Ask a Librarian
Search ReferenceUniverse
Search Reference Universe
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Associations & Organizations
- ASAE Gateway to Associations
Maintained by the American Society of Association Executives, this database provides access to Web sites of more than 6,500 associations - Associations on the Net
Maintained by the Internet Public Library, this resource is a guide to Web sites of prominent organizations and associations. - AIS eLibrary
A searchable index hosted by the Association for Information Systems that covers two major FT journals, JAIS and CAIS, as well as a number of select conferences. - Scholarly Societies Project
"The Scholarly Societies Project offers free Internet access to directory information (including links to Web sites) for a selection of scholarly societies across the world." - NIRA Policy Research Watch
Link to Public Policy Research Resources. - NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
Link to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes (think tanks). - World of Learning*
Lists over 30,000 universities, colleges, schools of art and music, libraries, learned societies, research institutes, museums and art galleries; over 400 international cultural, scientific and educational organizations listed.
Biography
- American National Biography*
Profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all walks of American life. - Biography.com
A&E sponsored biographical information on over 25,000 people - Britannica Online*
- Dictionary of National Biography*
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000 - Literature Resource Center*
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. - Nobel Prize Internet Archive
Biographical information on Nobel laureates - Biographical Information Subject Guide
A more extensive list of biographical resources at UCI
Dissertations
- Scirus
A public-use, science-specific search engine, Scirus, partnered with NDLTD, allows for access to documents from 1863 and on. Provides an index used for locating many dissertation sources.
Philanthropy
- Foundation Directory*
Comprehensive, professional directory of foundations and their activities. - MyCommitment
A portal that inspires people to give and provide the means to do so.
Resources
- ACQWEB Directory of Publishers and Vendors
ACQWEB provides an international listing of book publishers and vendors with links to their web sites and email addresses. Arranged alphabetically and by subject. Also lists many organizations involved in the book and publishing trade. - Craigslist
Local community classifieds and forums - a place to find jobs, housing, goods & services, social activities, advice, personals, community information, and just about anything else. Arranged by city. - Gebbie Press: The All-In-One Media Directory
Media Links connect to websites of daily and weekly newspapers, radio and television stations, magazines and state press associations. - Theme Park City
A directory of amusement and theme parks, zoos, and waterparks in the U.S. and Canada, listed by state or province. The Institute For Theme Park Studies lists books, theses, Web sites, and other sources of information. - Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory* [Ulrichweb.com]
Profiles nearly a quarter of a million consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications on all subjects.
Telephone Directories
- Area Decoder
Area code look-up service - LincMad Telephone Area Codes & Splits
This site contains information about the original area codes from 1947, their evolution to the current state, and future developments, including area code splits and area code overlays. - Switchboard
Searchable national directory of telephone and email listings for people and businesses - Reverse Lookup
- Telephone Directories
Links to many different sources of phone directories - Yahoo links to phone directories
Comprehensive listings for area codes, businesses, email addresses, individuals, international dialing codes, telephone directory companies and web directories. - Yahoo! People Search (White Pages)
- Yahoo! Yellow Pages
Quick Reference Guide |
Ask A LibrarianContact Info:
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
TXT a Librarian: 949-769-9115 (Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM)
TXTs will be answered within 2 hours. TXTs received on nights, weekends or holidays will be answered the next business day.
Send Email
Ask a UC Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait