News Block
- ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital LibraryASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles.
- Fuel Freedom FoundationFuel Freedom is a new foundation focused on reducing America's dependence on oil with an increasing local interest.
- Reuters Science NewsGlobal news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
- ScienceWatchTracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
Ask A Librarian
Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
Copying/Printing at the Libraries
Your UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for copying and xeroxing. It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries. Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted. Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing.
Using Databases
Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN
For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles" tab.
Introduction
This Subject Guide supports the academic research and instructional needs of the Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Enginieering at the University of California, Irvine Libraries. It is not intended to be exhaustive but should direct faculty, researchers, graduate students and undergraduate students to the range of scholarship and resources that we have for them to use and access. The programmatic emphases include: mechanical engineering design, manufacturing and control of machines ranging from robots to aircraft, spacecraft, automobiles, to the power plants that drive these machines. Comprehensive coverage of fluid dynamics and mechanics, heat transfer, control engineering, propulsion, materials, combustion, thermophysics, simulation and atmospheric science associated with the study of aerospace, its industry and global policy. In addition, a deep array of resources supports the study of energy creation and independence, nuclear energy and fuel cell technology, hybrid engines and thermionic devices. to contribute to environmental research and atmospheric physics and impacts. Other areas of collection and academic strength are reflected in miniaturization engineering, mechantronic design work, MEMS, the development of gryroscopes, bio-sensors and actuators.
Evaluating Information
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.
Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources
- Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
- Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
- Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
- Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
- Capturing and citing
- Copying
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
