Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Country & Mapping Information
- 50states.com: States and Capitals
Information and local web links on each state, five U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. Geographic, demographic, political, historical, economic, and tourist information. - Background Notes
From the Bureau of Public Affairs, U.S. Department of State. Provides the latest demographic information on countries. Includes maps. - Columbia International Affairs Online* (CIAO)
See "maps/country data" on the left - Country Commercial Guides*
Prepared annually by U.S. Embassy staff. Information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business. Available through STAT-USA Internet. - Country Profiles from BBC News
History, politics and economic background of countries. Also includes audio and video clips from the BBC archives. - CountryWatch*
Geopolitical, historical and economic information on countries. Includes global thematic maps (cultural, environmental, economic, etc.) and the ability to customize data tables to output either to a spreadsheet or a webpage. - Economist Country Briefings:
News, country profiles, forecasts and statistics - Flags of all countries
Besides images of flags, information on Geography people, government, economy, transportation, communications and defense. - Flags of the World
Claims to be Internet's largest site devoted to the study of flags. Contains more than 40,000 images of flags. May be viewed by country or by region. - Foreign Governments of the Web
A collection of links maintained by Northwestern Universiy Library.
- Geography IQ:
Online world atlas with geographic, economic, political, historical and cultural information. Includes maps, flags, currency conversion and climate and time zone information.
- Handbook of the World*
From Oxford Reference Online, profiles 230 countries and territories, giving an up-to-date overview of each. Includes maps and other geographical information. - NationMaster.com
Statistical, demographic and political data on countries and territories around the world: generates tables and charts for individual country profiles as well as comparisons. Data from U.S. and international agencies; every statistic is documented. - Portals to the World
Links to electronic resources selected by Library of Congress subject experts arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. - The World FactBook
Country reports include information about geography, people, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Gazetteers
|
A gazetteer is a geographical dictionary which lists place names alphabetically and provides information about location, size, and, occasionally, principal features. |
- Home Town Locator Gazetteer
Location information for 1.8 million physical and cultural features in the United States and territories, with links to maps and aerial photos and 2000 U.S. Census information. - Columbia Gazetteer of the World*
- U.S. Gazetteer: 2000 and 1990
U.S. Census Bureau utility - Alexandria Digital Library Gazetteer International
Maps/GIS
- California Digital Conservation Atlas
- Google Maps
Get driving directions as well as directions via walking or public transportation. Toggle your results into map, satellite and terrain views & even view real time freeway traffic. Interactive "click and drag" feature allows you to change the route to avoi - Mapquest
- Multimap.com
Interactive, zoomable maps from world to city level. Includes place name look-up. - Mapping Resources from WAML
This toolkit prepared by the Western Association of Map Libraries (WAML) contains a range of resources on a variety of mapping & cartographic issues and topics. - Maps on Us
Award winning navigation tool for maps and planning routes. - Refdesk.com: My Facts Page: Atlas and Maps
Links to 66 internet centers of maps, atlases, and related geographic information resources. - National Atlas of the United States
- The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection:
An electronic map collection from the University of Texas libraries. - UCI Libraries GIS Resources
Zip & Postal Codes
- Area Code and Zip Code Look-ups
Contains various look-up tools for zip codes, including zip codes within a county, within a radius of another zip code, and more. - Cedar National Address Server
- U.S. Postal Service
Find a ZIP code, locate a post office, calculate postage, order stamps online, place a vacation hold or change your address: and much more. - Zip code look-up from USPS
Database from the United States Postal Service to look up zip codes.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait