Ask a Librarian
Search RefUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Calculators
- Martindale's Reference Desk
Exhaustive list of on-line calculators for all subject areas including Cooking, Calenders/Date Conversion, Finance, Math, Science, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, & Engineering. Calculators On-line Center (http://www.martindalecenter.com/Calculators.html) - math.com
The World of Math Online. - Measure 4 Measure
A set of the most useful calculators in the areas of Science/Math, Health, Finance, and various other areas. - OnlineConversion.com
This site boasts that one can "convert just about anything to anything else." And with fifty thousand conversions and five thousand units, it has an impressive range.
Consumer Health
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans (2005)
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration's report and guidelines published every 5 years, plus a variety of other documents and resources on nutrition and health. - EatRight.org Sponsored by the American Dietetic Association. Offers extensive resources under "Food & Nutrition Information."
- Familydoctor.org
From the American Academy of Family Physicians - Genetics Home Reference
- Healthfinder: of Health and Human Services
From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department - Healthopedia.com
A medical and health consumer information resource containing information in patient-friendly language on over 1,500 health topics, 70 focused health centers, and more than 11,000 drugs and medications. - MD Consult*
Use "Open Generic Edition" button, and choose "Patient Handouts" button at the top of the screen. - MEDLINEplus
Service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health. - MEDLINEplus A.D.A.M. Health Illustrated Encyclopedia
Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries - MEDLINEplus Drug Information
Information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications through two drug resources -- MedMaster™, a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and the USP DI® Advice for the Patient®.a product of the United - MyPyradmid.gov Created by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Offers food pyramid, menu planner, and more.
- Nutrition.gov
A guide offering easy access to all government web sites with reliable and accurate information on nutrition and dietary guidance. - PDRHealth
Drawing on the trusted "Physician's Desk Reference (published annually by Thomas Reuters), this site provides information for prescriptions drugs, over-the-counter medications, and herbals and supplements. - PubChem Project
PubChem is a search tool for chemical information, divided into three areas: Compunds, Substances, and BioAssays. - Rd411.com Contains consumer information about nutrition, obesity, and weight control. Offers sample menus, including ones before and after your workouts.
- World's Healthiest Foods List, A-Z
Profiles of several dozen foods. Detailed nutritional information is provided for each food. Browsable by category (such as vegetables and grains).
Databases & Resources
- Science.gov
Deep web database with content from 12 federal science agencies - from Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, the Interior, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Government Printing Office, the Nati
Patents
- WikiPatents
WikiPatents is one of the largest free databases of patents open for public comment on the internet, allowing PDF downloading of patents, free patent translation into multiple languages and additional information and resources.
Encyclopedias
Science Organizations
- Federation of American Scientists
Results in strategic security w/ research and education projects in nuclear arms control & global security; conventional arms transfers; proliferation of weapons of mass destruction; information technology for human health; & government info policy. - Union of Concerned Scientists
Local Science Events & Activities
| Calendar of different activities to promote the public understanding of science. | |||||
- SoCal (Southern California) Science Cafe
Local listing of the OC Science Cafe events, of which UCI is heavily invested. Always free but usually requires advance registration on the website for at least monthly events. Website should be visited often unless one registers and gets eMail updates.
Science Competitions
- West Point Bridge Designer
Bridge design contest developed by the US Military Academy of West Point for US students in grades K-12 aimed at promoting math, science and technology education. Downloadable contest information. - DDR&E Prize Competition
A public competition sponsored by the Dept. of Defense that promotes novel & unexplored approaches to tackling engineering problems faced by active soldiers. Prizes range from the hundred thousand to million dollar range & goal criteria change yearly. - Intel Science Talent Search
Nationwide pre-college competition. Eligible students include high school seniors in the US, its territories & American students attending school abroad. Each year, 1500+ students accept the challenge. Finalists compete for the $100,000 scholarship.
Standards
- IHS Store
This is the one of the largest suppliers of international standards. UCI users should consult with reference librarians prior to ordering to ensure that is the only source of the standard.
Weights, Measures & Scientific Constants
- Convert It!
- Measuring Units Conversion Tables
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (UCI access only)
Physical and chemical properties data. - 109 - A Visual Interpretation of the Table of Elements
- Physical constants from the National Institute of Standards & Technology
- US Naval Observatory, Astronomical Applications
- Web elements
Call number: Periodic table of the elements and their properties
Resources for Writing 39C
- LibGuide for Writing 39C
- Agricola*
Major indexing source for agriculture literature worldwide. Can be searched in segments of time periods. - Botanicalls
Botanicalls allows plants to place phone calls for human help. New resource for plant survival help! - botany.com
- Botany Online - The Internet Hypertextbook - International Edition
- Careers in the Science of Food, Agriculture and Environment
- CRC Foodnetbase.com*
Books published by CRC Press on Food Science. Entire collection can be searched or one can browse a topical area or search and read a specific book. All books are also listed in ANTPAC. - Center for Food Science & Nutrition Research
- Dictionary of Botanical Epithets
- Ethnobotanical Research Directory
- Food Safety
- Food Science section in Knovel*
This section on Knovel has many books and resources, including the Food Chemicals Codex, Food Additives Databook, etc. Each title is also listed in ANTPAC. - Food Science Central
- Food Science Experiments & Resources
- International Plant Names Index
- Many Topics in Science
- NatureServe Explorer: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
- New York Botanical Garden
- Plants Database
- Plant Facts
- Plants for a Future - Database Search
- World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Botany
Teaching Science
Children's Resources in Science
- Kids.gov - Science&Math Portal
The official U.S. government website for children of all ages that serves as an introduction to scientific and mathematical pursuits. - Bureau of Land Management - Learning Landscapes
A website maintained by the U.S. Department of the Interior designed to introduce children and students both to field work in the outdoors and the scientific foundation needed to safeguard outdoor landscapes and their inhabitants.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait