Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Acronyms & Abbreviations
- Acronym Finder
The Acronym Finder is a searchable database of more than 287,000 abbreviations and acronyms covering many disciplines. Its strengths include computer, technology, telecommunication, and military acronyms and abbreviations. - The Oxford Dictionary of Abbreviations*
Containing 20,000 abbreviations and 36,000 definitions, the Oxford Dictionary of Abbreviations covers business, scientific, and technical abbreviations, as well as those in everyday use. - All That JAS
Journal Abbreviation Sources - Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols & Abbreviations
Features more than 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology.
Almanacs
- Almanac of American Politics*
Politics and demographics of U.S. states. Online edition is kept up to date with special and interim elections, important committee changes, election forecasts, primary results and more. - CIA World Factbook
- Information Please Almanac
- OC Almanac
- Old Farmer's Almanac
Published annually since 1792. - The World Factbook
- World Almanac*
Contains Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics and The World Almanac for Kids.
General Encyclopedias
- AllREFER.com
Search by keyword or browse a wide variety of free encyclopedia and dictionary resources. - Britannica Online*
- Columbia Encyclopedia 6th ed.
via Bartleby.com - Wikipedia
Miscellaneous: A Little Bit About Everything
- Boing Boing: A Directory of Wonderful Things
Very eclectic blog with some very useful information. - Ready Reference and Quick Facts
From the Librarians Index to the Internet. - Reference
From Galaxy Directories. - Refdesk.com
Goes to a "facts subject index." - Urban Legends Reference Page
Maintained since 1995, to confirm, debunk or otherwise document warnings, news and stories that may be too good to be true....or may in fact be true. - Useful Reference Sites
From the University of Texas at Austin.
Quotations
- The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations*
- Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 10th edition
More than 11,000 searchable quotations from this older edition of the famous reference resource. - Insight Quotes.com
"Exceptional quotations to inspire, motivate, and entertain." - On Matters of Most Grave Concern
"Quotations, Aphorisms, Thoughts and Proverbs of Philosophers and Kings, Politicians, Famous Persons, and Wise-but-not-so-Famous Persons." - LibrarySpot
Offers a collection of quotation sites like Quoteland, Quoteworld, The Quotations Page, Bartlett’s Familiar, and Creative Quotations. Also features sites by quotation topics such as movie quotes, Bible quotes, and scientific quotes. - Quotations Archive
Provides a list of quotations by subject and author, as well as a database to search quotations by keywords or phrases. Also features quotes to use in wedding toasts. - Quoteland.com
Search quotations by topic or author. Includes links to Literary Quotations and Special Occasion Quotes. - About.com Women’s History Site
Features an extensive collection of quotes by women famous in various fields of art, drama, music, science, literature, law, social sciences, and academia. Also provides biographies or links to additional information about some of the featured women. - Age of the Sage Covers mysticism, religions, spirituality, psychology and offers key contributors, quotations, and wisdom.
Statistics
- Gateway to statistics from U.S. Federal agencies
Links to statistical and demographic sites of more than 70 agencies of the U.S. Government, maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy. - International Databank
Statistical tables from the U.S. Census Bureau with demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. - NationMaster.com
Statistical, demographic and political data on countries and territories around the world: generates tables and charts for individual country profiles as well as comparisons. Data from U.S. and international agencies; every statistic is documented. - OnlineConversion.com
This site boasts that one can "convert just about anything to anything else." And with fifty thousand conversions and five thousand units, it has an impressive range. - State and County QuickFacts (US Govt)
Demographic snapshots of states and counties in the United States, including current estimates of population, breakdown by gender and race, population density, and some economic statistics. - Statistical Resource on the Web
Large collection of links to statistical resources, arranged thematically and maintained by the University of Michigan Documents Center.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait