EBM e-Books
EBM e-Journals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Evidence-Based Medicine Subject Guide  Tags: evidence_based_medicine ebm medicine consumer_health nurse nursing public_health urology complementary alternative medical_education health_sciences occupational_health ebooks  

A collection of excellent resources available to UCI clinicians and students.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/ebm  Print Guide  RSS Updates

EBM Pyramid            Print Page
  
 
 

EBM Pyramid

 

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Resources

Evidence-Based Medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values. (Sackett DL, Straus SE, Richardson WS, et al. Evidence-based medicine: how to practice and teach EBM. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone, 2000.)

Download This Image


TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus

Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

 


Filtered Resources

 

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

 

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews *

Consists of detailed, structured topic reviews of hundreds of articles. Teams of experts complete comprehensive literature reviews, evaluate the literature, and present summaries of the findings of the best studies. Published by the International Cochrane Collaboration.

 

The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE)

Full-text database containing structured abstracts of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.

 

Systematic Reviews are also searchable in these sources:

 

  • CINAHL * : Enter your search query. Select “Systematic Reviews” under “Publication Type”.
  • PubMed * : Click on “Clinical Queries” on the left side of the screen; select “Find Systematic Reviews” and enter your search query.

 

 

Critically-Appraised Topics

 

National Guideline Clearinghouse

A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.

Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

ACP PIER *

Evidence-based clinical guidance designed for rapid access to clinical information at the point of care. PIER is peer-reviewed, updated continually and includes recommendations based on all levels of medical evidence. Recommendations also include strength-of-recommendation ratings based on the quality of the underlying evidence. Published by the American College of Physicians. To only search ACP PIER, enter a search terms and click the button “Select None”. Click the box next to ACP PIER & DI Essentials, then click the button “Search”.

There is a PDA version of this product.

Essential Evidence Plus *

An electronic resource, formerly called InfoPOEMS/InfoRetriever, with medical evidence for critical patient decision-making.

 

Natural Standard *

An authoritative source on integrative medicine providing high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

 

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

 

The ACP Journal Club *

The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article. Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

Check EBM e-Journals list for multiple subscriptions.

Bandolier

Bandolier is an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare published in the UK. It includes “information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put[s] the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets. Information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomised trials, and from high quality observational studies.”

 

BMJ Updates

Quality articles from over 110 clinical journals are selected by research staff, and then rated for clinical relevance and interest by an international group of physicians. Includes a searchable database of the best evidence from the medical literature and an email alerting system. From BMJ Publishing Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit.

 

“Evidence-Based…” Journal series

(e.g., Evidence-Based Medicine, Evidence-Based Mental Health, Evidence-Based Nursing) Primary research articles within the discipline are selected for quality and clinical relevance. A structured abstract and expert commentary are provided for each study.

Check EBM e-Journals list for multiple subscriptions.


Unfiltered Resources

 

PubMed *

To limit your PubMed search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on "clinical queries" (on the left side of the screen). This specialized search is intended for clinicians and has built-in search "filters." Four study categories--therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis--are provided, and you may indicate whether you wish your search to be more sensitive (i.e., include most relevant articles but probably including some less relevant ones) or more specific (i.e., including mostly relevant articles but probably omit a few).

 

PsycINFO *

International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

Click “Browse Methodology” and select the checkbox for “Systematic Reviews”.

CINAHL *

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

To limit your CINAHL search to the best evidence-producing studies: select type of “Clinical Queries” or select “Evidence-Based Care Sheet” or “Practice Guidelines” or “Systematic Reviews” in “Publication Type”.

Web of Science *

Web of Science consists of seven databases with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

 

Biosis *

BIOSIS Previews is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas. It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.

 

Clinical Trials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.

 


Background Information/Expert Opinion

Note: Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

UpToDate *

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations.

eMedicine *

Physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content provides the latest practice guidelines in 62 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes multiple levels of physician peer review.

 

eBooks

Full-text electronic books.  Check EBM e-Books list for multiple book options.

Harrison's Online *

Searchable and continually updated version of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.

 

ACP Medicine *

Electronic textbook of general medicine; updated continually.

To only search ACP Medicine, enter a search terms and click the button “Select None”. Click the box next to ACP Medicine, then click the button “Search”.

MD Consult *

A family of electronic information resources that meet the clinical content needs of physicians and other health care professionals. MD Consult brings the leading medical resources together into one integrated online service to help physicians efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions and make better treatment decisions.

 


EBM Pyramid and EBM Page Generator, copyright 2006 Trustees of Dartmouth College and Yale University. All Rights Reserved.
Produced by Jan Glover, David Izzo, Karen Odato and Lei Wang.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJudy Bube
Contact Info:
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email

Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait