Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

ENGR 190W - Fall 2009 - Stupar Section 

Communications in the Professional World
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W-Stupar-F2009  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Introduction & Background

This handout is to support students in this class on communication strategies and technical writing for engineers. It is organized to augment your assignments and serve as direction for conducting research for a range of information products and sources, perfecting writing and composition; developing presentation skills, etc. You have several assignments and this handout contains recommendations to several sources relevant to each task.

Building Research Skills

The UCI Libraries Homepage is your point of departure and serves as a gateway to all online resources that are used for teaching and research. In late Summer 2009, the new Library website was launched as the campus migrated to a new content management system.  This website will direct you to information resources and services, specifically, the online databases and will give you access to all that is defined by "Resource Tools" and "Finding Online Resources" There are two functions on this screen - to BROWSE assuming you know the title; and to SEARCH when you can search by title word or keyword. This new page allows you to search all online resources collectively or by type:

  • Databases
  • Online Journals
  • News & Newspapers
  • Reference tools
  • Statistical & Data Resources (mostly government information)

 

 

 

Evaluating Information

When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - be attentive to domain -may include .com, .edu, .org, .gov, .net

Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/college/help/critical/index.htm

    1. Scope of coverage
    2. Verifiable information - can be documented
    3. Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
    4. Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
    5. Timeliness
    6. Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic>
    7. Objectivity - reduce bias
    8. Accuracy
    9. Design & Presentation
    10. Ease of use
    11. Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
    12. Capturing and citing
    13. Copying
     

    Citing Sources

    In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Standard formats include the following reference elements:

    Standard formats include the following reference elements:

    For a Journal article or conference proceeding:

    Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.

    If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.

    For books, the format is:

    Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.

    For full volume:

    Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages

    IEEE Citation Style - The IEEE Editorial Style Manual notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled.  You will be writing with a model of California Engineer - check it out at the Science Library Current Periodicals Room by journal title or for back issues, by call number TA 1 C28 in the Science Library Drum (round part of the Library)

    MLA Style Format is documented in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at any of the UCI Library Reference Desks at           REF LIB 2369 G53 2009

    Other hints:

    1. Avoid plagiarism, be ethical – OVERCITE!
      Plagiarism: what it is and how to recognize and avoid it. A guide prepared by the Writing Tutorial Services, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN http://www.indiana.edu/~wts?plagiarism.html

       

    2. Consult http://www.turnitin.com , a plagiarism detection program - ask your professor if you are interested in this.

       

    3. Be consistent

       

    4. Work on your presentation skills
      • very important now
      • when interviewing for job

       

    5. For additional information, consult with instructor, librarian, examine your style manual.

       

     

    Introduction to Bibliographic Management Software (BMS)

    What is it ?

    Bibliographic management software allows you to create and track references (aka citations) and to create bibliographies or reference lists formatted in the appropriate style, such as APA, MLA, Chicago or Turabian. You can simultaneously import records from databases such as PubMed, PsycINFO and Web of Science in addition to many others. You can add abstracts, keywords and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of your project.

    How does bibliographic management software save time and how might I use it?

    • Create bibliographies and references almost instantaneously.
    • Reduce the likelihood of duplicate citations by removing them
    • Create your own critical abstracts, which is part of the the production of your work.
    • Re-use or repurpose your own content over time.
    • Search and organize your own database of references according to how you would use them.
    • Embed footnotes, endnotes and within text citations.

     

    What it won't do

    • It will not create a perfect bibliography or reference list according to your favorite style. For example, you will still have to know APA, MLA, Chicago or Turabian.
    • It will not correct errors or omissions that were in the database from which you retrieved references.
    • It will not always know what type of material you are putting into it from a database (e.g. it cannot always distinguish a proceeding from a book).
    • At this time, no bibligraphic management software handles legal citation formats.

    Examples of Software Products:

    RefWorks - login

    1. UC Berkeley RefWorks Tutorials and Guides
      A collection of tutorials and guides that provide specific instructions for importing records from PubMed, CSA databases (e.g., PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts) and Web of Science. Learn RefWorks by reviewing these guides and tutorials.
    2. RefWorks Help
    3. RefWorks Quick Start Guide (pdf)
    4. RefWorks Tutorial
    5. RefWorks-EndNote Comparison Chart (pdf)

    Zotero -

    If you will always use the same computer when using Zotero, you can simply download it and get started.  Download it at www.zotero.org.

    If you want to be able to work on multiple computers, you will need to download both Firefox and Zotero on a flashdrive. You will then need to run Firefox and Zotero from this each time you use it.

    Find information on downloading both Firefox and Zotero here.

    • Zotero     
      Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.
    • Zotero tutorials     
      Screencast tutorials using Zotero.
    • Quick Start Guide  
    • Zotero FAQ  

    EndNote

    Currently the Libraries provide access to one licensed copy of EndNote version X2 in the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC), Interactive Learning Center (ILC), and in the Grunigen Medical Library at the UCI Medical Center. Due to licensing restrictions, Endnote X2 is only available to UC Irvine students, faculty, and staff. For off campus use of EndNote, students, faculty and staff should buy a copy of the EndNote software at the UC Irvine Computer Store. There is no remote access to the Libraries' copies.

    EndNoteWeb is available via the Web of Knowledge or Web of Science Database Platforms.  It is not the exact same product as EndNote and work done in EndNoteWeb must be uploaded into the regular EndNote.  The web version is free but not portable, meaning that you have to enter via the platform by a subscribing institution.

    EndNote Tutorials

     

     

    Organizing and Managing Images

    There are a number of ways to manage images and materials scientists may find these useful.
    • Digital Image Collections Wikispaces  
      The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
    • Flickr - The Commons  
      World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view
    • ARTstor  The UCI Libraries are providing campus-wide access to a new image management tool for research and teaching.
    • See also the Subject Guide for Images
     

    Liaison Librarian

    Profile ImageJulia Gelfand, Applied Sciences & Engineering Librarian
    Contact Info:
    Office: Science Library 228
    Phone: 949-824-4971
    EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu
    Send Email

     

    Connecting from Off-Campus

    Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.   Instructions on connecting from off-campus should be followed - for additional information, consult with NACS at 949-824-2222

    Web VPN

    Software VPN

    More Information Regarding the VPN

     

    Ask A Librarian

    For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

     

    Ask A Librarian

     

    Library Hours

    Library Hours have changed!  Please consult the Library Hours before making a disappointing trip.  During Fall Quarter 2009, basically the hours are:

    Mon-Thurs from 8-8; Fri from 8-5 and Sat/Sun from 1-5; Gateway Commons is open from 6pm-3am

     

    Copying/Printing at the Libraries

    Your UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for xeroxing and printing.  It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries.  Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted.  Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing and more for color printing.  Beginning in Fall 2009, it will also be good in all campus IT centers but the costs for different functions may vary.

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait