FEDERAL LEGISLATION
- Bill & Laws, ProQuest Congressional *A bill is a legislative proposal brought before Congress in either the House or the Senate. Bills introduced in the House are assigned sequential numbers in the order in which they are introduced and are preceded by "H.R.". Bills introduced in the Senate are assigned sequential numbers preceded by "S.".
- Congress.gov "The Library of Congress unveiled a new Web search tool for bills and other congressional records Wednesday [Sept., 19, 2012] that eventually will replace the 17-year-old Thomas.gov website. Congress.gov, which was launched in a beta form [ http://beta.congress.gov/ ], will automatically adapt to fit computer, smartphone and tablet screens and will include live video streams from the House and Senate floors, according to tweets from the Library of Congress...
- FDsysThe Federal Digital System - America's authentic government information.
- GovTrack.usGovTrack tracks the United States Congress. Follow the status of federal legislation or learn about your members of Congress -- GovTrack has information on all bills and votes going back over a decade, etc. ...
- Legislative Process, Congress.govOverview of the Legislative Process: "Article I of the U.S. Constitution grants all legislative powers to a bicameral Congress: a House of Representatives and a Senate that are the result of a “Great Compromise” seeking to balance the effects of popular majorities with the interests of the states. Our system currently provides for a two-year term of office for House members from the 435 population-based districts. In the Senate, voters of each state elect two Senators, who serve 6-year terms that overlap (such that only one-third of the chamber is up for election in any given election cycle)..."
- MapLight: Revealing Money's Influence on Politics"MapLight is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that reveals money's influence on politics. Elected officials collect large sums of money to run their campaigns, and they often pay back campaign contributors with special access and favorable laws. This common practice is contrary to the public interest, yet legal..."
- OpenCongress.orgOpenCongress lets you research, track, and understand legislation in Congress.
- ProQuest Congressional *All federal congressional documents from the birth of the United States Congress to the present are now searchable full text on a single research platform at UCI. Formerly LexisNexis
- Roll Call"CQ Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources to take action. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process and give our clients the tools they need to maximize their influence. We are the ultimate insider, and our unmatched network of relationships and expertise has powered the productivity of those who rely on us since 1945..."
- The HillA daily news resource tracking Federal government goings on.
- ThomasTHOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.
Congressional News
- The HillReporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."
- Roll Call"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."
What are think tanks?
Haas, Eric M. "Think Tanks." Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. 2007. SAGE Publications. 7 Nov. 2008.
http://sage-ereference.com/activism/Article_n855.html
Think tanks are organizations that have significant autonomy from governmental interests and that synthesize, create, or disseminate information, ideas, or advice to the public, policymakers, other organizations, and the press. They range from multimillion-dollar national operations to small groups of part-time employees who work on specific issues at the local level. More than 1,000 think tanks operate in the United States.
Think tanks are a recent phenomenon in institutional knowledge production and dissemination. The first think tanks appeared at the beginning of the 1900s (e.g., Hoover Institution, 1919; Council on Foreign Relations, 1921; and Brookings Institution, 1927). More appeared in the 1940s and 1950s (e.g., American Enterprise Institute, 1943, and RAND, 1948), and they proliferated during the 1970s and 1980s (e.g., Heritage Foundation, 1973; Cato Institute, 1977; Manhattan Institute, 1978; Heartland Institute, 1984; Economic Policy Institute, 1986; Goldwater Institute, 1988; and Progressive Policy Institute, 1989).
U.S. think tanks can be categorized into three main types based on the work they do and the authority they possess: (1) contract research think tanks, (2) academic think tanks, and (3) advocacy think tanks ...
POLICY DATABASES
- Ciao : Columbia International Affairs Online* ABOUT CIAO: "Ciao is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory/research in int'l affairs. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- CQ Researcher*ISSUE RESOURCE: CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection* Full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 18,000 articles. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- PAIS International* ABOUT PAIS: PAIS contains references to over 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey lit, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet resources [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
- Worldwide political science abstracts*Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles and dissertation appearing in more than 1000 political science journals (1969-present) [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
ECONOMICS
- EconLitEconLit is a comprehensive indexs of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
- RAND CaliforniaRAND California is a subscription-based service on California and U.S. public policy issues with an emphasis on statistics. Look for the California Business and Economic Statistics section.
- SourceOECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)SourceOECD is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals
- World Bank e-LibraryAn online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,500 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,800 World Bank publications and over 2,700 Policy Research Working Papers.
Cato Podcast Feed
Education & Outreach |
Contact Info University of California Irvine Education & Outreach brian.williams@uci.edu 949.824.0473 Office LL106 Links: Profile & Guides |
SEARCH
CRS Reports (1916-)
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) - ProQuest*The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation.
Open CRS
- Open CRSAbout Open CRS: "American taxpayers spend nearly $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained....

Loading...

Loading...
