Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home?
Login to the Web VPN to access our databases.
Problems accessing the VPN?
Call OIT Technical Support:
(949) 824-2222
Ask a Librarian
Use this service to CHAT with, EMAIL, TEXT a Reference Librarian or Schedule a Research Consultation
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
WIFI FINDER
Hotspotr : Find a Wi-Fi hotspot in your area with Hotspotr, a Google Maps mashup that relies entirely on user input. As with other Wi-Fi finders, you can search for hotspots by city, ZIP code or place, then get maps, driving directions, phone numbers, etc.
Key Definitions & Information
There are a few important definitions with which you should be familiar:
- UC eLinks - this golden icon is critical if you want to match the UCI Library holdings for a specific citation - whether it be a book, book chapter, journal article, law review article, entire journal, etc. For each database, the UCI Libraries holdings are matched with what is indexed
- and if we have the electronic - a link is provided to the holding content or to the database where there is "selective holdings" and you can conduct a search to determine if the specific reference is found;
- for the print, the holdings for that range of material is noted with the call number & holding library and you can request it;
- Videocast walk through on how to use UC eLinks
- MELVYL Request - used to activate an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) for the item needed
- ANTPAC - the online catalog for UCI - the most current status of holdings for all materials in all formats at UCI - provides order status and circulation status
- MELVYL - is the online catalog for the entire UC system - all ten campuses and includes the Hastings College of Law in San Francisco, the regional storage facilities (SRLF & NRLF), the California State Library and can be restricted to search just UCI's holdings, just UC's or Worldcat which is a global consortium of libraries and the holdings of all those libraries are included
Background, Introduction & Welcome
Welcome to UCI, the School of Social Ecology, the Online Program in Criminology, Law & Society and the UCI Libraries!
There are many resources at the UCI Libraries devoted to the study of Social Ecology, an interdisciplinary and applied area of the social, behavioral sciences and environmental sciences that studies different aspects of the human condition. The specific collection to serve the Online Masters Program in Criminology, Law & Society (MAS) is based on the Social Ecology research and curriculum even though this program is relatively young. The collection has grown rapidly in parallel with the program expanding its emphases, reflecting more of the academic and applied needs of the criminology, legal and social service communities that it serves. Some of the current special interests reflect strong interdisciplinary interests and include: environmental psychology, criminal justice, law and society, incarceration, parole, rehabilitation, forensics, data analysis, public policy, and other parallel interests found throughout the School of Social Ecology, other Schools, as well as the campus.
The UCI Library Website is your point of departure as you seek information -(http://www.lib.uci.edu) The Subject Guide for Criminal Justice, Law & Society will also direct you to many other relevant and appropriate resources, and specifically the tab on Criminal Justice will be very helpful. These two main websites you will likely want to bookmark or list as favorites on your own laptop or pc or tablet.
Additional Subject Guides that will assist you in identifying resources will include:
Things to do to get organized
Things to do:
- While on campus this week, you will need to activate your UCI NetID by coming to the UCI Library with your UCI photoID (available from the Student Center). You will get a barcode added to your ID and that will allow you to communicate about all transactions. Once you do this, you can use online materials and can borrow materials. As graduate students you have one quarter loan periods
- You should track your activity by using "My Antpac"
- Install VPN and try it or contact OIT for assistance - this is required for you to use resources remotely
- Identify "Favorites" from Library Website so that you can easily search or find content including Subject Guides
- Know how to contact Brian Williams, Research Librarian for CLS
- Be familiar with Ask-a-Librarian services
- Learn how to use Antpac
- Learn how to use MELVYL
- Learn how to find appropriate databases and use UC eLinks
- Learn about Bibliographic Management Software and citation practices
Working in Groups
Some hints for achieving success in group projects or ones in which collaboration is central to the assignment:
- establish a group leader to keep everyone focused and on task
- contract with one another about what each will deliver
- share information widely
- work from an outline
- try and establish one common voice that reflects everyone's input
- remember that group effort contributes to defining everyone's outcome
- consider establishing a presence in a Google Docs or another shared software where everyone has access to the same information and documents
Making Presentations
In order to plan an effective presentation, you may find it helpful to consult the Visual Literacy Subject Guide and review some of the sources noted there including the Presentation Best Practices and other resources.
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Education & Outreach |
Contact Info University of California Irvine Education & Outreach brian.williams@uci.edu 949.824.0473 Office LL106 Links: Profile & Guides |
Brian Williams
Langson Library 380
brian.williams@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Library Access Contacts
If you need to borrow library materials or inquire how you can receive them, please contact John Bareford, at the Langson Library Access Services Dept. by eMail or by telephone at 949-824-2468



Loading...
