Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Ask a UC Librarian
POLICY INSTITUTES ("Think Tanks")
Haas, Eric M. "Think Tanks." Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. 2007. SAGE Publications. 7 Nov. 2008. < http://sage-ereference.com/activism/Article_n855.html >.
Think tanks are organizations that have significant autonomy from governmental interests and that synthesize, create, or disseminate information, ideas, or advice to the public, policymakers, other organizations, and the press. They range from multimillion-dollar national operations to small groups of part-time employees who work on specific issues at the local level. More than 1,000 think tanks operate in the United States.
Think tanks are a recent phenomenon in institutional knowledge production and dissemination. The first think tanks appeared at the beginning of the 1900s (e.g., Hoover Institution, 1919; Council on Foreign Relations, 1921; and Brookings Institution, 1927). More appeared in the 1940s and 1950s (e.g., American Enterprise Institute, 1943, and RAND, 1948), and they proliferated during the 1970s and 1980s (e.g., Heritage Foundation, 1973; Cato Institute, 1977; Manhattan Institute, 1978; Heartland Institute, 1984; Economic Policy Institute, 1986; Goldwater Institute, 1988; and Progressive Policy Institute, 1989).
U.S. think tanks can be categorized into three main types based on the work they do and the authority they possess: (1) contract research think tanks, (2) academic think tanks, and (3) advocacy think tanks ...
POLICY INSTITUTE PORTALS
- Centers for Research & Policy Development [Harvard Kennedy School]
- Think Tanks, Research Organizations, and Advocacy Groups [MSU Libraries]
- Google Policy Institutes Directory
- Policy Archive (PA)
- Public Policy Organizations Directory, C-SPAN
- RAND
- EU Think Tanks
- International Agencies [University of Michigan]
POLICY DATABASES
- Ciao : Columbia International Affairs Online ABOUT CIAO: "Ciao is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory/research in int'l affairs. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- CQ ResearcherISSUE RESOURCE: CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- Opposing Viewpoints ISSUE RESOURCE: Opposing Viewpoints provide pro and con arguments for a broad range of current social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, ... [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 18,000 articles. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- PAIS International ABOUT PAIS: PAIS contains references to over 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey lit, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet resources [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- Worldwide political science abstractsProvides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles and dissertation appearing in more than 1000 political science journals (1969-present) [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
Subject Guide |
Contact Info 468 Langson Library UC Irvine PO Box 19557 Irvine CA 92623 949 824 4978 dtsang@uci.edu Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
