Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Internships
- InternshipPrograms.com
Search for internships by company, category or city/state. Also includes international internships. Post your resume to employers who are exclusively looking for interns. - Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars
Independent nonprofit organization that provides internship programs and academic seminars to college students from around the world. Internship placements in Washington representing major professional fields in the private, public and nonprofit sector.
Local Listings
- California occupational guide current issues
Guides to opportunities in various occupations, maintained by the California Employment Development Department. - California Online Job Network
Links to local career websites. Job seekers may search for jobs by zip code, category or keyword; post resumes at no charge. Includes sites for San Diego, Los Angeles, Orange County, Riverside, San Francisco, San Jose, Oakland. - Career Builder (Los Angeles Times)
- JobStar (California)
In addition to job listings for regions of California, links to career guides, advice on resume writing, salary ranges, etc. - Labor Market Info Overview (California)

Provides an overview of labor market information, including local data on California occupational profiles, unemployment rates, wages, employer benefits, skills, education, training and experience requirements, worker supply and demand assessment, advanc - OCJobs.com
Jobs in Orange County, CA - OC Job Finder
Orange County Register - University of California (Job listings)
Point to direct job bulletin sites of all ten University campus locations throughout California, five medical centers, three major Department of Energy laboratories that UC manages, and the UC headquarters office in Oakland.
National Career Resources
- Academic Position Network
Free service for individuals seeking faculty, administrative, personnel and professional staff positions in higher education. Listings are both U.S. and international. - America's Career InfoNet
Wages and employment trends, occupational requirements, state by state labor market conditions, and employer contacts - CareerBuilder.com
Lists jobs, links to company websites and descriptions, resources on job searching, and free posting of individual resumes. - Career Guide to Industries
Info on available careers by industry - nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training & advancement, earnings/benefits, employment outlook, and lists of organizations that can provide additional info. - CareerOneStop
Find jobs from entry level to technical to professional to CEO. Identify job-ready workers with the right skills. Explore alternative career paths, compare salary data for different occupations, get resume writing tips, and more. - Career Magazine
Comprehensive resource designed to meet the individual needs of the job searcher. Includes job openings, employer profiles, news and articles, and a career forum. - Career Net
Publishes 1000's of high tech job opportunities. - College Grad Job Hunter
Your link to life after college. Includes job search information, resume posting services, job postings, and employee information. - College Job Board
Designed to help college students and alumni find internships, temporary jobs, part-time and full-time jobs. - College Recruiter
With over 100,000 hits per week College Recruiter is the place for college students to connect to 1000's of Full-time, Part-time and Summer job opportunities. Chosen as one of the top job boards on the internet. - Careers.org
Instant link to 15,000 jobs, plus links to nearly every other career web site and general and regional career resources. - GetaGovJob.com - Career Service to the Public Sector
Provides on-line job submission, posting, resume submission and more. There is no fee to search the site. GetaGovJob.com lists positions for cities, towns, counties, states, and other governmental entities as well as from Executive Search firms. - Internet Job Hunting Sites By Major
Links to sites related to academic majors. Great for those who don't know what careers they want to pursue. - HireNet Employment Systems

- Job Bank USA
Allows you to search job banks from across the area by job title and geographic preference. - Job-Hunt.Org
A mega list of on-line job search resources and services. Lists job sources by employment field, recruitment agencies, and classified ads from major newspapers across the country. - Job Postings.net
America's Student Job Network - Jobs.NET
Equipped with advanced search engine that can pinpoint the jobs that suit you based on keywords, skills, location, experience, salary, etc. - Job Web
Career Development and Job Search Advice for New College Graduates. - Job Search USA
Post your resume and find jobs across the USA - Monster.com
Instant access to 200,000 jobs in all fields. - Monster Career Advice
- MonsterTRAK
Award-winning career site for students and alumni looking for full-time and part-time positions, internships & on-campus employment. - Occupational Outlook Handbook
Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. - Recruit USA
Called the Grand Central Station of recruiting, Recruit USA offers candidates and employers access to job postings, databases, and networks related to careers and recruiting. - Salary Calculator
Compares the cost of living among U.S. cities. Plug in your current location, income, where you’re moving to and calculate. - The Riley Guide
Rated top 5% of career assistance web sites. One stop career shopping. Internet search information and job resources listed by employment area and by state. - TrueCareers.com
Where Students and employers Click Information on Internships, Co-ops, Summer/Holiday Jobs or Contract Work. Interviewing Tips, Employer Listings, and Tips from Professionals.
National Career Resources - Business/Accounting
- Accounting Smart Pros
Your link to the accounting world. Features national job searches, resume posting, and current industry news. - Careers in Business
Job opportunities and career information for finance, management, and accounting majors. - CareerBank.com
A searchable directory of jobs in Accounting, Banking and Finance - CPA Directory
Resume posting for Accounting positions, newsletters, articles and other tools for account and business.
National Career Resources - Education
- Loan Forgiveness Program for Child Care Workers
The Quality Early Education Loan Forgiveness Program will forgive up to one-sixth of a borrower’s qualifying loan debt, with a maximum of $3,300 per year for three years or until $9,900 of the borrower’s loan has been forgiven. - Academic Employment Network
Employment opportunities for teachers and other school related positions at all levels. - English as Second Language Jobs
resources for those who wish to teach English, forum for those who wish to teach English, forum for discussion on a wide range of topics related to ESL jobs, testimonials from real people who have/are teaching English, employment opportunities - Footprints Recruiting Inc
Ethical employment agency, stressing an honest and timely communicative approach to ESL teacher placement. Teach English abroad in Korea, Taiwan, China, Japan, Chile or Brazil! - Great Teacher
Free resource site for teachers with a large number of teaching jobs. - Science Faculty Jobs
A site dedicated to helping schools fill their science faculty job openings and finding the perfect career for educators in the fields of science. - National Job Network
A search engine for jobs in education. - School District Locator
This School/District Locator will enable you to find the correct name, address, telephone number, NCES ID number, urban city (rural, large city, etc.), and other student and teacher information for public schools or school districts for school year 1997-9 - Teachers-Teachers
Directory of teaching positions in public and private schools across the country. - Teaching English as a Second Language
The ESL/EFL (Teaching English as a second language) allows you to Search for employment & Post your resume World Wide. - Academic Careers
Global academic job site for teaching jobs, education jobs, research jobs, and professional jobs in education and academia.
National Career Resources - Health Care
- Biotech Career Center
Biotech career resources such as job search agents, job listings, recruiters, places to post your resume. - Center for Health Careers
Information resource dedicated to helping the Health Service professionals locate employment. Provides a free Personal Profile Service to confidentially market your qualifications to healthcare and related employers. - MedHunters.com
Jobs in healthcare; valuable advice on the job search; entertaining and informative stories about healthcare professionals and issues in healthcare
National Career Resources - Media & Arts
- Dow Jones Careers
This is a private foundation that promotes careers in journalism. Provides links to paid internships, scholarships, career literature, and a newsletter about careers in journalism. - Entertainment Careers
Job listings, internships, and career information in the entertainment industry. - Showbiz Jobs
One source for access to film, television, recording, multimedia, and attractions job market. Also provides industry information, job searching, and resume posting services. - TV Jobs
On-line broadcasting job service which includes resume posting, job searching, and contact information for hundreds of television affiliates. - O'Dwyer Public Relations Newsletter
Communications, public relations, and journalism majors can obtain valuable career information from this 30-year-old weekly newsletter.
National Career Resources - Social Service, Criminal Justice, & Gov
- Idealist

Search or browse over 32,000 nonprofit and community organizations in 153 countries by name, location or mission. Thousands of volunteer opportunities in your community and around the world, and a list of organizations that can help you volunteer abroad. - Law Enforcement Jobs
Employment information on over 4,000 municipal police, state police and patrol, sheriff, federal, international, corrections, and university and college departments. - Law Jobs.com
Law jobs search engine, links to law firms, a law library, law earnings information. - Social Work Job Bank

The place to turn when you are looking for a job in social work! - Volunteer Match
Find a volunteer opportunity for whatever you like doing.
National Career Resources - Science & Technology
- American Chemical Society Career Services
Career services include: career consultant program, career descriptions, salary surveys, job database (job seekers can post their resume or search job listings, employers can post opportunities for jobs and internships). - American Institute of Physics
A listing of positions for people trained in physics or related fields. - American Physical Society
Employment information for positions in the physical sciences. - Biology Jobs

Agriculture, Anatomy/Physiology, Bioinformatics/Biotechnology, Botany, Cell Biology, Conservation Ecology, Environmental Science, Genetics, Marine Science, Medicine, Natural Resources, Pharmacology, Toxicology, Veterinary Medicine, & Zoology jobs. - ChemJobs
Find your next chemistry, pharmaceutical, or biotech job at chemjobs.org, the classifieds & careers site of Chemical & Engineering News. Offers tools, resources, and expert career advice to help new and experienced chemists reach their professional goals. - Nature Jobs
Making Science Work. - Environmental Careers Organization
National, nonprofit organization which connects students to internships, career advice, career publications, and research and consulting opportunities in the environmental field. - Phd.Org
Science, math, and engineering links. The science career laboratory contains information for scientists at all levels from high school students to Nobel laureates. - ScienceJobs.com
One-stop visit to large number of jobs in scientific research and sales & marketing aspects of science products in US and Canada. - ScienceCareers.org
Sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). A great source for Life Science Careers and Employment Information. - Zdnet.com
Candidates can check-out job posting in diverse industries that need the best and brightest Information Technology professionals.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait