* UC Irvine access only
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2015
Encyclopedias are a great place to start your research.
- Best customers : demographics of consumer demand
- Encyclopedia of consumer culture
Covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world's social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes
- Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history
This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more
- Historical statistics of the United States : earliest times to the present
Also available in print. Langson Library. 2nd Floor Ready Reference (behind the reference desk) HA202 .H57 2006
- Oxford encyclopedia of economic history
Published in 2003. 5-volume set
- Oxford handbook of food history
Also available in print. Langson Fourth Floor: TX353 .O94 2012
Find scholarly articles.
- America: History & Life
Provides some full text coverage and abstracts for periodical literature in United States and Canadian history.
- Academic Search Complete
Offers coverage on a wide-range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, and science. Can be searched simultaneously with America: History & Life.
This archive provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: 2-5 years of current journals are NOT available here.
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952-
- Business Source Complete
A good starting point for articles from scholarly journals, industry and trade publications, and business magazines. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related journals, books, and dissertations, Coverage: 1969-
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts *
National and International Politics. Coverage 1975-
Search images historically.
- Ad Access
Print ads for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
AdViews is a digital archive of television commercials (1950s to the 1980s).
- LIFE photo archive
Collection of newly-digitized images owned by LIFE dating back to the 1750s. Eventually will include 10 million images.
- Vogue Archive
Coverage: 1892- current issue
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
National and international newspapers.
Find government hearings, debates, laws, etc.
- U. S. Congressional Serial Set *
Congressional committee prints, documents, treaty documents and other special publications.
- Proquest Congressional *
ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
Search other subject guides for relevant resources.