Ask a Librarian
Search RefUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Restaurant & Food Reviews
- Amateur Gourmet
Creative food blog. - Serious Eats
One of the newest hip food blogs and sources of what is happening on the food scene in many cities and around different holiday and events. - Eater LA
Blog that covers the Los Angeles restaurant and eateries scene. - Zagat Survey
Known as a definitive high end but increasingly diverse reviewer of restaurants and now including hotels, nightlife and attractions.
Transportation
- California Department of Transportation (CalTrans)
- CHP Traffic Incident Information Page
- Daily Fuel Gauge Report from the AAA
Results of daily surveys of more than 60,000 self-serve gas stations in the U.S. Find national, state, metropolitan area prices of regular, premium and diesel. Also lists price yesterday, a month, and a year ago, and highest recorded prices. - Edmunds' Automobile Buyer's Guides
- Fuel Economy Site (EPA)
Compare vehicles (1985-present) by fuel cost and pollution, search by class or manufacturer, or by miles per gallon. Includes gasoline price page with links to national and regional fuel prices, vehicle safety, hybrids and alternative fuels. - GasBuddy.com
Links to 170 gas price information web sites that help consumers find low gasoline prices. Browse by neighborhood or search for prices by ZIP code. Information is member-supplied. - Kelley Blue Book
New car prices & used car values. - LocalHikes
- Metrolink Orange County Schedules
- OCTA Bus Routes
From the Introductory page, link to individual bus route maps and schedules as well as a system map, customer information, and information about other transit systems. - UrbanRail.Net
Travel Resources
- Bathroom Diaries
Reviews and maps of toilets worldwide that you can print and take with you when you travel. - Budget Traveller's Guide to Sleeping in Airports
Brief reports from travellers who have slept in airports around the world, with ratings, photographs, descriptions of amenities (or lack of them). Browsable by location. - Center for Disease Control (CDC)
traveler's health site. - Couch Surfing
If interested in reducing costs when traveling this site lists where you can find a free couch to sleep on or if you are willing to do some chores or provide company in exchange for a place to stay. - Country Studies Handbooks from the Library of Congress
Full text of the most recent volumes of the Country Studies/Area Studies series from the Library of Congress under the sponsorship of the Department of the Army. Includes photographs, maps, charts. - Eat Well Guide
List of thousands of American and Canadian restaurants that serve food that is produced in ways not harmful to the environment. - Embassy World
Diplomatic information and web sites, also governmental sites, for all countries of the world. - Fodors
Guide books publisher with selective information about locations, accommodations, restaurants, local culture. - Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
Addresses, phone numbers, and names of heads of foreign consulates in the United States. Browse by name of country. From the U.S. State Department. - Foreign Government Resources on the Web
A collection of links maintained by the University of Michigan Documents Center. - Frommers
Guidebooks with selective information from commercial published series. - Johnny Jet
Comprehensive collection of travel websites indexed and categorized on all aspects of travel. - Lonely Planet
Guidebooks with selective information from commercial published series. - Travel Consumer Affairs
The place to go when things go bad and you cannot get satisfaction - this site will help determine how to advocate for travelers having difficulty with transportation providers, or any aspect of trip planning, tickets, etc. - Man in Seat 61
Practical advice for navigating Europe and other parts of the world by train. - Practical Traveler
Travel site that specializes in local culture and the environment worldwide. - Travel Warnings and Consular Information Sheets
From the U.S. State Department. Warnings issued for potential threats to U.S. citizens in a given country. Consular information sheets have basic information on travel to every country of the world. - Universal Giving
List of charity-travel opportunities that caters to special interests. - U.S. National Parks
Accommodations, Lodging, and Information. - Volunteer Match
Another organization that pairs travelers interested in doing volunteer activities abroad. - World FactBook (US Govt)
Annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Weather
- National Weather Service Forecast Office
Forecasts for Los Angeles/Oxnard area. - Western Regional Climate Center
Information for the Western United States, including historical climate information. - The Weather Channel
Weather information searchable by city or zip code. - WeatherNet
From the University of Michigan. Major source of weather information. Provides access to thousands of forecasts, images, and the Net's largest collection of weather links. - Weather Server
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait