Free Resources
- AIDSinfo Access to numerous AIDS-related PDA applications, including the antiretroviral toxicity tool, guidelines, and a HIV/AIDS glossary.Palm, Pocket PC
- Archimedes This medical calculator provides you with 70 preprogrammed formulas that include specialties such as Cardiology, Pharmacology, Hematology, FEN, Pediatrics, Pulmonary and Renal. iPhone, Palm, Pocket PC
- BioMed Central BioMed Central's PDA software, providing open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research journals, abstracts and news. Palm, PocketPC
- CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines CDC's downloadable guidelines for the treatment of sexually transmitted diseases, guideline files, and tips for viewing the guidelines. Palm
- National Guideline Clearinghouse All evidence-based practice guidelines available on www.guidelines.gov can be downloaded to a PDA following the instructions at this site.
Palm- NCBI Bookshelf
NCBI Bookshelf offers published textbooks, downloadable to a handheld device using the MobiPocket Reader. Palm, PocketPC- Nutrient Data Laboratory
USDA's database that calculates calories, carbohydrates, protein and fat, cholesterol, sodium, and vitamins and minerals for foods. Palm- OEI Treatment Guidelines
Obesity Education Initiative's (OEI) PDA version generates individualized and evidence-based assessment and treatment recommendations for over-weight patients. Palm, PocketPC- Student's Guide to Medical Literature
A very useful guide to evidence based searching and term definitions neatly stored on your PDA. Palm, PocketPC- TB Treatment Guidelines
CDC's practical point-of-care reference tool for the treatment of tuberculosis, including treatment, monitoring and drug information. Palm
- NCBI Bookshelf
How to find PDA Resources
A wealth of information about PDA's can be found at other academic websites:
- Charlotte Edwards Maguire Medical Library, Florida State University Features PDA hardware and software links as well as PDA instruction pages.
- Claude Moore Health Sciences Library A list of resources and services for mobile and PDA devices.
- Dahlgren Memorial Library, Georgetown University A selected list of Apps and free Web resources for the iPhone and iPod Touch.
- Duke University Medical Center Library Offers information on PDA sites geared towards healthcare professionals.
- Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa PDA portal featuring resources grouped by platform, resource type, and cost.
- Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library, Yale University Yale University's PDA page containing basic PDA information, links to PDA programs and downloadable PDA files.
- Himmlefarb Library, George Washington University Contains a comprehensive online list of PDA websites put together by The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library.
- Library of the Health Sciences, University of Illinois, Peoria A collection of PDA websites and software downloads, listed by subject.
- Medical College of Wisconsin Medical College of Wisconsin PDA resource page containing PDA news, Tutorials, Guides and to free PDA Resources.
- University at Buffalo A detailed PDA reference guide featuring a comparison of the software platforms available.
- University of Connecticut Health Center PDA Resources: comparisons, tutorials. Extensive lists of resources provided by library; lists of PDA workshops.
- University of Virginia Health System University of Virginia library's PDA resource page listing both free and licensed resources.
- University of Washington Health Sciences Library A PDA resource directory provided by the University of Washington Health Sciences Libraries.
- Scott Memorial Library, Thomas Jefferson University A large collection of general references, journal content, drug references and links to free resources.
- Skyscape Skyscape catalog includes more than 300 titles available for purchase. Such as A2zDrugs & iFacts, The 5 Minute Clinical Consult, John Hopkin's POC-IT ABX Guide, and Nurse's Guide to Clinical Procedures.
Subject Guide |
Judy BubeContact Info:
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine
UCI Science Library
SL 228
(949) 824-6650
Send Email
Subjects:
Research Librarian for Medicine
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait