Chinese
Dictionaries
- 汉语大字典
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL1420 .H3494 1986
The most comprehensive Chinese dictionary so far with 54,678 unique active Chinese characters - 现代汉语词典 : 汉英双语 = The contemporary chinese dictionary : Chinese-English edition
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL1420 .X535 2002
A good quality dictionary with up-to-date Chinese vocabularies annotated in both Chinese and English -
林語堂當代漢英詞典Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage (Lin Yutang)
A useful dictionary with usage information compiled by a well-known Chinese scholar, writer and linguist. The online version, developed by City University of Hong Kong, supports traditional Chinese search, browse and display. - 阿帕比(Apabi)中国工具书资源全文数据库系统 *
Provides full-text search and access to nearly 55 titles of Chinese dictionaries, including 汉语大词典,辞海,成语大词典,汉字异读字典,英汉-汉英医学新词语,英汉国际金融大辞典... - 学中文 MDBG English-Chinese Dictionary
Supports search and display in English, Pinyin as well as traditional and simplified Chinese; also browsable by radical/strokes - 中文.com
Supports search in English, Pinyin as well as traditional and simplified Chinese; also browsable by radical/strokes - Lexiconer English-Chinese/Chinese-English Dictionaries
Supports search in English, Pinyin as well as traditional and simplified Chinese - Chinese Character Dictionary
Search and browsing in English, Pinyin, Cantonese, radical/strokes as well as traditional and simplified Chinese
Input Method Editor (IME)
-
Microsoft Global IME for Chinese
Allows various input methods, including Pinyin and mouse-facilitated handwriting (IME Pad). You may learn how to install and configure IME at Microsoft Web site. - http://www.nciku.com/
Allows inputting Chinese by (1) mouse-facilitated handwriting (either Simplified or Traditional), and (2) browsing by radical/strokes. Also provides Pinyin with tone and speech audio. -
http://www.chinese-tools.com/tools/ime.html
Allows inputting Chinese by mouse-facilitated handwriting (Java support required) or using Pinyin.
Add Pinyin to Chinese Texts
- MDBG Chinese Text Annotator
Supports reading Chinese texts by adding Pinyin below the texts. English definitions could be added as well. - DimSun Chinese Tools
Supports reading Chinese texts by adding Pinyin to Chinese text files and Web pages. Need to download and install the application. - Add Pinyin to File
Helps you learn to read Chinese by adding Pinyin next to Chinese Characters in files
Character Converters
-
Http://www.chinese-tools.com/tools/converter-simptrad.html
Converts Simplified Chinese texts to Traditional Chinese -
Http://www.chinese-tools.com/tools/converter-tradsimp.html
Converts Traditional Chinese texts to Simplified Chinese - Todd David Rudick's Rikai.com
Converts Traditional Chinese texts or Web pages to Simplified Chinese; also provides Pinyin annotations and definitions in English
Miscellaneous
- 線上中文工具On-line Chinese Tools
Takes texts using one form of Chinese Romanization and coverts it into a different Romanization. - Romanization Converter
Takes texts using one form of Chinese Romanization and coverts it into a different Romanization. - News in Chinese-Annotated
Helps you to improve your Chinese reading skills with annotated Pinyin and meanings in English - Yahoo Bable Fish Translation
Translates Chinese texts or Web pages into English - Lang-8
Access to helps from native speakers in correcting your essays in Chinese - CH1A Fundamentals of Mandarin
Access to a list of Chinese language learning tools compiled by Chinese Language Program at University of California, Irvine - 網上學中文 Learning Chinese Online
Access to a list of Chinese language learning tools compiled by Dr.Tianwei Xie at California State University at Long Beach
Japanese
Dictionaries
漢和/漢英辞典の使い方
- 日本国語大辞典第二版(小学館) *
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL675 .N46 2000 v.--
The most comprehensive Japanese dictionary so far. Provides usage. - 国語大辞典 (小学館)
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL675.K65 1988
A abbreviated version of 『日本国語大辞典』(the 1st ed.) -
(デジタル)大辞泉(小学館) *
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL675 .D342 1995
The Web version from JapanKnowledge is updated regularly. Provides synonyms. - goo国語辞書
- Excite辞書
Includes English-Jananese, Japanese-English, Japanese-Japanese, Japanese-Chinese, Chinese-Japanese dictionaries. - ランダムハウス英和大辞典 第2版(小学館)=Ramdom House English-Japanese Dictionary *
- プログレッシブ英和中辞典 第4版(小学館)=Progressive English-Japanese Dictionary *
- プログレッシブ和英中辞典 第3版(小学館)=Progressive Japanese-English Dictionary *
- 電子辞書= Online Japanese Dictionrary
- 新和英大辞典(硏究社)
Call number: Langson EA Ref PL679 .K377 2003
Input Method Editor (IME)
-
Microsoft Global IME for Japanese
Allows various input methods, including Pinyin and mouse-facilitated handwriting (IME Pad). You may learn how to install and configure IME at Microsoft Web site. Or simply click Installing Japanese Fonts in Windows XP and How to Type in Japanese.
Add Furigana to Japanese Texts
- Furigana Inserter
Supports reading Japanese texts by adding Furigana to Japanese texts on Mozilla Firefox Web pages. Need to download and install the application. - Itadaki
A Japanese language toolset for OpenOffice. It offers features such as adding furigana for Japanese text and an integrated dictionary.
Miscellaneous
- Japanese Romanization Table
- KAKASI
A free software for converting Kanji characters to Hiragana, Katakana, and Romaji. - Lang-8
Access to helps from native speakers in correcting your compositions in Japanese. - Yahoo Bable Fish Translation
Translates Japanese texts or Web pages into English
Subject Librarian |
Ying ZhangDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait