Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Important Information regarding UCI's Subscription to RefWorks
Dear RefWorks user:
In response to the current budget constraints, the UCI Libraries has decided not to renew RefWorks, effective December 31, 2009. We did not make this decision lightly, but looked at how much the service was used,
and what other options were available to assist with the management of bibliographic citations. These options, with information about exporting your current RefWorks citations to a different bibliographic management
software, are available at:
http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/bms
Please note that your RefWorks library must be exported by December 31, 2009 for you to retain your citations, unless you choose to subscribe to RefWorks as an individual. More information about individual
subscriptions can be found at https://www.refworks.com/RWSingle/newusersecurity.asp
Please submit any questions or comments to:http://www.lib.uci.edu/about/contact/web-feedback-form.html
Bibliographic Management Software
- Bibliographic Management Software
Easily create bibliographies with Bibliographic Management Software (BMS). BMS enables researchers to collect and manage references to books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc; format them according to precise styles (e.g., MLA, APA, Turabian, - RefWorks*
A web based bibliographic management software. - EndNote
Citation Styles & Writing Guides
- APA 2007 Revision of Citation Styles

An online revision of the information presented in the fifth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. - American Psychological Association (APA) style
A guide to formatting papers using APA from Purdue University. - APA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
A quick resource for citing references in papers using the 5th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2001). Provided by The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. - APA Exposed
A general resource for the intricacies of the APA citation format. - Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper
Designed by Duke University, this guide provides answers to specific questions related to citing sources, a comparative look at formats for APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian. - Chicago Manual of Style Guide (AAA)
Prepared for and preferred by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Citation examples listed from pages 10-14. - Citing Government Information Sources
Recommended samples for citing government information using MLA (Modern Language Association) Style. - Cite Right
A thorough resource that provides an introductory yet comprehensive review of differing citation methodology. Available at Langston Library call number: PN171.F56 L55 2006. - Columbia Guide to Online Style - Basics
Excerpts from the print edition of the book Columbia Guide to Online Style. Uses the elements of citation for both a humanities style (i.e., MLA and Chicago) and a scientific style (APA and CBE) for electroncially-accessed sources. - Elements of Style
This classic work by William Strunk is intended for use in which the practice of composition is combined with the study of literature. It gives the main requirements of plain English style and concentrates on the rules of usage most often abused. - Ohio State University Libraries Guide Series: Chicago Manual of Style Citation
- Modern Language Association (MLA) style
- Online! Citation Styles
Detailed advice for citing online sources. - IEEE Editorial Style Manual
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Bartleby.com

Includes many reference books online. - Oxford English Dictionary*

Click on "Enter OED Online." "The Oxford English Dictionary is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day." - Oxford Reference Online Premium*
Multi part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. - Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged
A dictionary of the English language containing 450,000 vocabulary entries. - Wordsmyth English Dictionary & Thesaurus
- YourDictionary.com
- Wikitionary
Related to Wikipedia but not as developed this English Wikitionary is a collaborative attempt to produce a free multilingual full-service dictionary.
Legal Dictionaries
Plagiarism
- Avoiding Plagiarism
From the OWL at Purdue, this resource contains five sections that give advice on the topic of plagiarism including one for educators. - Principles of Community
Academic Honesty (Appendix, UCI General Catalog). - Turnitin.com
- UCI Tutorial on Citing Sources and This is a very brief definition and guide for getting started.
- The Plagiarism Court: You Be the Judge Offers tips to avoid plagiarism as well as an interactive quiz that allows users to assess plagiarism scenarios. From Ramona Islam of Fairfield University.
- All About Plagiarism Tutorial Six short modules with quizzes. Contains an RSS feed to plagiarism in the news. From Matt Lisle and Meghan Sitar at University of Texas, Austin. See the tab on Avoiding Plagiarism.
UCI Writing Assistance
- Writing and Library Research Peer Tutors
This web page describes the Peer Tutor program, with information about the current schedule and links to the program's Guidelines and other information. - Writing Assistance from the Learning and Academic Resource Center (LARC)
- Plagiarism and Academic Integrity Presents academic scenarios that may result in plagiarism and asks the user to determine the ethical course of action. Produced by Eileen Stec from Rutgers University. Not full of specific written examples. More a test of ethics.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait