Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
* UC Irvine access only
Admin Sign In 

Maps, Atlases, & Aerial Photographs 

Last update: Aug 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/content.php?pid=21597  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HOME             Print Page
  
 

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

Google

Search query:
 

GEOREF

Georef UCI access only
Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The database includes references to all the publications of the U S Geological Survey. Areas of coverage include all forms of geology, and hydrology.

 
 

Searching @ UCI

Searching for Maps at UCI

The UCI Langson Library has a small collection of printed maps, atlases, and aerial photographs of Orange County. Some of the printed maps are cataloged and included in ANTPAC, the Library's online catalog. Other maps are uncataloged. These may be located in the map cases in the Map and Atlas Area on the 1st floor of the Langson Library or they are part of publications in the government publications collections on the Basement Level of the Langson Library. For more information consult the Maps and Atlases section of this website.

Cataloged maps, atlases, and aerial photographs can be located in ANTPAC by searching either by Subject or Keyword and include the words "map", "atlas" or "aerial", as appropriate. Place or geographic names can be searched as Keywords and the term "map".

 

Gazetteers

Online gazetteers (selected)
•  Canadian Geographical Names Database
Provides a searchable database for Canadian geographic names.
•  Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
•  GEOnet Names Server(GNS)
Provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) database of foreign geographic feature names. Information in this database has been used to prepare and publish the series of foreign country gazetteers approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (US BGN).
•  Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
The Getty Information Institute's database contains 900,000 places arranged in a hierarchical structure, representing all nations of the modern world.
•  Jepson Place Name Index California
Place names that are used on specimens in the Jepson Herbarium.
•  Place Name Servers on the Internet
A listing from Arizona State University.
•  U.S. Geographic Names and Information System (GNIS)
The authority on names in the United States. Site provides access to a variety of online geographic information for each name including DRG, DOQ, watershed and a connection to TopoZone map copies.
•  World Gazetteer
Provides a comprehensive set of population data and related statistics.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrian Williams, JD MSLS


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
University of California, Irvine
brianrw@uci.edu
voice 949.824.0473
Send Email

Subjects:
Research Librarian for Criminology, Law & Society

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait