Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
General Encyclopedias
- AllREFER.com
Search by keyword or browse a wide variety of free encyclopedia and dictionary resources. - Britannica Online (UCI access only)
- Columbia Encyclopedia 6th ed. (via Bartleby.com)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
If you click on a discipline it links to several scholarly encyclopedias. - Oxford Reference Online Premium
- Wikipedia
This free encyclopedia contains entries and contributions by volunteers that are not refereed and should be verified. Most contain extensive information with references in a short essay format.
Humanities & Social Science
- Artcyclopedia
The Fine Art Search Engine. - Encyclopedia of Psychology
- Grove Art Online (UCI access only)
Comprehensive encyclopedic reference tool for all aspects of the visual arts. - HyperHistory
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (UCI access only)
- Legal Encyclopedia
- New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, 2nd edition (UCI access only)
Comprehensive encyclopedic reference tool for all aspects of music. - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Edited by Edward N. Zalta - Women's Studies Encyclopedia (UCI access only)
Science & Medicine
- Chemcyclopedia
Comprehensive online source of information about vendors, products, and services for the chemical and allied industries. - The Combined Chemical Dictionary (UCI access only0
Contains the Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, and Dictionary of Organic Compounds. - Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (UCI access only)
Identifies current challenges and development paths in nanotechnology that will influence fields ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry, and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical - Encyclopedia Astronautica
Historical and current information on spaceflight - Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics - Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (UCI access only)
Comprehensive reference on all areas of biology - Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology (UCI access only)
Science and Technology Materials Science - Encyclopedia of Plants
- Encyclopedia of Soil Science (UCI access only)
Covers all branches of soil science, from mineralogy and physics to soil management and restoration. - Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (UCI access only)
Articles will provide information regarding animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. - How Stuff Works
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (UCI access only)
- Nanopedia: Nanoworld's Organization of Nanotechnology
- The MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry (UCI access only)
Covers the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, foo
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait