Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Dictionaries
- ARTFL French-English Dictionary
- Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage
- English-Vietnamese-French-German Online Dictionary
- Japanese-English Dictionary Portal
- Language Dictionaries
from YourDictionary.com - Lexicool.com
- Russian-English Dictionary
- The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary [English-Spanish] (UCI access only)
- The Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary [English-German] (UCI access only)
- The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary [English-French] UCI access only
- The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary [English-Italian] (UCI access only)
- Wikitionary
many multilingual dictionaries
Translators
- Altavista Translation Service
Key in a URL or text, and AltaVista will translate that page from, and into, English with Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese and more - Systran
Translates words and phrases from, and into, English with Spanish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Chinese, and Dutch, Portuguese, Russian, and Korean. Also offers translation for web pages. - FreeTranslation
Translates words and phrases from and into English with Spanish, French, Dutch, Italian, German, and Portuguese. Also translates Norwegian and Chinese into English. - YourDictionary.com
Links to dictionaries for languages throughout the world (Artificial, African, Altaic, etc.). Also includes links to thesauri, grammars, word identifiers, and much more. - Language Dictionaries and Translators
A language dictionary and translator with pointers to searchable and browsable dictionaries. - Lingo24 - Contextrans
A free tool that combines both Machine Translation (MT) and Translation Memory (TM) technologies and allows you to search for real-world translations of a word or phrase between two languages. - Lingo24 - English Paraphrase Tool
A tool that allows for English language paraphrasing. - Lingo24 - German Paraphrase Translator
A tool that allows you to derive multiple word variants for English->German translation. - Lingo24 - Arabic Paraphrase Translator
A tool that allows you to derive multiple word variants for English->Arabic translation. - Lingo24 - Chinese Paraphrase Translator
A tool that allows you to derive multiple word variants for English->Chinese translation.
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait