Connect from Off Campus
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.
More Information Regarding the VPN
For additional information, contact NACS at 949-824-2222
Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.
WIFI FINDER
Hotspotr : Find a Wi-Fi hotspot in your area with Hotspotr, a Google Maps mashup that relies entirely on user input. As with other Wi-Fi finders, you can search for hotspots by city, ZIP code or place, then get maps, driving directions, phone numbers, etc.
About PPD
The Planning, Policy and Design Department reflects a number of disciplines and academic interests, many with significant intersections underlying a great deal of interdisciplinarity. These include the subjects of Urban & Regional Planning, Architecture, Environmental Psychology, Environmental Law, Preservation, Geography, Transportation, Housing, Regional Analysis, Public Arts, Public Policy, Urban Studies, and Environmental Health, Sustainability & Science, Water Resources, Population & Demography and related subjects. There are also many professional areas and specific applications represented and includes planning, architurecture, forecasting, GIS, etc.
The library collections have been developed to support instruction and current research efforts by faculty and graduate students and also reflect to the extent possible global coverage of issues. They include books, journals, conference papers, government information, data sets, films & multimedia, grey literature and are found in all formats. Always growing, the collections are expanding in scope and depth. This website is a sitemap of how to find and use some of these resources.
Getting Organized
There are many resources at the UCI Libraries devoted to the study of Social Ecology, an interdisciplinary and applied area of the social, behavioral sciences and environmental sciences that studies different aspects of the human condition. The collection is young as is the academic program here and it is focused upon the general materials, and the specific research interests and coursework that is offered at the present by all 3 departments in the School. The collection has grown rapidly in parallel as the program expanded its emphases and more faculty and students join it. Some of the current special interests reflect strong interdisciplinary interests and include: transportation, public policy, urban planning and development, housing, social & developmental psychology across the lifespan, criminal justice, law and society, environmental sciences, water sciences, health psychology & promotions, etc.
The UCI Library Website is your point of departure as you seek information - http://www.lib.uci.edu - instructions on connecting from off-campus should be followed - for additional information, consult with NACS at 824-2222
Specific areas to search:
- Quick Reference - for quick and often needed information verification
- Library Hours - with the new academic year, library hours have changed so please consult the library, service point for the day you expect to visit; please plan ahead and contact Liaison Librarian if you need to make special arrangements
- List of Subject Guides - one for each department in Social Ecology - Psychology & Social Behavior; Criminology, Law & Society, Planning, Policy & Design
- Ayala Science Library (ASL) Services & Collections; Langson Library (LL) Services & Collections; Grunigen Medical Library (GML) - borrowing privileges for graduate students include 10 weeks at LL & ASL and 2 weeks at GML; Use MY ANTPAC to track your library transactions
- Media Resource Centers - the MRC at the LL and the ILC at the ASL provide laptops and access to videos, DVDs and other forms of software and media to support instruction and research.
There are several methodologies to use to find resources:
- ANTPAC - online catalog for UCI - most current source for all materials that are part of the collections and accessible at the UCI Libraries in all formats - includes print, nonprint, video, software, etc
- MELVYL - online collection for all UC campuses and for the electronic materials bought cooperatively by the California Digital Library
- Next Generation MELVYL Pilot - powered by OCLC Local
- WorldCat - inventory of international library holdings - UCI's holdings are indicated
- Other Campus holdings
There are several ways to communicate with a librarian:
- Directly with your departmental liaison librarian noted above – or via Ask-a-Librarian to for digital reference to call Langson Library Reference Desk, email, chat, schedule an appointment or research consultation
- For general inquiries – call the Reference Desk at Langson Library
Reference Works
| Dictionaries, encyclopedias... & other finding aids for Planning, Policy & Design | |||||
|
Note: LL = Langson Library, ASL = Ayala Science Library. Ref = Reference |
- Encyclopedia of American Social History3 volumes
Call number: LL Ref - HN57 .E58 1993. - Encyclopedia of Urban PlanningCall number: LL Ref - HT166 .E5.
- Global Environment Outlook 2000Call number: LL Ref - HC79.E5 .G584 1999.
GEO_2000 is available online courtesy of UNEP. - Healthy People 2000National Center for Health Statistics.
- International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and AdministrationCall number: LL REF H97 .I574 1998
Global encyclopedic coverage of public policy issues. - Jane's Urban Transport Systems Online
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (UCI Access Only)Provides alternative opinions to discussions on issues and current events.
- Political Resources OnlineHighly searchable database of issues, themes, from local to national levels.
- The Encyclopedia of HousingCall number: LL Ref - HD7287 .E53 1998.
- The Encyclopedia of the EnvironmentCall number: ASL Ref - GE10 .E53 1994.
- The Encyclopedia of Urban AmericaThe cities and the suburbs. Two volumes.
Call number: LL Ref - HT123 .E5 1998. - United Nations Treaty Collection (UCI Access Only)
- Wikipedia
- WiktionaryFree multilingual dictionary in every language with definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, quotations and synonyms. Wiktionary is the lexical companion to the open-content encyclopedia Wikipedia.
- World ResourcesA report by the World Resources Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Development. Biennial 1996-present. LL - HC59 .W667. Most recent edition in Reference.
Style Manuals
- APA Formatsite provided by Purdue University.
- Electronic Media and URLs (APA 2007 Revision)Most recent update in June 2007, this is an online revision and update of section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationAssociation: ASL Ref, BF 76.7 P85 2001.
- Writer’s Handbook: APA Documentation StyleSite provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
