Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Calculators
- Inflation Calculator
Enter an amount of money and two years between 1800 and 2003, and this calculator shows the inflation-adjusted amount for both years. The data is based on Consumer Price Index figures. - Online Calculators, Conversion Tools, Calculators and Weights
A useful set of links to calculating tools maintained by libraries of Western Washington University.
Consumer Information
- Cars.com
Comprehensive site for researching a car purchase. Search and view by make, model, price and location, compare financing, read reviews, visit "Care and Repair" section hosted by NPR's Car Talk. - Consumer Action Website
Online access to the Consumer Action Handbook. - Federal Citizen Information Center
Consumer information from government publications provided at time of release. Provides reference link and contact information. - Consumer World
Most comprehensive directory of consumer product information on the web, including news and product reviews. - Green Scanner
This site is a public database of opinions about the environmental friendliness of various products. - Household Products Database
From the National Library of Medicine, links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers. Browse by product type; or search by brand, manufacturer, ingredient, or health effect. - NADAguides.com
Find the fair market value for new and used cars, motorcycles, trucks, RVs, snowmobiles, watercraft, boats, and homes. - Kelley BlueBook
Listings of new and used car values. - Recalls.gov
Online resource to alert the public on federal recalls of defective, hazardous, or unsafe products. Use the site "to obtain the latest recall information, to report a dangerous product, or to learn important safety tips." - Recall Warnings
Information on product recalls by category: artworks, clothing, cosmetics, tools, vehicles, even political candidates: and much more. Arranged by Nolo.com, a publisher for more than 30 years of legal self-help materials.
Currency
- OANDA Currency Converter/FXConverter
Foreign Exchange Currency Converter: a multi-lingual Currency Converter with up-to-date exchange rates provided from leading market data contributors and is filtered for validity. Contains exchange rates for any of the 164 currencies. - Universal currency converter
Allows you to perform interactive foreign exchange rate calculations on the Internet, using live, up-to-the-minute currency rates. - FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) Exchange Rates & Balance of Payments
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FREDĀ® provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, and balance of payments. - Go Currency Converter
Real Estate
- Globest
Free current real estate news content with coverage of Orange County, Southern California and coverage of other major cities. Provides news, features, deal tracking, resources and updates from the commercial and residential markets. - www.zillow.com
Large national real estate values database created with data from local county assessor's office when available.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait