Media Resources Center
Building/ConstructionComputation/MeasurementEarthquakes/SeismologySoilsStructuresTransportationWater
Media Resources Center
This is the "Home" page of the "Civil & Environmental Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
* UC Irvine access only

Civil & Environmental Engineering   Tags: civil_engineering, engineering, environmental_engineering  

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/engr_civil_env Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

News Block

  • JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments
    This dynamic new concept of a journal incorporates videos, films, sound, powerpoints, text & images to demonstrate the experimental sciences. Indexed in PubMed & other sources. Covers Bioengineering, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Neurosciences, Immunology & Infection, Clinical & Translational Medicine, Behavior and Environment. Increasingly interdisciplinary.
  • American Rivers  
      
    More than 60% of Americans' drinking water comes from our rivers and streams. American Rivers has taken on the mission of protecting these vital waterways from pollution and overdevelopment.
  • ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library
    ASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles.
  • Reuters Science News
    Global news summaries about latest science events, policies and findings from news wires and media outlets.
  • SAE Digital Library now active
    Finally, fulltext access to the technical papers from SAE since 1998 are available. For pre-1998 papers. selected technical papers are included in the SAE Transactions, for which some volumes are available at the UCI Library at Science Library Call Number TL 1 S6.
  • ScienceWatch
    Tracks trends and performance in global scientific research since 1989 and includes interview, competitive intelligence, data and rankings, special topics.
  • Update on 2013 Stockholm Water Week Conference
    Highlights of the 2013 Water Week conference.
 

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

 

Ask a Librarian

 

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use

Ask A Librarian

Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI

Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.  
 

Introduction

Civil and Environmental Engineering has wide boundaries.  it includes the study of structures, transportation, water resources, hydrology, marine sciences, coastal studies, industrial ecology, soil sciences, seismology and earthquakes, building and construction, and all things green and environmental.  It also includes coveage of operations research,  The environmental sciences emphasis is equally diverse and is where the study of recycling, reclamation, conservation, hazardous wastes, air quality, particulates, pollution studies, and is a bridge to the atmospheric sciences.  Related coverage includes the associated environmental, social and public policy studies, environmental health sciences and applied sciences.

Using Databases

Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN

For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles - Using Databases" tab.

      
     

    Copying/Printing at the Libraries

    Your UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for xeroxing and printing.  It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries.  Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted.  Costs will be debited at the rate of 10 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing and more for color printing.  It will also be good in all campus IT centers but the costs for different functions may vary.

     

    Evaluating Information

    When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.

    Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources

    1. Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
    2. Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
    3. Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
    4. Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
    5. Capturing and citing
    6. Copying

    Liaison Librarian

    Profile Image
    Julia Gelfand, Applied Sciences & Engineering Librarian
    Contact Info
    Office: Ayala Science Library 228
    Phone: 949-824-4971
    EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip