS Feeds


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait